Wowser

Lukey Ball wont play again this year if we lose another game.
PLEASE NO PLEASE NO PLEASE NO

Source: player with number between 17 and 22

Lukey Ball wont play again this year if we lose another game.
PLEASE NO PLEASE NO PLEASE NO

Source: player with number between 17 and 22

Fair enough. If we can't play finals, play the kids.

We don't derserve to play finals this year, face it. Very winnable game that swans match.

Maybe we should give brooks, watts, Ferguson a go. What can they do at the top level?

Fair enough. If we can't play finals, play the kids.

We don't derserve to play finals this year, face it. Very winnable game that swans match.

Maybe we should give brooks, watts, Ferguson a go. What can they do at the top level?

Yep, can only agree, get them right for next year. Would be great to play finals, and I still think we will, but this week is it. Can not see us beating the eagles, but could win the first round of finals if we play Collingwood, Hawthorn or Sydney (maybe even the Cats if we get them to angry and playing on rivalry), but after that? Can not see it.

If we lost another game, surely the Match comitee and Coach would want to have a look at the rest of the list before we Cut

G'day Sainters,

I just hope for the benefit of the football community in general the young bloke gets his body right and can get back to playing the high standard of football (consistently) that he is capable of. If that means missing a few games this year and he comes back at full fitness next year it would have to be worth it wouldn't it? He is one of my favourite players in the comp to watch when he is on song and except when he is playing Port I always hope he goes well.

mate he has had OP since his school days, known fact.
Its funny that people defy that Ball and Judd have OP when it is blatantly obvious that they do and its restricting them. Maybe it reduces their value, i dont know, but adductor and abductor muscles heal with rest, OP doesn't unless you have a complete rest (months) and fleibility/strengthening activities. It amazes me, especially when they claim Ball doesn't have it when, as you say, he has a known long history

op has an effect on many muslces around the region..It can be described as abdominal, groin, adductor, whatever excuse they want to give, but they are all related together. Op effects adductors, gluteus medius, psoas and lower back muscles. Luke ball has OP, last year his psoas and abdominals were majorly affected, his adductor has worsened this year, he needs a good rest and a modified stregthening pre-season which he will get..but he won't be giving up until the saints are not a mathematical chance of playing finals.

I think it would be a very wise move to rest Bally ONCE our finals chances are mathematically over. OP (or whatever you want to call it) has hampered him the last two seasons in particular as well all know. I find it staggering that in 5 seasons with the saints Ball hasn't completed one full, interruption-free, pre-season. With that in mind, its even more staggering that despite this , Bally has been able to be as good as he has been (altho he has been down on his blistering form of 2004/05).

Pre-seasons are absolutely critical for players these days (esp. midfielders). Look at what the Kangaroos did at the end of last season. They started training about a month in advance of every other club and thus, have hit the ground running in 2007 and don't look like stopping.

op has an effect on many muslces around the region..It can be described as abdominal, groin, adductor, whatever excuse they want to give, but they are all related together. Op effects adductors, gluteus medius, psoas and lower back muscles. Luke ball has OP, last year his psoas and abdominals were majorly affected, his adductor has worsened this year, he needs a good rest and a modified stregthening pre-season which he will get..but he won't be giving up until the saints are not a mathematical chance of playing finals.

Yeah fair enough, just throwing out the company line. Do not care what he has, just want him in form!

I had OP for 13 months, and know for a fact that you can't get no where even close to half near your best (hardly makes sense i know). Generally for OP in males, they tend to get a muscle imbalance where by the Hip Flexor muscles become increasingly powerful and pull at undesirable angles on the Pelvis. therefore getting severe inflammation in certain areas of the pelvis, particularly the Pubic Symphysis. and in worst cases shifting the bones marginally, the pubic symphysis This is the ligaments in between where the pelvis meets at the bottom. and it is not a joint designed for movement.

The idea is that the TA muscles (transverse abdominus) are muscles that need to get stronger in order to iron out the imbalance. The problem being that the TA musckes are postural muscle and therefore high % slow twitch fibres meaning that the power they can generate is minimal. So you have to work extremely hard to gain minimul results with them, and on top of this the TA is extremely hard to isolate. Many core stability exercises utilise the Hip flexor muscles if not done exactly 100% correctly so we just find ourselves going around in circles. The hip flexor muscles on the other hand are those used for movement and made for power/speed etc. (the maximal power of these obviously varies from person to person) Bally was a known sprinting athlete in his school days, so it is fair to say he will have a high % fast twitch muscle fibres in the Hip flexor region. meaning they would be more powerful than the average joe. Running, Swimming, Cycling, all utilise and get power from you Hip Flexors, so Rest is the only way to stop it from getting worse or staying bad. as every exercise will innervate the Hip Flexors, making them stronger and growing each time you exercise. So until he is under control, these are out, which makes it extremely hard to keep fit i know, but the best way to go about it. Light walking won't be too bad, and is good to maintain some activity and keep the pounds off.

It is still possible to manage OP to a degree where you are able to play. But I have no doubt Bally is only at about 50-60% capacity. WIth OP you find it increasingly difficult to Sprint, Take off, Change Directions, and Kick. Each time you may only get 40% firing of required motor units. This can be due to either the Pain factor, or the Fear of the pain factor.

The only way to Rid OP is

-REST
-ICING/ANTI-INLAM methods on the affected area(yes ice on the pubic symphysis is not the most enjoyable thing in life.
-STRETCHING
-CORRECT core Stability and TA postural exercises.

I would say that Bally playing out the remaining 3 games isn't going to cause major further damage, if we lose 1 more, put him on ice, and have him 100% ready and probably fitter than ever before by round 8 next season, conservative I know, but unless he is 100% ready (by conservative measures) he won't get fixed, the thing with these sorts of injuries is they aren't one whereby you can keep playing and slowly get better.

Remeber the blokes still got 7 years ahead of him.

The major thing that occurs to me out of Inside Goss's VERY impressive post is our new medical and fitness team, brought in a few months ago. You can't help thinking that, however good our fitness people were before (and lets face it, their results over the last four years don't paint them in a great light...), they were just not capable of fixing such a complex problem - which is probably why Judd's OP has not hampered him as much, given he's under one of the most impressive (AND highly paid) medical units at any club in the comp.

If you believe other threads on Big Footy (and let's face it, why would you believe any if your were not prepared to take all with a basis of fact), the Eagles board said recently that Judd was seaking chiropractic treatment outside of his own club, without permission, to try and get his current injury resolved.

One more defeat and we'd be out of the race, so why not? - Port rested/put blokes in for surgery etc at around the same stage last season, perhaps earlier and it has been beneficial.