Roast Shaun Hampson

Watch his effort against Bellchambers with 12 minutes left in the third quarter...Held Bellchambers under the ball to win the tap and direct it straight to a teammate...Received a handball, sidestepped Bellchambers like Kouta and handballed off to Murphy who cleared it.

Top ruckman.

Average forward if we kick it on his head in a pack.

Yep. Hampson did a lot of hard work in boundary throw ins and around the ground. His physicality really seemed to upset Ryder in the second half.

The contested marking is about where you'd expect it to be. It will come.

Watch his effort against Bellchambers with 12 minutes left in the third quarter...Held Bellchambers under the ball to win the tap and direct it straight to a teammate...Received a handball, sidestepped Bellchambers like Kouta and handballed off to Murphy who cleared it.

Top ruckman.

Average forward

EFA. At best!

Carlton needs to move it quickly and kick it to Hampson on a lead with space in front of him. Hampson crushed an Adelaide defender who backed back and dared to get in his way as he marked one out in the square.

Some wanted Russell's head in his fifth season and Warnock's head early last year.

Hampson has played just 39 games where's he mainly been the second ruckman.

Kreuzer and Naitanui are freaks to step up this early.

Carlton needs to move it quickly and kick it to Hampson on a lead with space in front of him. Hampson crushed an Adelaide defender who backed back and dared to get in his way as he marked one out in the square.

Some wanted Russell's head in his fifth season and Warnock's head early last year.

Hampson has played just 39 games where's he mainly been the second ruckman.

Kreuzer and Naitanui are freaks to step up this early.

People just look for a head to be taken. Full stop. Its such a shame. Always what someone can't do, not what they can do.

His ruck work is completely forgotten with the 'cant mark can't kick' thing that is going on round here. Look at the way the ball is being delivered into our forwardline when he's down there, most forwards would struggle taking contested marks down there, let alone ruckman who generally aren't athletic enough to take big pack grabs. If it wasn't for Waite plucking a few incredibly tough ones we'd be in trouble.

Carlton needs to move it quickly and kick it to Hampson on a lead with space in front of him.

This is something that really bothers me about our forward set up.

I posted in the game day thread that too many times we streamed forward and no players led out towards the ball carrier.

The Judd one springs to mind in the 2nd(?) quarter, running into 50 and not a single player lead into the 25 meters of space between the 50 and the pack. Everyone ran wide or back to goals.

Happened a couple of times with the likes of Carrots and Murph also. Not to mention the Simpson one in the final term, the only saving grace with that one was that he was able to kick a ripper goal over their heads.

For all of the Collins bagging, at least he took a strong mark out on strong lead in the 2nd term. This is what we need form our key and medium forwards.

Waite would do it most prominently but he was playing CHF yesterday and most of his leading grabs were up around the 50-70 meters from goal range.

Jeff wasn't to bad in this respect either but he was constantly forced to lead wide due to bad positioning from our key targets (Hendo & Hammer).

If were going to play 2 Key targets (Waite & Hendo) + 1 Ruckman (Hammer or Knockers) + 1 Medium (Walker, Collins, etc) + 2 Smalls (Ed & Jeff) then we need to build some structure and give each player more of a role.

Not sure if it's due to Barker, Ratten, or a lack of execution by the players but its really beginning to be a worry.

EDIT: Probably the wrong thread for this but i cbf moving it.

This is something that really bothers me about our forward set up.

I posted in the game day thread that too many times we streamed forward and no players led out towards the ball carrier.

The Judd one springs to mind in the 2nd(?) quarter, running into 50 and not a single player lead into the 25 meters of space between the 50 and the pack. Everyone ran wide or back to goals.

Happened a couple of times with the likes of Carrots and Murph also. Not to mention the Simpson one in the final term, the only saving grace with that one was that he was able to kick a ripper goal over their heads.

For all of the Collins bagging, at least he took a strong mark out on strong lead in the 2nd term. This is what we need form our key and medium forwards.

Waite would do it most prominently but he was playing CHF yesterday and most of his leading grabs were up around the 50-70 meters from goal range.

Jeff wasn't to bad in this respect either but he was constantly forced to lead wide due to bad positioning from our key targets (Hendo & Hammer).

If were going to play 2 Key targets (Waite & Hendo) + 1 Ruckman (Hammer or Knockers) + 1 Medium (Walker, Collins, etc) + 2 Smalls (Ed & Jeff) then we need to build some structure and give each player more of a role.

Not sure if it's due to Barker, Ratten, or a lack of execution by the players but its really beginning to be a worry.

EDIT: Probably the wrong thread for this but i cbf moving it.

This is what I see as the thing we need to improve the most and it was shown up big time on the weekend.

We lacked an option presenting from our half forwards. Too many times we had players running off half back and on the wing with nothing to kick to. This is why I think Carrots has been unfairly treated this week as I thought there were a lot worse players out there. Too many times he and others were running down and had to stop or kick long to nothing because there was no option presenting to them.

With eddie getting no where near it at the moment and with him constantly trying to lead up and take marks 40-50m out I reckon if we have him (as well as a Hendo/Walker/Collins type) leading up further up the ground being that option. Be kind of playing Eddie in a more Didak type roll where we can drag someone out of the 50 getting him more in the play and also creating space for Hampson/Waite to lead into and Garlett to continue doing what he does.

Hampson is tall and quick, I don't know why they don't use this to our advantage. With the chopping of the arms and hands in the back rule and should basically be undefendable if the kicking to him is good enough. Put it out in front of him and the only way the defender can do anything is to give away a free. At the moment we are kicking it high to a pack situation too much which doesn't suit our marking options.

I don't know if this is Barker or Rattens fault but Barker has not had the best record at St Kilda and Hawthorn in the past and I wasn't that happy when we signed him, I hope he proves me wrong.

I've watched you guys a few times this years and while Hampson hasn't really played well he really doesn't seem too far away from being a serious force. I don't think I need to point out any of his physical attributes and there is an aggression that I noticed yesterday that has me thinking that it is not a matter of if he gets it together but when.

Reality is that other than Kreuzer there are virtualy no ruckmen that have immediate and consistent impacts in their first few years.Hampson is not the first and wont be the last big guy that needs 6 or 7 years in the system.

As far as I am concerned Hampson is crucial to the proper functioning of your fowward line and increasing the consistency of the output of Gartlett (who has been really good this year) and Betts. It is for this reason that Carlton must persist with him.

Hampson and Warnock in the ruck allows Kreuzer to play forward. While I though that Henderson actually beat Fletcher in the first game last year he showed that (injury aside) he is still a long way from being the player you need him to be.

Kreuzer is very similar to Hurley in contested making situations because even if he doesn't take a contested mark he dictates where the spilt ball will end up. This kind of player is brilliant to rove to and CFC has two of the best crumbing forwardsin the game.

A lot of talk considering whether it is Essendon or Carlton having the better list centres around our talls and your midfield. Just like I think we have developed the depth and class in the midfield, Carlton has the talls to do a role but just seems to be unwilling to use them creatively to get he most out of the potential on the list (a large part of this is Setanta and the full back position as well - he owned Lloyd a few times and that is all I wil ever need to see).

A large part of the problem has been injury with O'hAilpin and Kruezer unavailable. The former has been used in a vaiety of roles and Kruezer has much recognised potential as a ruck/forward option. So not sure I can agree with your assessment about reluctance to be creative with what we have - it's more a limitation with fit talls at the moment.

However, I do agree with your assessment of Hampson's prospects. You must remember this is the CFC board - please refer to endless Jordan Russell threads prior to last season to get a feel for the kind of mindless bagging some of our developing players cop.

With eddie getting no where near it at the moment and with him constantly trying to lead up and take marks 40-50m out I reckon if we have him (as well as a Hendo/Walker/Collins type) leading up further up the ground being that option. Be kind of playing Eddie in a more Didak type roll where we can drag someone out of the 50 getting him more in the play and also creating space for Hampson/Waite to lead into and Garlett to continue doing what he does.

Eddie has played some of his best footy starting on a HFF coming into a midfield role, it allows him to lose his direct opponent in traffic and take marks leading across the forward 50 or crumbing at the feet of our key targets running towards goal. He has struggled to get into the game in recent weeks because he's constantly crumbing the ball heading away from goals, often around the feet of Waite, around the 40-60 meters from goal range.

Hampson is tall and quick, I don't know why they don't use this to our advantage. With the chopping of the arms and hands in the back rule and should basically be undefendable if the kicking to him is good enough. Put it out in front of him and the only way the defender can do anything is to give away a free. At the moment we are kicking it high to a pack situation too much which doesn't suit our marking options.

He's the ideal 'strong lead' along with Walker, but i think alot of this comes down to educating hammer on when, where and how to execute this. This is where JB needs to put the work into Hammer atm. (and his marking :p but that will come with time and confidence.)