Tiger7374

Apologies all for detailing the Membership thread...and ranting away...was fun tho.

Serious thinking tho...it's been 32 years since we were at the big dance...during that time:

1. Hawks have won 8 of 12
2. Druggies (comfortably satisfied) are 4 of 7
3. Cats are 3 of 8
4. Lions are 3 of 4
5. Weagles are 3 of 5
6. Swans, Pies and Blues all 2 of 5
7. Norf got 2 from 3
8. Crows 2 from 2
9. Power 1 from 2
10. Saints lost 3
11. Dees lost 2
12. Dockers lost 1

So everyone except us, Dogs and the setups have been there at the end.

We sit line ball with the Hawks (if you count the tasie numbers) in membership, 10% off the industry leader.

Reckon we need a solid decade of finals plus one or two cups to be #1.

Whose record in that period has been squandered?

Apologies all for detailing the Membership thread...and ranting away...was fun tho.

Serious thinking tho...it's been 32 years since we were at the big dance...during that time:

1. Hawks have won 8 of 12
2. Druggies (comfortably satisfied) are 4 of 7
3. Cats are 3 of 8
4. Lions are 3 of 4
5. Weagles are 3 of 5
6. Swans, Pies and Blues all 2 of 5
7. Norf got 2 from 3
8. Crows 2 from 2
9. Power 1 from 2
10. Saints lost 3
11. Dees lost 2
12. Dockers lost 1

So everyone except us, Dogs and the setups have been there at the end.

We sit line ball with the Hawks (if you count the tasie numbers) in membership, 10% off the industry leader.

Reckon we need a solid decade of finals plus one or two cups to be #1.

Shoot me now :(

You are not wrong when you say we need a solid decade...far out ...what you have posted is quite damning

Shoot me now :(

You are not wrong when you say we need a solid decade...far out ...what you have posted is quite damning

Two sides to every coin, the underperformance is the tails, the opportunity is the heads.

We have such an opportunity in front of us...membership by the bucket...a squad that can get to finals, has in the last two years. no one forgets 1980 when we wre THE club...I'm saying we can get back and stay there pretty damn quick.

It's the next generation of tackers we need to get onboard...

For the second year in a row, we are lineball 2nd with an outfit that has won 25% of all the cups in 32 years....lol and we haven't even danced. Arguably the only outfits we have lost ground to is the Pies in absolute terms, the Hawks in relative terms. Existing allegiances are set, but now we are ready to grab the neck of the next generation...

in saying that hawthorn had next to no supporters up until the 80s….the 71-91 era and the current 2007- era has seen the growth in our support….bear in mind also richmonds 67-80 era also had a huge bearing on your support base especially with all the immigrants (esp Greeks) arriving just before that on the main

That record stings me the most as I was born in 72. So outside of 10 years of retaliative success, 3 of which i can remember its been shit :P We are so close though I can taste it. We finally have a strong base to launch ourselves and I cant wait to again our club to be us against the rest and be hated not mocked by all.

Imagine being a dogs fan. 1961 the last and only 2 GF appearances.
Amazing really. They've had about 6-7 prelims in the last 30 years too!- no dice.

Imagine being a dogs fan. 1961 the last and only 2 GF appearances.
Amazing really. They've had about 6-7 prelims in the last 30 years too!- no dice.
Our record is just as shit really . There's no sugar coating how shit it is and even pointing out those shitter makes us look sillier imo . If we don't win one in this re build we'll be staring down the barrel of 40 - 50 years without one. 34 is a joke but they are hard to come by.

Never once did I say ours isn't shit.
Merely saying that whilst we sook and have reason to, the facts are that nobody under 55 years of age have ever seen their bulldogs in a Grand Final.
That's pretty harsh,particularly when you consider how close they've been quite a lot in recent history.

For mine, the clubs from that list who haven't turned on-field success into off-field success are:

Lions - three in a row, one of the best teams I'm likely to ever see, but it only took Fev to bring them crashing down. Fragile.

Saints - 3 GFs. 3. They didn't win one, then within a season or two, back they go to effortlessly claiming the spoon. Their home ground situation is a shambles. Hope to see them at Lakeside Oval someday.

Dees - The Dees were level-pegging with the Richmond rebuild. In 2011, we finished with 8 wins and 86%. Melbourne finished with 8 wins and 85%. That's only 3 seasons ago. They have been shedding members since, must have hit bottom, but need a season or two of rebuilding before the supporters come back.

in saying that hawthorn had next to no supporters up until the 80s….the 71-91 era and the current 2007- era has seen the growth in our support….bear in mind also richmonds 67-80 era also had a huge bearing on your support base especially with all the immigrants (esp Greeks) arriving just before that on the main

Strong point mate

The timeline isn't perfect...Weagles joined in 86, Crows 90, Dockers 94, Port 97.

My big turnip is the Dockers...sorry any of you fellas reading....and maybe the Crows...Saints and Dees are Just what they are

Look at the stages;
Hawks had a boom first 10 after rebuilding from 78, bust next 10, booming again now
Druggies had a solid 2 decades, crap since
Cats had a go in the late 80's, another half hearted go in the 90's, the launched into success of recent
The Lions got to rape the roy carcass...the AFL's draft present..now trying the old fashioned way
The Weagles got the draft presents, took them 7 years to post success, had another go 10 years later
For Norf is was the 90's
The Crows for their 2...no real sighting since...hmmm
The Dockers arrived in 94...fmd!!
Port got the bickies after joining 97, launching again
The Blues had a good first 15, last gasped in 99, crap since
The Dees had 2 goes, late 80 & late 90...crap since
Saints fired a shot in 97, loaded again for the late 00's..
Pies had 3 goes, 1990, Lions bitches early 00, then 2010
Swans got serious mid 90, again mid 00 and again now.

The takeout is so so clear...its a 10 year gig. Maybe not for the new north 2, they did get unfettered rights to the draft...we shall see.

For us, we started in 09...out list has what...5 left from 08. We might be a little behind the 8 ball cos of the setups having such access to talent...we are destined to crawl, walk then run. During the long run objective, we are ok to internally brawl over the tactical, but there is no real quick fix.

More final campaigns are a must...and get 1 at least in the next 5