Spida retires

Congratulations to Spida on a fine career and sad that he didn't get to experience more success with us! While his retirement was not unexpected, I think he gave us all he had left these past two years (particularly in 2007 when his tap-work was still first class at its best) and I wish him all the best in life after footy.

Hope he can pass on his knowledge and wealth of experience to our young up-and-coming ruckmen!

Re: Omg spida retires

Probably made the worst decision for a player to move to an interstate club to experience "sucess" where in Hawthorn, that could be this year or most likely the next. Not that he would have been a shoe-in in the hawks with Renouf and Campbell playing alright. Possibly wou;d have made way for Renouf given his lack of experience, so it was a blessing in disguise for the hawks

Geez, we get shitty when we lose don't we? The guy is 34 and his age was hardly hidden at the time he was recruited (something the Swans always seem to want to happen more than he did). Very few people I know of criticized that trade at the time (we all saw Cox tear Jolly a new one in the GF!). It was always a gamble and it didn't quite work out this time.

He's had a great career and was a wonderful player. I can only think some of nastiness starting to spew forth is from people who never saw the things this guy did on a football field. He finished his career the way 99.9% of 34yo ruckman (for the very few who are good enough to hang around that long) do - with reduced athleticism, pace and awareness. It's a shame but live with it please.

Good luck Spida. A great career.

JUST ANNOUCED

im actually crying my eyes out

Good on you for caring ! I feel crap right now and I just hope people can give this guy some kudos. He gave what his body would allow and he saw in Sydney a good club and wanted to be a part of it. All the best Spida.

And after seeing Soph in the what number thread I respect her comments cos she's hot ha ha. U have no shame.

Well time for me to go have a cry and apologise to my Dad later for calling him a toss for his negative comments through out the night even though he was right, but his timing sucked. I bought Adam Goodes jumper this week so at least somethung to look forward to.

ha ha thanks love

Its sad to see anyone who has come 2 the club and played for us go on
Yes Spida had his shockers but boy did we have some good games for us which i am very greatful for

Round 22 against Hawthorn springs 2 mind had a great game that day!

Yes it was a shame we missed him by one year in 06 but he is a real character has taken much unwanted pressure off Jolly and has allowed our young bubs Currie and Beanie to have a strong year to develop them selves and they will both be given a crack at it next year and im sure as hell Spida will be around the club to help develop our future Ruckmen and im sure Jolly would love to have him to talk to on off days

Congrats Spida im gonna miss ur lovely tatt ur grey hair and ur love for chewing gum through out the game WELL DONE DADDY LONG LEGS!

Honestly would have preferred Currie to debut tonight. Anything but that good for nothing excuse for a ruckman.
your an absolute flog mate! go to bay 13 with the rest of them spida has given a great service to the Swans and to afl hes has been a great player who has just been unlucky not by his fault but by the clubs who drafted him. missed stkilda and swan flags cause he missed the window and also could possibly miss a hawks flag this year

I'm not talking about his career. Hell, he's had a brilliant career.

I'm talking on performance tonight, and tonight he was dreadful. At least debuting Currie would have been a positive for the future.

I'm not talking about his career. Hell, he's had a brilliant career.

I'm talking on performance tonight, and tonight he was dreadful. At least debuting Currie would have been a positive for the future.

2009 is the future...we'll find out then. Tonight (a final) wasn't the night machine.

Everitt's retirement in the second at the Swans, with Ben Mathews announcing his exit from the game last week.

Veterans Leo Barry and Jared Crouch led the side off the MCG in a sign the pair might be planning to call stumps on careers that included the 2005 premiership victory.

Hmm...