Leigh Roy

Who has webspace here?

If you're a photoshop or image program guru, give us YOUR idea of an alternate strip please, then beg and plead whoever says they have webspace to host it for you.

Failing that, just type what you think.

Originally posted by Leigh
Who has webspace here?

If you're a photoshop or image program guru, give us YOUR idea of an alternate strip please, then beg and plead whoever says they have webspace to host it for you.

Our yellow training guernsey looks good to me as one of the away strips.

Its got 2 stripes (blue and red) accross the lower rip region and a Crow on top of those stripes. I really think that would be a good away guernsey. Make another one exactly the same design only the colour should be red. :)

I think we should keep our current home and away strips as they are and use an 'alternate' strip for away games against teams like Melbourne, Essendon etc where there may be a clash between the red of each team in our away guernsey and the darker colours of each team.

So I propose an alternate strip which is a bit different. I like the yellow training guernsey too Stiffy, I like it so much that I have one but I think we should keep that to training. Recently I've wondered about an all-white guernsey with three single blue, red and yellow stripes, possibly a crow on it but not necessarily. It is just a bit different, I'll try and design a copy of it on Illustrator in the next few days if I have time.

I like the yellow idea - but not so we look like Bananas like St Kilda do. I would go for a "Gold" yellow. with some red and blue strips. Not too different from our "real" jumper. However, I would only use this jumper away from home. At home I wouldn't want them to wear anything but the home jumper.

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
At home I wouldn't want them to wear anything but the home jumper.

That's exactly the plan.

Where clubs like Essendon and Collingwood hijack this debate is they make it sound like they'd be selling out their guernsey and tradition to appease the colour scheme of other clubs permanently.

The idea of away kits (as it is with EVERY other sport on the face of the planet) is the home side wears whatever they want and the away side - only if there is a clash - wears an alternate strip.

Thus we would always wear our traditional home guernsey at home and teams such as Melbourne or Carlton would be forced to wear their alternate jumper and vice versa when we play them at their home ground.

For neutral games (finals and grand final) the right to wear the home kit would be decided via the toss of a coin.

It's simple.

Thus in a perfect world - or the English Premier League, NBA or NFL - Port Adelaide FC would still be known as the Magpies and be allowed to wear their jailbars for every match excluding away games to Collingwood, Geelong and North Melbourne.

But because the AFL is a backward entity when it comes to image and trademark rights this can't happen.

Who has webspace here?

How much space do you need - just enopugh to put a few pics? If that's all you can use mine.

I reckon keeping the hoops is important, I would like to see the crest maybe on there - it has a certain pattern itself, and the way the crow on top of it is spreading its wings out, that could be a good thing to put on there.

Also, keep the blue navy blue and the gold gold (:)), but have a different shade of red when it comes to the dark red sides like the Dees, Dons, Saints maybe and probably the Lions too.

Just a thing on webspace - Stiffy and Kane you are really into this forum stuff more than a lot of others it seems (no offence to anybody, I do think there are others but I'm unable to recall names at the mo), you guys should do a fair dinkum AFC site, didn't I read somewhere you're doing IT at uni Stiffy?

Yes mate I am doing IT at uni. As much fun a AFC site would be, It would take too much time. ATM study and work takes a lot of time. If I had mor time on my hands I would love to have an AFC site. would be great fun. Hopefully later next year we might come up with something!!!!!!;)

the strips bizzness aint that hard to sort out? is it?
Crows- we got out home and away, they rock out.. and when we play melbourne and brissy and teams we tend to clash with pull out the training jumper
Collingwood and port should just shutup and grow up! port power have teal along with black and white so that should be the dominat colour... (i hate both teams with a passion so i actually wish they would fight it out and murder each other)
Carlton's is the easiest... just flip it, white with bluw CFC
the fact is, like others have said, the AFL has just gotta move with the times, every other sport, soccer, ice hockey, baseball.. they all have it sorted, why we so lame?