nubrik

Going over for the match on the 12th.
Tickets go on sale for the Freo game tomorrow (as far as i know) and i was wondering if anyone had any advice or if there is anything i need to know? I hear Patersons stadium can be quite a hostile place!

I notice also that the ticket prices are ridiculous too! http://www.afl.com.au/tickets/venues/patersons-stadium

I started a thread last year about the pitfalls of going to Subi to watch Bomber games.

But do you think I can find it through the useless, ####ing stupid BF search tool? No.

No problems at Freo games. It's only WC matches that you have to be wary of.

All I can suggest is make sure you smuggle in your own alcohol...cause no one wants to drink that mid-strength crap at 8 bucks a cup..:)

I started a thread last year about the pitfalls of going to Subi to watch Bomber games.

But do you think I can find it through the useless, ####ing stupid BF search tool? No.

All I can suggest is make sure you smuggle in your own alcohol...cause no one wants to drink that mid-strength crap at 8 bucks a cup..:)

Agree mate, Freo are mostly fine, its WC fans that are the problem. And I can say problem because I grew up in Perth and only moved to Melbourne in the last couple of years. I couldn't go to WC home games there even as a neutral because the pack mentality and arrogance of the WCE fans. I know heaps of non WC fans who agree that they don't even like going to WC home games. But as it is Freo, you should be fine (except for the price of the mid strength crap which is all you can get there) :)

Coming to Perth for a game of footy? You must be rich!
Hotel room = $300 per night (average)
Chicken & Chips at the game = $14 each
Stale sweaty rats piss disguised as mid strength beer (in a plastic cup) = $8
A night at Burswood (Crown) Casino = $300 (conservative)
Taxi from the CBD to Subiaco (in peak hour traffic) = $40 (and an hour and a half for traffic congestion)
The look on your wife's face when she opens the next Visa statement = Priceless!!!

Got front row tickets in block 139. Should be close enough to the Bombers faithful. From memory last year we were able to pack out a good 2-3 blocks v Freo I think :thumbsu:

Agree mate, Freo are mostly fine, its WC fans that are the problem. And I can say problem because I grew up in Perth and only moved to Melbourne in the last couple of years. I couldn't go to WC home games there even as a neutral because the pack mentality and arrogance of the WCE fans. I know heaps of non WC fans who agree that they don't even like going to WC home games. But as it is Freo, you should be fine (except for the price of the mid strength crap which is all you can get there) :)

Not too sure about this one given that neutral supporters haven't really been able to get into wce games for the last 8 years as the ground is sold out to west coast members. Freo fans are pretty fun to get in amongst especially if you are from the opposing side as you get some good natured ribbing going both ways. In 20 plus years of going to the footy at the WACA and subi I have only ever seen one fight or malicious act and that was by a Carlton supporter. As has been said though, the drinks are mid strength and overpriced and the food is shit and overpriced apart from the spud stand which is okay. If I were you I would get down to the Vic pub or the subiaco hotel for a few drinks and a feed before the game as there will be plenty of people down there who are going to the footy and can be fun for a chat between both supporter bases before the game. Have a great time while you are here and I hope you smash Freo :)

Cheers OP for reminding me to buy tickets! Just bought 1 for me and a mate.. Block 141, should be right amongst fellow fans.

Last year was freaking amazing, hoping for similar results this year!
Never been to a friday night game over here.. its usually a Sunday arvo. Should be good! :thumbsu:

My uncle lived in Perth for a while and when going to the footy over there he once faked that he had cerebral palsy and smuggled in a whole bottle of gin or vodka.

Personally I wasn't as impressed with him as he was.

I just sometimes take a flask of bourbon and buy a few 500ml cokes ($5 each) and tip it in...or just have a few in the carpark before going in or just don't drink at all if it's not an Essendon game.

Freo fans are great. They are very loud maniacs but at least they don't boo every umpire decision like those moronic eagles nutcases.

Not too sure about this one given that neutral supporters haven't really been able to get into wce games for the last 8 years as the ground is sold out to west coast members. Freo fans are pretty fun to get in amongst especially if you are from the opposing side as you get some good natured ribbing going both ways. In 20 plus years of going to the footy at the WACA and subi I have only ever seen one fight or malicious act and that was by a Carlton supporter. As has been said though, the drinks are mid strength and overpriced and the food is shit and overpriced apart from the spud stand which is okay. If I were you I would get down to the Vic pub or the subiaco hotel for a few drinks and a feed before the game as there will be plenty of people down there who are going to the footy and can be fun for a chat between both supporter bases before the game. Have a great time while you are here and I hope you smash Freo :)

Mate, I don't want to get into an argument here, but as a neutral, I have been to subi plenty of times for WCE games. I understand why you would want to defend it but IMO having gone to grounds all around Australia, WCE home games are simply the worst in the AFL including Collingwood. again just IMO anyway and best we leave it as agreeing to disagree :) .

Also, coleman10 - Taxi from the CBD to Subiaco (in peak hour traffic) = $40 (and an hour and a half for traffic congestion) - Good luck getting a taxi in Perth :p

Again I just don't see where you are getting your info from. If you are staying in a hotel in perth which I am guessing you will be, a taxi will cost you around $11($13 if after 6pm) and take about 30 mins given traffic. The hotel will get you a taxi no problem if you ask them. Even if you are staying at crown in burswood it still wouldn't cost much more than $20. Getting a taxi home on a Friday night can be a different story though but from subi it should be fine.

I personally am getting my info from living in Perth for the first 25 years of my life, but anyway...

You must never have caught a taxi then because you can go from perth to fremantle for $38. Anyway the point is its a nice place, should be a great game so enjoy it. Also another good place in subi if you are looking for a feed is hippo creek. Very similar to the meat and wine co in southbank.

I had a great weekend in Perth in general and Patterson's stadium was great.
The atmosphere WAS definitely lively and a little bit hostile (i say a bit because although everyone was eyeing each-other off and had a lot to say, surprisingly no-one wanted to punch eachother up) and the bogan meter was off the charts!! But but i only heard 1 or 2 cracks about drugs and the crowd were very respectful and fair on a whole.