Danny_Green

Suspended
Teams
Royal Blue.........................................Yellow

1 Michael Gardiner.........................2 Jason Salecic (West Perth)
3 Chris Judd...................................6 Drew Banfield
4 Daniel Kerr..................................8 Jeremy Humm
7 Chad Fletcher..............................9 Ben Cousins
8 Brad Murray (West Perth)...........10 Michael Braun
13 Josh Wooden............................12 Kane Munro
14 Mark Seaby...............................16 Damien Adkins
17 Daniel Chick..............................17 Scott Siekerka (Perth)
18 Rowan Jones............................19 Andrew McDougall
24 Tom Matson (Claremont)...........20 Dean Cox
26 Sam Butler.................................21 Quinten Lynch
30 Michael Collica...........................25 Daniel McConnell
31 Mark Nicoski..............................27 Glen Jakovich
34 Clancy Rudeforth.......................30 Chad Morrison
41 Brent Staker..............................32 Andrew Embley
42 Paul Johnson..............................33 Phil Matera
43 Zac Beeck...................................35 Kasey Green
45 Aaron Edwards...........................43 Tallen Ames (Swan Districts)
46 Trent Carroll................................44 David Wirrpunda
50 Greg Harding (Claremont)...........48 Jaymie Graham

Royal Blue.... 2.1 ... 5.2 ... 8.2 .... 12.2 (74)
Yellow.......... 2.3 ... 6.4 ... 10.4 ... 15.5 (95)

Goalkickers

Paul Johnson 3.1 .....................Andrew Mcdougall 3.1
Josh Wooden 2.0 ....................Ben Cousins 3.0
Chris Judd 1.0 .........................Andrew Embley 2.0
Michael Gardiner 1.0 ...............Phil Matera 2.0
Daniel Kerr 1.0 ........................Tallen Ames 2.0
Chad Fletcher 1.0 ....................Damien Adkins 1.0
Mark Seaby 1.0 .......................Scott Siekierka 1.0
Daniel Chick 1.0 ......................Daniel McConnell 1.0
Aaron Edwards 1.0 .................Quinten Lynch 0.1
................................................Glen Jakovich 0.1

I basically followed around a few players I was interested in... and recorded their kicks as well.

Ben Cousins 20 kicks
Chris Judd 19 kicks
David Wirrpunda 15 kicks
Chad Fletcher 11 kicks
Andrew Embley 10 kicks
Andrew McDougall 5 kicks
Daniel Chick 5 kicks
Aaron Edwards 5 kicks

And my views on some of the players....

Judd - Again.... just class.. Shared B.O.G with Cousins IMHO. Who needs viagra when you see this guy play.
Cousins had it on a string... equal B.O.G
Damien Adkins - Poor... very poor below knees tonight... fumbled heaps of times.
Quentin Lynch - Soft. I honestly think he will be lucky to remain on the list next year. Again... has problems overhead judging the ball.
Braun - Got a heap of it in the midfield
Staker - Looked great.. played backline and looked at home. Seemed to go down with an ankle at the beginning of the last quarter and went straight off for the rest of the game.. hope its not bad.
Kerr - Got a heap of the ball
Matera - played midfield first half..... forward 2nd half. Did ok
Kane Munro - Don't care what people say... this kid has something. Looked very good tonight... has great skills and poise.
Paul Johnson - Led very well most of the game... especially first half.... took a couple of very good grabs on the lead as well! I was impressed!
Andrew MacDougall - Our Full Forward without a doubt.... very impressed.... for some reason reminds me alot of a Chris Tarrant in the way he leads and marks the ball. He is going to be a very good player.
Gardner - Didn't come on until the 2nd half and when he did played forward. Didn't ruck at all but looked very mobile and a hell of a lot faster than I thought he was.

All in all it was a great hitout... and the boys are looking really good.

They showed Staker coming off the ground in one of the sports reports and it looked like a left shoulder to me.

How did Butler go?

i agree. a few things to add:

* Seaby seemed to struggle again. im beginning to think that this maybe due to Cox's improvement as Coxy did well against Gardiner in there occasional contests.

* McConnell was very handy considering he is still 17. looks a likely type...possibly even a few games on the cards this year. got quite afew possesions at either end of the ground.

* Lynch has lost the plot completely. i was seriously worried by his abnormal agression. like he was taking it out on the other players in unnecessary contact.

* Butler got alot of the ball (mainly in the first half) disposal let him down especially early. but moves well and looks stylish when kicking.

* Nicoski, Humm, Munro, Adkins didnt do much to say pick me.

* A little irrelevant but i was impressed with tallen aymes (swan districts) who stood in tonight. looks very athletic with a big kick...i heard good things last year of him in the wafl...but not much at draft time. but i think we have enough ruckman/forwards anyway.

btw does anyone no the deal will hunter, chambers, selwood??? hunter didnt even run laps or do the water tonight? something must be up. lets hope its no serious otherwise with him and staker out were going to have to unleash Quienten "the hulk" Lynch in the backline ...and let me tell u...a certain t.carroll sounds very enticing as a defender at that thought.

I'll be posting my thoughts later tonight. Got a fair few pics, and even some video footage, so stay tuned.

Originally posted by West Coast Stre
They showed Staker coming off the ground in one of the sports reports and it looked like a left shoulder to me.

How did Butler go?

Interesting... when he was on the ground they seemed to be looking at his leg... and when he came off he was walking down the boundary line gingerly... didnt hold his shoulder at all.

Didn't see a lot of Butler to tell you the truth.

Originally posted by Danny_Green
Interesting... when he was on the ground they seemed to be looking at his leg... and when he came off he was walking down the boundary line gingerly... didnt hold his shoulder at all.

Just as he came off he touched it (his arm) slightly and grimaced. It looked a bit floppy. Hopefully not as bad as it looked.

I'm pretty sure Stakes did his calf, the "accident" happened right infront of where I was sitting, and he was rubbing his lower leg. He didn't get up for a while, and then hobbled off to the change rooms. Kinda dampened my mood on what I thought was a great game, I hope he's not hurt badly :(

I thought Lynch was a bit mad tonight, he was throwing the guys around him. I'm kind of doubting him as a player now, after 2 dreadful performances in succession.

Johnno was impressive, as was Doogs. Those two would be a great foward line duo. Where was Sampi btw, I don't recall seeing him :confused:

I agree with theorangeapple, I thought Tallen Ames was certainlt impressive. My sister said they should sign him up right now!:)

I have attended both Scratch Matches. Those who have sealed a place in the best 22:

Gardiner, Judd, Kerr, Fletcher, Chick, Staker, Edwards (Oops! Rookie List) Banfield, Cousins, Braun, McDougall, Cox, Jako, Embley, Matera. Green, Wirra, Jones,

Trully some of these guys are ready to explode. Big improvers this year will be Judd (Brownlow potential), Chick, McDougall and Cox and .............Glass. Glass looks huge.

We are very deficient in tall key position players - currently out are Gaspar, Glass, Hansen and Hunter.

Cant wait to next Saturday.

Originally posted by West Coast Stre

How did Butler go?
Missed a shot at goal, but wasn't a standout performer. McConnell was impressive though.

Waters didn't play though, anyone know why?

Hmmm,

So far it appears Staker has been injured somewhere below the neck? Whatever it is lets hope its nothing serious.

On the other hand, the description of Lynchs behaviour suggests he has sustained a serious injury above the neck?

Keen to read the in depth report on these two and the game in general from our expert analyst............Mead.

Originally posted by Juddamania
Waters didn't play though, anyone know why?

Not sure... but he was standing next to me up on the 2nd level of the members stand taking photos of all things.

Went along for a bit today missed the start and the end but saw a good chunk.

Cousins and Judd were great, Kerr and Braun looked good too.

I thought McDougall looked great again and was impressed by "D-Mac" Daniel McConnell, some nice work from the young bloke.

But yes, anyone have any idea about the absence of Waters, Sampi and also Michael Embley ?

I would be very disapointed in Stakes has been injured as he also looked in great touch in defense.

Here's hoping this spate of injuries is not setting the status quo for the year ahead.

Been working late today but a mate of mine told me that Hunter had a minor op (very minor).

Dont know if its true, if it is should be in the West tomorrow?

Bit of news, including an update about Staker's condition

http://westcoasteagles.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=133380

Gardiner good for West Coast
9:34:11 PM Fri 13 February, 2004
Mic Cullen
westcoasteagles.com.au
Michael Gardiner might have only played the second half of Friday night’s intra-club scratch match at Subiaco Oval, but his performance was good enough to have West Coast fans looking forward to his performances this season with anticipation.

Vice-captain Gardiner came on at the start of the third term and was in the action early, with a goal after leading Quinten Lynch to the ball and marking at 40 metres.

It was a flash of Gardiner magic in the last as he knocked the ball back into play as it was about to go out on the members wing and then kept running forward, got it back as he crossed the arc and slotted the ball from 40 metres.

Coach John Worsfold said after the match that despite the encouraging performance, it was unlikely that Gardiner would play next Saturday night at Subiaco Oval against Collingwood.

“At this stage we probably won’t play him, but that will depend on if he believes he needs a hit-out next week, because otherwise he won’t play at all,” he said.

“We’ll weigh that up, but the longer we can hold him back, the better he’s going to be going into the season.”

The only worry for West Coast to come out of the game was when promising key defender Brent Staker got a knock to the leg in the last term, but club officials are confident that it is not serious.

Until then, Staker had looked good, bringing back memories for West Coast supporters of an emerging Mitchell White with his body-shape and the way he moved to the ball.

Young Andrew McDougall was impressive again this week, kicking the first goal after veteran Drew Banfield got it out of the middle after the tap from Dean Cox.

His effort from 52 metres in the second term was just touched on the line, and he finished with three for the match.

One of the other young talls in competition with McDougall for a key forward position is Paul Johnson, who also led and marked well.

In the midfield, Michael Braun had a good number of touches, as he did last week, and Chris Judd was good without being spectacular, but kicked a good left-foot goal in the last term.

Daniel Kerr worked his way into it, and finished it off with a stunning right foot snap while running into the right pocket in front of the three-tier stand in the last term.

Phil Matera kicked a goal in the last term, but spent most of the first half running around in the midfield, some thing that Worsfold said was brought on by a lack of suitable players to rotate through the centre.

David Wirrpunda produced several moments of magic as he worked well in defence.

Saw somewhere that Adam Hunter had minor surgery on his knee a couple of weeks ago. Callum Chambers is also recovering from shoulder (I think?) surgery.

Beau Waters had surgery yesterday to repair cartilage damage in his knee. Will be out for the next month.

Just quickly on the intra-club...

McDougall was reasonably good at full forward. Definitely plays his best footy when on the lead where he can use his pace and athleticism. Just very classy in everything he does and is deadly accurate with his kicking.

That said, he still looks like a very skinny kid when compared to some of his team mates. I think he'll be a good player for us this year, but I also think he's probably still 1-2 years away from becoming that 'go-to' man up forward who can consistently take games by the scruff of the neck.

Paul Johnson, on the other hand, looks like he's been in the system for 4-5 years. He's a tank. It's too early to make a call on whether he'll make at it at this level, though. Will probably play next week against the Pies, but once the real stuff starts I think he'll be back to the WAFL to work on his game.

The midfield was just great to watch. In these intra-club matches, where there is plenty of space and no taggers, you get to see just how classy blokes like Judd, Fletch, Cuzz etc really are.

Glad we didn't trade Cox. Looks fantastic, and will relish leading the ruck over the next month. Good chance to take Stunning Steve and Guy Richards to the cleaners next week.

Anyway, hopefully Staker is ok. And hopefully Hunter can get a couple of games under his belt before the season starts. Because if they join Glass and Gaspar on the sidelines, our tall stocks down back are right up sh*t creek without a paddle.

Oh, and a big thanks to all the train drivers who decided to go on strike. Made things nice and difficult tonight.

Buzz

You know those working class drivers were offered a pay rise but they palced buggering up the Eagles fans as a higher priority.

God bless there (lazy & greedy) purple hearts.

Moo

I knew it. They're all against me.

I think it's time I started writing a few angry letters to the paper calling for that union lackey Gallop to be given the arse.

Bring back Dicky Court!