Trout sacked

• Thread starter Thread starter Dopey BJ

I don't think this will be a popular opinion and I believe Trout is an extremely talented recruiter but I have a belief that we have recruited a really strong list of nice players that are all a bit the same.
Jimmy Webster is probably the only player on our list with a bit of the old mongrel in him and we are crying out for a dose of X Factor.
There comes a time when change is needed to deliver some a point of difference.
Happy to be shown why my thoughts are wrong.
Seems like my post was 1year early but l think accurate

I've been thinking about the Peake years a bit the past few days since Trout got the flick and wanted to try and compare them somewhat to the Trout years because it seems to be a pretty common theme here that Peake basically ruined the club but I just don't buy it at all when you look at the drafts and put them in context of what was happening at the club.

2007: People can talk about McEvoy before Dangerfield but when you consider Masten, Morton, Grant, Myers and Palmer were taken before both, a multiple premiership ruckman is a pretty decent pick really. The fact that we got a player as good as Jack Steven in the 40s moves this draft into the very good category as far as I am concerned. 2007 is a big tick for me.

2008: We picked Tom Lynch. Besides him we had very late picks. Lynch is still playing really good football in a succesful team. The fact we got rid of him has zero to do with Peake. This draft is another tick from me, what more could Peake have done here?

2009: We really should have won the granny this year and our first pick was 32. Sure, we swung and missed on our picks but when your first pick is 32 and you are working in a team that is playing off in Grand Finals and has a coach that loves the experienced guys, it's hardly a hanging offence. Not a good draft but there are excuses.

2010:Cripps with a late first rounder. And a seriously poor draft after that. Cripps is playing good footy in a team at the top of the ladder. It's hardly a failed pick from where he was taken... You'd have to be a very hard task-master to call Peake a failure based on this. Him leaving the club is out of Peake's hands.

Then in steps the Pelican with his magical spreadsheet and we get a new coach. The list is slashed and burned because, we are told, it has to happen. Many players who had contributed to a period of sustained success and who had worked so hard to instill a winning culture are sold off for draft picks. Sure, our salary cap was pretty stuffed but did we have to go as extreme as the Pelican and his spreadsheet demanded?

Due to the Pelican's plan we bottom out. Hard. That nets us a couple of early picks in 2013 and 14.

2013 we get Billings.

2014 McCartin.

To quote Richo, when talking of our pick 1 "....he's pick one. He needs to be elite. We need this guy to be a ripper." You could say the same about a pick 3. But neither are rippers at all. In fact they are a long way from rippers. Billings has serious psychological issues that are impeding his abilities and Paddy serious physical issues that are doing the same.

2013 and 14, these are the drafts we had to nail. Peake didn't have early picks to hang his hat on. He still had a very good 2007 draft, 2 that are adequate and one miss. But he gets a lot of the blame for the situation we find ourselves in now. It doesn't make sense.

To conclude, I'm not solely blaming Trout for the situation either but I wanted to unwrap the "Peake is the problem" line that gets put out here often. And when one does unpack the past few years in the cold harsh reality of the situation we find ourselves in now as a club, it is really hard to go past the Pelican and his spreadsheet as the major part of our problems.

I've been harping on about wanting 'jock' midfielders for a while.

Cho & Trout have both assembled a list that is psychologically weak, with a collective low football IQ, and physical limitations.

Carlisle is the only one that really gets a tick all round for me. Brilliant football mind, has a competitive edge, isn't a choir boy, and performs at an elite standard. A top 30 player in the comp.

After that.....

Billings, Membrey, Bruce > soft

Ross, Steven, Dunstan > too limited

Newnes has had it, but has probably maxed out in a young team.

Webster & Carlisle of our experienced/senior blokes and that's about it.

Battle, Long & Coffield look likely to be ruthless competitors.

But we need those pure mid jocks suited to modern footy that live and breath competition.

I'd drop a silly offer to Cerra's management & hope Walsh falls into our laps.

Another ignorant swipe from someone who has no clue. Stop embarrassing yourself, W2L. What do you think of Jolhn Beveridge's efforts in that time? He was Peake's right hand man and second in command throughout 2006-10. I notice you never mention Bevo, because that doesn't suit your false narrative.I first worked for Bevo in 1997, when he flew solo. No real resources to speak of. I worked intermittently on several things for the club until 2000, when we started doing our own testing and didn't rely on the draft. What do you think of our efforts between 2000-2005? Again, you never mention this period. Pelchen's plan was completely flawed. Just ask anyone who knows anything about the game. He traded for picks in compromised drafts, stuffed up most of those and then bailed out after trying to set up his own business at the expense of the club. What about the amazing, magical spreadsheet? It was just that, and only that. A spreadsheet. Most clubs were way ahead.

If anything, TFWF is less culpable than the Pelican. At least TFWF never claimed any expertise, not did he have any to speak of. Pelican was paid handsomely to fix the list. What a mess he made, due to a strategy that was hopelessly flawed from the beginning. And how did he correct things? By bailing out when the looming disaster started to unfold, handing the ticking time bomb to TFWF. Blaming JP shows you know nothing. Considering the picks he had at his disposal, he far outperformed TFWF, who's had a bonanza of early picks by comparison. Then, four good players, who were amongst Peake's picks and who are all doing well at premiership contending clubs, were cleaned out by the genius. No W2L, the reason our list is terrible is because the 2012-4 drafts have yielded very little. Seven years is ample time to rebuild a list. Melbourne has done it in 4 under the Roos/Goodwin regime. They don't hark back to the 2008-12 drafts when they squandered their chances the way we did. And what is your genius Pelican doing now? I do hear him bob up as a "list guru" (self described) occasionally, but that's about all.

You can't keep blaming people you don't like for calling you out. Interestingly, JP made his way straight back to Geelong, where he'd previously built the foundations of a dominant, premiership list, and they have remained a power since. That's probably because he's such a dud. That's why a great club like Geelong hired him, because he's incompetent. They're renowned for doing that. I'd wager he knows a lot more about the recruiting game than anyone on here, including yours truly, as does Bevo. As JP used to lament, the difference between the power clubs and perrenial battlers like us is simple. Resources. Geelong had professional scouts and networks, a phalanx of physical testers and psychs and pro interstate scouts when Bevo's budget, including his salary was $70 K a year. Peake suffered from the same lack of resources, as did TFWF, who was handed the Pelican as the guru who would make the difference.

Interestingly, TFWF's performance over the past few draft appears to have been improving (apart from trading us out of rounds two and three this year). Why would that be? Could the improvement have been just a natural course because of experience, or could it have something to do with having 6 full timers at his disposal? I recall the days when we had to select players sight unseen, because there was simply a lack of people to track them first hand. Brad Howard? Mark Browning's recommendation. Phil Raymond, Justin Sweeney ring a bell?

I'm sure you'll still be blaming JP and me, Seaford, low membership et al. in the decade to come. At least it provides you with comfort. And as Martha Stewart might say, "That's a good thing", for someone like you. Even better, why don't you offer your undoubtedly vast football knowledge to the club on a consultancy basis? In this time of crisis, I'm sure they'd be all ears.

Thanks Peakey, how's the weather down the Bellarine Peninsula today?

There's no one that I don't like on this forum as I've never met any outside a few who I go to the footy with. If it's Gringo you're talking about, I reckon he's a ripper, passionate as they come. We have different opinions on a few things such as recruiting but I've never played the man personally.

If you think I've played the man at you just because I asked about your claims of being at the draft table in 2011 and Peake being in charge then that's well and good. It's obviously touched a nerve. Now that you've been exposed as bending the truth you've tried to get personal; it's really water off a ducks back to me. As supporters we all have opinions and mine was that Peake's performance was ordinary. Yes McEvoy was traded for picks. I thought at the time that he was a strange pick as we were in the window and he was always going to be a slow developer (and I had seen Ben play a few times at Dederang as a young guy in a senior side on a wing). We had an ageing midfield and a need for pace.

Lynch left for opportunity. Cripps was a shocking call as he always wanted to stay in WA and bolted as soon as he could. Who was the 4th?

I'm very aware that Bevo was the lone ranger for many years. He recruited some of our legends as well as some very very ordinary players. I've stated time and time again that a club like ours with limited $$$ to spend on recruiting and development will always be disadvantaged. We need everything to go for us. Not sure what 2000-2005 has to do with anything in 2018. They're all retired now.

I see you've now softened your stance on Trout too... now he was under resourced and doing ok... funny eh?

Re the Pelican, well according to a board member he was moved on/left because the AFL were funding us and we were told that having two staff on the payroll that were doing similar roles was a waste of their money. Ameet stayed and Pelchen left. There's no doubt he was a pr1ck to deal with as many of the insiders where glad to see the back of him and happy to bad mouth anything he did. The compromised drafts hurt

So while you're all hot under the collar and trying to rile me up, our team has one player of the 21 taken by John Peake who is now in the 'peak' of his career. There is no denying that. I'm just be a 25+ year member who loves the club. I should probably be thankful that great minds like yourself can grace us mere mortals here on BigFooty.

:)

Surely perfect for an expert BF poster!
ITFK Epic status ln offer.

CALL ME SNAKE could test potentials for how mentally sharp they are with the jokes.

Keg on legs could test their stamina, resilliance and what they are like fatigued with you guesses it... Kegs!

Joffaboy could test their strategic game plan capability with debating exercises

plugger66 could test their physicality and toughness Ken Sheldon Craig Devonport style.

gringo2011 could grill them and see just how many times they could be asked the "are you a failure"? question before their head explodes.

triggering bro can test their agility and movement capability with rapper drills.

Surely perfect for an expert BF poster!
ITFK Epic status ln offer.

CALL ME SNAKE could test potentials for how mentally sharp they are with the jokes.

Keg on legs could test their stamina, resilliance and what they are like fatigued with you guesses it... Kegs!

Joffaboy could test their strategic game plan capability with debating exercises

plugger66 could test their physicality and toughness Ken Sheldon Craig Devonport style.

gringo2011 could grill them and see just how many times they could be asked the "are you a failure"? question before their head explodes.

triggering bro can test their agility and movement capability with rapper drills.

Why settle on one?

One in all in, we can facetime BF Saints group for any important decisions and Syndicate the job. :thumbsu:

Why settle on one?

One in all in, we can facetime BF Saints group for any important decisions and Syndicate the job. :thumbsu:
LOL. We'd never make a decision

Yeah it would be like an Eastern European parliament with fists flying....and that would just be while deciding on the name of the group.

5343d5136da811be6772c34e-750-498.jpg