Wallace's comments about McMahon

Tambling_30

UNSUNG HERO
It intrigues me why we have a loud minority of supporters, who want to rubbish our players, particularly those who come from another AFL club . . . Ex-Bulldog Jordan McMahon showed last Sunday just how much he wants to play for the Richmond Football Club. He’s told me how surprised he has been at times this year to be ridiculed by a section of the Club’s supporter base . . . it’s something that hadn’t happened to him previously in his time in football. On the weekend, he came off a fortnight of hell, having been with Graham Polak at the scene of his accident. Jordan and his girlfriend stayed with Alyce, Graham’s girlfriend, that evening, and have played the role of comforters during the past fortnight, knowing that his good mate has a long battle ahead. From the opening bounce, Jordan attacked the game like it was his most important football moment, and by half-time he’d gathered 18 possessions and had set us up time and again, charging off half-back. By game’s end, he had the most disposals on the ground (33) and had played a huge part in our big win. Some of our supporters believe that handball-receives are nowhere near as important as winning first possession, but they are critical in the modern game. If you have not got blokes who can read the ball well enough and are prepared to run the lines, you will not have a successful team. Jordan has certainly added that to our game this year.

So people stop bagging McMahon!!!!!!!!:thumbsu:

It is not so much McMahon himself as the circumstances in which he came. i.e. trading away a relatively high pick for essentially an speedy outside mid, when inside mids and KPP demand the highest currency at the draft table. I don't really think any of the attacks have been personal like we hated him, just a result of the situation of the club and the previous drafting/trading blunders. A few scratchy performances early on didn't really help him, especially some of his clangers when he was specifically recruited for his ability to use the football.

FWIW I was never against McMahon being a Tiger, but like all Tigers I wanted to see him come here and live up to his side of the bargain, i.e. gather 20+ possessions a game and use them well. I think he has been pretty good this year but as a product of trading the expectations were high as he was supposedly 'ready made'. He is in a sense but I think we all forget it takes time to settle into a new environment and especially playing footy with a whole new bunch of blokes.

Hope ya haven't taken anything personally JM as if you continue to put in performances like you have the last few weeks, you'll get most ppl onside:thumbsu:

He is clearly in our 22. A class above quite a few of our boys, and will end up being a brilliant trade

If we had of used pick 19 and drafted a player, and he debuted and performed at the same level as Mcmahon is now he would have been a shoe in for the rising star award an everyone on here would be beat his drum as next big thing.
He is a smart footballer who has the skills. :thumbsu:

Valid points. Maybe it did take some time to settle in. Have you read the posts about JON? He cops it in regards to critisim for disposal with 9 games experience, why should Jordy a 100+ games be any different?
He had some real shockers earlier on in the year - I am not condoning bagging him, unfortunatly no player on the list is exempt from it, which is the same at any club.
Although his game on the weekend was excellent and I am sure that if he can string a couple of these together, he will definately earn the respect of the tiger masses :thumbsu:

I actually thought while watching it on the weekend, that when ever he got the ball - even when it was clear that we had won he just kept moving the ball forward, he did not revert to playing keepings off :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I thought I noticed a significant improvement in McMahon's defensive game against The Weagles.
That was for me perhaps more pleasing than his 30+ possessions.

Keep it up Jordy!

I was critical of the trade and critical of Sanchez when he had some stinkers earlier in the season. But I've always given credit where it's due and had him in my votes a number of times. And the last month or so I think he's been excellent. Being at the Carlton game it was obvious he was the only one prepared to run all day, and it is an important contribution. I agree he has added a more defensive aspect too. He is winning me over.

If we had of used pick 19 and drafted a player, and he debuted and performed at the same level as Mcmahon is now he would have been a shoe in for the rising star award an everyone on here would be beat his drum as next big thing.
He is a smart footballer who has the skills. :thumbsu:

precisely Nut, I've said that all along, bloody selwood would need to be a an absolute gem for this deal not to be a good one for RFC, and I mean he'd need to be a heap better than his twin Bros to be at Mcmahons standard. Will be interesting when Jordy sets eyes on the framed BF jumper in Pollys ward, prob have a good mind to rip the $%@# thing to shreds and p_iss on it :eek:

Well I have been one of JM biggest knockers and stand by my arguement that we don't need players of his ilk at our club especially whilst developing.
Yes he does get in the right position to recieve the football regularly, but he lacks the ability to win one on one contests regularly , hence his inability to be involved in a game which is in the balance or when things are going in the wrong direction.
I think it sends a poor message to our developing players, to recruit players who lack defensive skills especially given our clubs past history of persisting with poor defensive players longer than most clubs. ie Tivendale, Fiora, etc. etc.
Our clubs rise this season has correctly based upon the defensive side of the game and find is staggering that JM was recruited to the club yet the coaching panel makes a huge stand mid-season on the defensive side of the game and he appeared to ammuned to such strutiny.
In the first few rounds this season his opponent figured highly amongst the oppositions better players.
Gladly he is improving his defensive side.

precisely Nut, I've said that all along, bloody selwood would need to be a an absolute gem for this deal not to be a good one for RFC, and I mean he'd need to be a heap better than his twin Bros to be at Mcmahons standard. Will be interesting when Jordy sets eyes on the framed BF jumper in Pollys ward, prob have a good mind to rip the $%@# thing to shreds and p_iss on it :eek:
There are two sides to the benefit of recruiting an older player against a younger player I think whilst developing a list.
The older player is generally a better player over the first 2 seasons and therefore makes the side more competitive for the newer players to play amongst.
On the other side the younger player costs less and is generally better over 3-10 years.
When making these sorts of comparisons to many ifs and buts .
The one very important aspect, which in JM's case appears to be varied opininion, is there ability to show the younger players a great work ethic and be able to encourage and assist the younger players developement.

unsung Hero
it Intrigues Me Why We Have A Loud Minority Of Supporters, Who Want To Rubbish Our Players, Particularly Those Who Come From Another Afl Club . . . Ex-bulldog Jordan Mcmahon Showed Last Sunday Just How Much He Wants To Play For The Richmond Football Club. He’s Told Me How Surprised He Has Been At Times This Year To Be Ridiculed By A Section Of The Club’s Supporter Base . . . It’s Something That Hadn’t Happened To Him Previously In His Time In Football. On The Weekend, He Came Off A Fortnight Of Hell, Having Been With Graham Polak At The Scene Of His Accident. Jordan And His Girlfriend Stayed With Alyce, Graham’s Girlfriend, That Evening, And Have Played The Role Of Comforters During The Past Fortnight, Knowing That His Good Mate Has A Long Battle Ahead. From The Opening Bounce, Jordan Attacked The Game Like It Was His Most Important Football Moment, And By Half-time He’d Gathered 18 Possessions And Had Set Us Up Time And Again, Charging Off Half-back. By Game’s End, He Had The Most Disposals On The Ground (33) And Had Played A Huge Part In Our Big Win. Some Of Our Supporters Believe That Handball-receives Are Nowhere Near As Important As Winning First Possession, But They Are Critical In The Modern Game. If You Have Not Got Blokes Who Can Read The Ball Well Enough And Are Prepared To Run The Lines, You Will Not Have A Successful Team. Jordan Has Certainly Added That To Our Game This Year.

so People Stop Bagging Mcmahon!!!!!!!!:thumbsu:

Yeh mate.....we know....u spoke to him......great.

There are two sides to the benefit of recruiting an older player against a younger player I think whilst developing a list.
The older player is generally a better player over the first 2 seasons and therefore makes the side more competitive for the newer players to play amongst.
On the other side the younger player costs less and is generally better over 3-10 years.
When making these sorts of comparisons to many ifs and buts .
The one very important aspect, which in JM's case appears to be varied opininion, is there ability to show the younger players a great work ethic and be able to encourage and assist the younger players developement.

you make an assumption on the first point that all youngsters go on to develop into quality players..NOT TRUE...do some homework on how many No 19 picks are ultimately 200 game players...and on the second point JM should be a tremendous role model for those running players that need to bust a gut in running into space creating options and working hard to support clearing the ball out of defence I50..RT could do alot worse than model his game on JM and I reckon Lids would have learnt a bit on how JM goes about his business...You also fail to recognise that a successful side is made up of a blend of players ..The bulldogs dont have 6 scott wests in their team...dynamics is what its all about ..or alternately Not every %$%@#$% player in the side needs to be the same:eek:

JM (although I like 'Sanchez') won me over in the last game v the Dons when his counter attack off half back in the 3rd and 4th quarters was instrumental in steadying the ship. Has continued to show leadership since that game IMO. Time will tell whether he's as good as his predecessor (Leon Cameron), but I'm starting to warm to him. Has more guts than I previously thought.

I will never forgive Wallace for instigating the trade of our pick 19 for McMahon. He is a player we have an abundance of, he doesn't address one, I repeat, ONE list deficiency, he is playing in a position perfectly suited to develop younger players, over his career he has proven he has many weaknesses (defensive game, disposal under pressure, tackling, stepping up when the game is on the line etc) and finally he cost us Scott Selwood.

Sure he has played a good year and is probably in our top 10 for the B&F, but he will never help us to win a flag and long term this trade will bite us on the arse. This trade reeks of Terry trying to secure short term gains to keep his job.

scott selwood hasnt done much yet, i know hes young but he might not be that good

i like mcmahon and im glad we picked him up

why bag the coach and the club it wasnt just 1 persons decision so dont blame wallace

im sick of people always bagging the club and the players, if u dont like the way the club is then go for another team

Why bag the coach? Because he is hurting our long-term chance of success by trading our high picks. Of course Miller could have vetoed the decision so he should be held accountable as well.

As for Scott Selwood, he hasn't done a lot you say? Well he is still in high school and has been injured twice this year in the WAFL through concussion as a result of being knocked out! That kind of hardness is just what we need. Think Jake King, but with skills to boot.

Why bag the coach? Because he is hurting our long-term chance of success by trading our high picks. Of course Miller could have vetoed the decision so he should be held accountable as well.

As for Scott Selwood, he hasn't done a lot you say? Well he is still in high school and has been injured twice this year in the WAFL through concussion as a result of being knocked out! That kind of hardness is just what we need. Think Jake King, but with skills to boot.

stop with your crap, if he's anything like his bros apart from Joel then he'll be a long way short of the callibre we need , Troy and Adam are about as good as Chris Hyde. Before mcmahon we didnt have a skilled HBF that could carry the pill and deliver with precision I50. recruiting a 24yo player into a bottom side hardly stands in the way of development , it enhances it. Pull your head out of your backside and broaden your outlook

I will never forgive Wallace for instigating the trade of our pick 19 for McMahon. He is a player we have an abundance of, he doesn't address one, I repeat, ONE list deficiency, he is playing in a position perfectly suited to develop younger players, over his career he has proven he has many weaknesses (defensive game, disposal under pressure, tackling, stepping up when the game is on the line etc) and finally he cost us Scott Selwood.

Sure he has played a good year and is probably in our top 10 for the B&F, but he will never help us to win a flag and long term this trade will bite us on the arse. This trade reeks of Terry trying to secure short term gains to keep his job.

He is the hardest runner in our side bar none idiot, sets a great example to our young guys on what was the norm at a club like the bulldogs as opposed to us who dont have a single effin player who gut runs lines UNSELFISHLY like McMahon.

he is 24 years old, hes ready made, runs hard and fits into an age bracket that suits our needs, to say he wont help us win a flag is a ridiculous thing to say. He's a long term player who sets a good example on the park and is giving output from day 1.

what a stupid one-eyed feral view :rolleyes:

:thumbsu:I think McMahon has been pretty damn good all season - minus the odd shocker - but tell me the Tigers player, other than Richo and perhaps Moore (did I just say that), who hasn't put in a shocker at some stage.

Selwood could easily have been taken with the pick we took Rance with, but we were looking another way.

I clearly see why McMahon was targeted....we have zero payers in that age bracket worth the weight, hence why you are seeing the likes of yr Gregory Tivendale, Kayne Pettifer and Chris Hyde plying their trade with Coburg right now.

And I'm sure I read it elsewhere, no guarantee the Tigers would have taken Selwood anyway. I know we were very keen on Maric and Putt was a player they has earmarked as an earlier selection too.

stop with your crap, if he's anything like his bros apart from Joel then he'll be a long way short of the callibre we need , Troy and Adam are about as good as Chris Hyde. Before mcmahon we didnt have a skilled HBF that could carry the pill and deliver with precision I50. recruiting a 24yo player into a bottom side hardly stands in the way of development , it enhances it. Pull your head out of your backside and broaden your outlook
Scott Selwood is hard inside player that would have been a perfect fit to play on the small forwards that have been killing us all year. He is nothing like Chris Hyde.

Sorry but I don't rate McMahon skills. They are overrated. Put McMahon under pressure and his game falls to pieces. As for precision inside 50's what are you talking about? He averages less then 3 a game.

He is the hardest runner in our side bar none idiot, sets a great example to our young guys on what was the norm at a club like the bulldogs as opposed to us who dont have a single effin player who gut runs lines UNSELFISHLY like McMahon.

he is 24 years old, hes ready made, runs hard and fits into an age bracket that suits our needs, to say he wont help us win a flag is a ridiculous thing to say. He's a long term player who sets a good example on the park and is giving output from day 1.

what a stupid one-eyed feral view :rolleyes:
So he was worth trading pick 19 for then?

yep

his output is and will be every bit as much as you could hope from an average type pick 19. Obviously some turn into greats and some flop but generally speaking he's worth it.

BTW selwood wont be much more than his twin bros, not that good and not a patch on Joel who is by far and away the best of the lot.