brabs

What do you guys think of teams wearing white shorts, when white isn't in the team colours. I'll go and see us wearing white shorts this weekend, it doesn't look any good,
IMO our full royal wings and royal shorts is the best strip in the league.
A lot of teams do it, and don't understand why?? The last time we wore royal blue shorts was at the gf, in which the hawks wore white shorts??? They Should have worn brown shorts.

What do you guys think of teams wearing white shorts, when white isn't in the team colours. I'll go and see us wearing white shorts this weekend, it doesn't look any good,
A lot of teams do it, and don't understand why?? The last time we wore royal blue shorts was at the gf, in which the hawks wore white shorts??? They Should have worn brown shorts.
Aesthetics aside, it would help if a player is on the ground and wants to handball it to a team mate.

We were definitely the ones needing the brown shorts that day.

But we wear the navy shorts at home, where we win more. Bulldogs seems to throw to a teammate from the ground quite efficiently with blue shorts too
Yeh, but I'm talking contrasting shorts between sides, not especially what colour.

Got to wear white shorts away to stop the clash unfortunately. We could probably get away with yellow if we wanted. I know larrikin is a fan

#goldshorts

Even with our clash strip we have white shorts

#goldshorts

67342_Kylie_Minogue_Spinning_Around_03_122_1176lo.jpg

But we wear the navy shorts at home, where we win more. Bulldogs seems to throw to a teammate from the ground quite efficiently with blue shorts too

I liked this post purely for this point. I'm still pissed at how much the dogs throw the ball, right under the umpires nose, and just get away with it:mad:

As for the white shorts in the GF. We were the higher ranked side, so we got the choice of what to wear. We could've chosen to wear the tri panel, as we were the "home" team, but we chose full royal as royal is our tradidtional guernsey we wear outside of WA. So the Hawks were technically the away team, as far as shorts are concerned.

I agree though, I reckon we could almost get away with royal shorts for most away games, if the club ever wanted to push for it that hard.

Got to wear white shorts away to stop the clash unfortunately. We could probably get away with yellow if we wanted. I know larrikin is a fan
Fan, violent opponent. Interchangeable terms....

Every time someone mentions yellow shorts on this board I spew a little
Same as what I do when I watch your avatar, over & over & over:)
Not because I don't like it, just because it makes me want to spew. Disappointed...

Same as what I do when I watch your avatar, over & over & over:)
Not because I don't like it, just because it makes me want to spew. Disappointed...
There's still time for the ultimate Smitch sledge to get Jetts on board, don't lose hope just yet.

#standbylewis

I have no opinion about short colours.

Just saying.

In footy it is tradition (I think) to wear white shorts when you are the away team.

(I think) that traditionally it was the only difference in uniform between home and away games for all clubs.

Coloured shorts came in when games started being broadcast in colour - before that it was black shorts home, white shorts away

I'll probably be wrong but I think the Eagles (and bears) were the first to have more than one jumper design when they joined the VFL in 1987. Sydney might have done it before then but I don't think so

There's a plethora of match-ups where white shorts aren't required. And in one or two cases they make things worse, clash-wise.

Sydney started not wearing white shorts years ago, and their jumpers are white. I have NFI why/how they can get away with it... Isn't there a very long thread on the main board about it all? Can't remember the name of it though..

God I hate white shorts for our club. Teams that have white as part of their uniform, absolutely.

I like the EPL notion of playing kits and clashes. You have 2 - 3, and if any part clashes with the opposition's home kit (socks, shorts, shoes) you wear a different colour.

So for a team that wears royal, navy, and yellow, that's all we should be wearing away rather than incorporate a 4th colour that isn't part of any other uniform or logo for no reason (other than it was traditional in the VFL).