Kaan

I'm wondering where I should do my Year 10 Work Experiance?

I really want to do something involving Footy like help out at the EFC(unlikely?) But what would I do there?

Are you in year 10 now, then? I hear the waiting lists for work experience at footy clubs are really, really long. Maybe you should get in for work experience next year or something...

Nah I'm Year 9 atm. I'm just wondering what I should do for next year.

For my university degree, majoring in Sports Management I need to complete 250 hours of work experience.

I got the whole time of my degree to get it done in, at the moment i'm in my second year. Last year I sent in my CV and cover letter into the Brisbane Lions in mid November (when all my exams were over) and I got a work experience position on the spot, without an interview. I did it full time over late November until just before Christmas, I got about 122 hours done. This year I'll go back in November-December to complete the remainder of the hours. I worked in membership because that's where they required work experience people the most with packing membership packages and sending letters out. I think it was easy for me to get a position as it's the only AFL club in Brisbane, I am a Lions member, I'm at Uni and not school and they required people in membership.

I don't think you would get a position for work experience during the school year as things inside the office are private and 90% of work for the season is done in the off season. But you can always try. If you got any questions, feel free to PM me. All the best and good luck with the work experience (where ever it maybe) and in your future studies.

Whoa 250 hours? In year 10 we only do it last 2 weeks of the 2nd term..

Yer, 250 hours is heaps, but it looks great on your CV when completed.

I know it's a bit early to decide what you wish to do when you leave school, but if you have a fair idea already why don't you do something relating to that field?

Here is a small list of things that you could complete your work experience at:

A sports club, if you can't do any AFL ones, try the Melbourne Storm (NRL) or the Melbourne Victory (it would be their off season and could require your help)
A real estate agent (give you business skills)
A medical practice or dentist (help with filling, appointments, help to get equipment ready inbetween appointments)
Help out at your old primary school in the office or library
Any small businesses around your area
A Vet surgery perhaps?
A small retail outlet

You could see the guidance officer at your school and ask for help too, if required. Or talk to your family and family friends and see if where they work, if they need help.

Keep in mind that you may have to work 9am-5pm each day for those two weeks. You may need public transport so make sure a bus, train or tram are available in the mornings and afternoons for each of the days.

Just a bit of a heads up... Probably best that you don't do work experience with an electrician (and probably a couple of other trades). We have a fair few come through and although we're flat out busy, there's not really that much for them to do. If it's just myself and one of them working together I go out of my way to find something for them, but if the boss is around he usually just makes them watch and clean up mess.

In saying that (not to do it with tradies), I done mine at a bakery and with a grounds keeper at a hospital and they were pretty good.

We had to do 80 hours for our Pre-vo Sparky course. But I spose that is abit different.

Work experience in WA has been replaced with community service in WA and i thought it was the same in all other states

Something to do with the criminal element in Perth one would think

Having done work experience at Essendon, a lot of the time your doing odd jobs. I remember i was helping with sending out packs for the upcoming moskito fleet clinic.

Was really good fun. You'd want to get in early though, i remember that there was a very high demand for it so i was very lucky to get it.

Go for a VFL club, you'll get a much better idea of the issues across the board. At an AFL club, there's a big chance that you'll be locked in a room entering stats into a computer for a week.

Ended up doing mine at:

* - A fairly prominent AFL player agent. Bored the shit out of me as it was mostly attending to his law business on the side. Dandenong is scary shit.

* - The local federal MP. Really enjoyed it, and got a lot out of it.

* - A local wrestling promotion. Yeah............

i did work experience at the Adelaide Oval with the SACA membership team and did sweet **** all because they have a 15 year waiting list – about 5 now. I spent most of my time watching a shield game between SA and Tasmania. When i was given a task to do, it involved sorting mail and answering the phone and most of those were callers asking what time the game started.

Work experience in high school was a waste of time, most employers won’t let you do jack shit and if they give you any tasks they are crap because you’re not allowed to show any initiative.