I would congratulate him and ask him to move back to my club as soon as possible.
). This would still mean that I would want Richmond to win the Premiership, Carlton to get no wins for the 3rd season in a row and the boy to win the Brownlow in spite of all this.I have a 9 year-old, footy-crazy boy, who the doctors predict will be 201cm when he finishes growing. His not clumsy like big kids can be (already takes contested pack marks), and his the 2nd quickest kid in his year-level over 400m. No doubt this is a proud parent's crazy bias, but I reckon if he decides he really wants to do it, and puts in the work, he'll play elite sport. I know it makes me a conceited bastard, but I have actually put a bit of thought into this question already.
For me, I'll just be stoked if he chooses footy. (His a pretty fair basketballer and long jumper/high jumper too, for a 9 y.o.) No matter what team, I'll support him whole-heartedly.
But Richmond is part of who I am. Swapping to another team would be like trying to grow a third testicle. Just not biologically possible.
I have a 9 year-old, footy-crazy boy, who the doctors predict will be 201cm when he finishes growing. His not clumsy like big kids can be (already takes contested pack marks), and his the 2nd quickest kid in his year-level over 400m. No doubt this is a proud parent's crazy bias, but I reckon if he decides he really wants to do it, and puts in the work, he'll play elite sport. I know it makes me a conceited bastard, but I have actually put a bit of thought into this question already.
For me, I'll just be stoked if he chooses footy. (His a pretty fair basketballer and long jumper/high jumper too, for a 9 y.o.) No matter what team, I'll support him whole-heartedly.
But Richmond is part of who I am. Swapping to another team would be like trying to grow a third testicle. Just not biologically possible.
.......Lots of truth & honesty...
Great thread. I have discussed this conundrum with many people over the years.
My brother-in-law was rookie-listed at Brisbane, but never played a senior game. He still barracks for Norf (idiot). I asked him about it and he said that he obviously would always support Brisbane against anyone except Norf, but doesn't follow them closely. Makes sense to me all up.
My family and I also grew up going to the footy with a former player and his family, who played at Richmond in the 70s. His son was overlooked by Richmond, but picked up in the second round. Both parents then switched teams and were 100% supporters of the new club, attending every game their son played in. He then moved on to an interstate club , and I believe they switched to supporting that team, but eased off on attending every single game, but still went to many. I asked him about his allegiance to Richmond and whether or not he still supported them and he replied that you can't have 2 teams, so he was 100% behind the new team.
I asked my best mate, a fantaical (seriously freakishly fanatical like nobody I've ever seen before) cats man and he said that there's no way he would ever change teams, even if he had 5 sons playing in premierships at another club.
I always thought I'd switch to the club my son played at but continue to follow Richmond, but I selected unsure. Until I have a son I won't really know, and it's one of those things where I can change my mind about it 5 times during a conversation.