Rent / Mortgage
Other loans
Fuel
Food
Electricity / Gas
Random stuff that adds up
Non essentials
Savings?

Just trying to assess my current situation. Should probably also state your martial status and if you have kids.

For myself

Single no kids
Rent $200
Fuel $30
Food $100
Bills $100 (Gas/Electricity/Insurances)
Random stuff $30

Total $460 so say $500 to be safe.

Car loan $50

Other monthly expenses (equivalent weekly amount) $90

Groceries $40

Spending money (beer, transport, other fun) $250

Single with no kids, and at present slogging it out at home due to inability to get full time work at present. When away from home rent is typically $180 to $200 inclusive of electricity and water bills. I have lived on planned budgets for the last two years due to the potential of getting in financial strife.

Having survived without one for 28 years I actually worked out a budget a while back. Have since lost it, but broke it down into weekly, monthly and annual fixed/semi-fixed (ie power, water) expenses plus an estimate for variable expenses then annualised them all to work out a weekly.monthly average. Was something like $600/week from memory. When you take into consideration having a mortgage, home and car insurance, council rates, water rates, car rego, health insurance etc. plus living expenses it adds up pretty quickly.

• Banned
Crap I forgot internet.

My "live off a week" budget rises and falls with salary, in the past 3 years I've seen huge discrepancy in income (based mainly on a career break) and found it quite easy to enjoy life off a little and very easy to ramp up the expenditure.

However I have no dependents, debt or a clothes/shiny new things addiction.

My "live off a week" budget rises and falls with salary, in the past 3 years I've seen huge discrepancy in income (based mainly on a career break) and found it quite easy to enjoy life off a little and very easy to ramp up the expenditure.

However I have no dependents, debt or a clothes/shiny new things addiction.

Brilliant......no debt!

This is the secret to life

Very little. I live in a sharehouse, take my lunch to work, rarely buy new clothes and never buy expensive goods. Saving for a house deposit for my own slice of the outer 'burbs.

Of course, [USER]bunsen burner[/USER] will still assume I'm out there blowing all my cash on cocaine and hookers, just 'coz I'm Gen Y you know.

Why would it be worth it living close to the city when you dont have any money to do anything there anyway?

I'm out the house every second night, going to the footy once to thrice a weekend, and have a big night every week. Buy the clothes I like, eat out twice or three times a week, and still manage to break even (the scholarship money generally helps out as well). I don't work except for a few hours at a bar every second week, and could work two days a week if I could be bothered.

I'm doing alright, mate, you can concentrate on yourself.

I'm out the house every second night, going to the footy once to thrice a weekend, and have a big night every week. Buy the clothes I like, eat out twice or three times a week, and still manage to break even (the scholarship money generally helps out as well). I don't work except for a few hours at a bar every second week, and could work two days a week if I could be bothered.

I'm doing alright, mate, you can concentrate on yourself.
Ahh, I see. My taxes are paying for your goon and hipster fashion choices.

Nice to know.

Ahh, I see. My taxes are paying for your goon and hipster fashion choices.

Nice to know.

Would you rather an uneducated Australia where people can't study because they can't afford to live? You are an idiot and that reasoning is ludicrous.

Bit of jealousy coming through your posts as well. Why would you care what I do?

Would you rather an uneducated Australia where people can't study because they can't afford to live? You are an idiot and that reasoning is ludicrous.

Bit of jealousy coming through your posts as well. Why would you care what I do?
You were just gloating about how you basically rorting the government to live in inner city Melbourne while getting shitfaced regularly and buying the food and clothes you like?? You dont need any of that to educate yourself.

Try wearing Kmart clothes and living in a cheaper sharehouse out in the actual suburbs. Not jealous at all (I make a very good wage), just a little pissed off I work hard to subsidise slackers like you.

And FWIW, I commuted two hours each way to get to uni, five days a week, for five years. And anything I wanted above the basics were bought with money I earnt.

[USER]bunsen burner[/USER] - this is the lazy, entitled, whiny Gen Y tool you should be directing your angst towards.

You were just gloating about how you basically rorting the government to live in inner city Melbourne while getting shitfaced regularly and buying the food and clothes you like?? You dont need any of that to educate yourself.

Try wearing Kmart clothes and living in a cheaper sharehouse out in the actual suburbs. Not jealous at all (I make a very good wage), just a little pissed off I work hard to subsidise slackers like you.

And FWIW, I commuted two hours each way to get to uni, five days a week, for five years. And anything I wanted above the basics were bought with money I earnt.

[USER]bunsen burner[/USER] - this is the lazy, entitled, whiny Gen Y tool you should be directing your angst towards.

Why shouldn't I get what I can? How am I "rorting" the government when everything I get is regular government help: youth allowance, rent assistance, relocation scholarships. That's just taking what can be taken, and that's why the money is there.

For what it's worth, the extremely cheap rent I pay in inner city Melbourne is cheaper than what my mate was offering in the Basin... add to that the expensive commutes, and it becomes more expensive and puts more strain on the government. My rent assistance is lower because of that. So am I somehow collapsing and conniving the system still?

As for the "I work hard you don't" argument, how old are you? Kids who dropped out of school to do apprenticeships harped on about that wank when they were 17. This is how our government works. It's an endearing part of Australia is that. Do you know how many people wouldn't go to uni if it wasn't made easy? Do you know how much that dumbs down an already dumb country?

This is the reality of a relatively socialist state.

But anyway, just about to head off to uni after doing nothing all day but online shopping (thanks for that!). Gotta submit a rent allowance form. Thanks again. And might grab a curry instead of having toasted sandwiches tonight. Might have a beer or two if anyone's out seeing as my class finishes late. Thanks!

Why shouldn't I get what I can? How am I "rorting" the government when everything I get is regular government help: youth allowance, rent assistance, relocation scholarships. That's just taking what can be taken, and that's why the money is there.

For what it's worth, the extremely cheap rent I pay in inner city Melbourne is cheaper than what my mate was offering in the Basin... add to that the expensive commutes, and it becomes more expensive and puts more strain on the government. My rent assistance is lower because of that. So am I somehow collapsing and conniving the system still?

As for the "I work hard you don't" argument, how old are you? Kids who dropped out of school to do apprenticeships harped on about that wank when they were 17. This is how our government works. It's an endearing part of Australia is that. Do you know how many people wouldn't go to uni if it wasn't made easy? Do you know how much that dumbs down an already dumb country?

This is the reality of a relatively socialist state.

But anyway, just about to head off to uni after doing nothing all day but online shopping (thanks for that!). Gotta submit a rent allowance form. Thanks again. And might grab a curry instead of having toasted sandwiches tonight. Might have a beer or two if anyone's out seeing as my class finishes late. Thanks!
Yup, exactly the kind of response I expected. As Maggie used to say, eventually socialism runs out of other people's money to spend. Rorting the system is where you obtain something that you are not entitled to. Oh but wait! Of course you are entitled to your online shopping, curries and beers! Those are basics these days!

Haha expensive commute, that's just hilarious. Any data to back up that assertion?

And of course we want the coasters and the slackers to be the educated class! Thats the whole point! * going to uni to get a job at the end of it! That's not the point, clearly the point is to go to uni so you can be a whiny little tosspot lecturing others on internet forums. Keep delaying the real world mate - once Abbott gets in you can piss that idea down the drain.

How old am I? Let just say I was at uni a matter of a couple of years ago. Still in my mid twenties.

Yup, exactly the kind of response I expected. As Maggie used to say, eventually socialism runs out of other people's money to spend. Rorting the system is where you obtain something that you are not entitled to. Oh but wait! Of course you are entitled to your online shopping, curries and beers! Those are basics these days!

Haha expensive commute, that's just hilarious. Any data to back up that assertion?

And of course we want the coasters and the slackers to be the educated class! Thats the whole point! **** going to uni to get a job at the end of it! That's not the point, clearly the point is to go to uni so you can be a whiny little tosspot lecturing others on internet forums. Keep delaying the real world mate - once Abbott gets in you can piss that idea down the drain.

How old am I? Let just say I was at uni a matter of a couple of years ago. Still in my mid twenties.

So much vent up anger and frustration yet I'm the one with an axe to grind? You had a go at me for living in Fitzroy. You're the one with an axe to grind. Expensive commute? $15ish a day to go to and from uni. That's $45 as opposed to the nothing I pay to walk to uni. The fact you think all in the educated class are somehow all highly, self-motivated is absolute wank.

The very fact you like Margaret Thatcher and you're in your 20s is scary enough. Really scary. Old "Maggie" the evil campaigner.

You are a flog of the highest order and don't forget you are the one who attacked me. Enjoy your day at work getting reamed by a boss you hate.

I love watching someone vacillate between justifying their mooching and gloating about it. I know, its scary to meet someone in their twenties with an actual work ethic who is clever enough not to be brainwashed by socialist propaganda.

Just imagine what is going to happen when the Boomers and Xers (who might be greedy but are far from lazy) retire and drop off and you have no taxpayers to mooch off. That will be ******* hilarious.

The insinuation isn't that you are receiving government funds that you do not meet the criteria for, but that said funds would be better used elsewhere.

As taxing as whatever Mickey Mouse degree it is you are doing must be, you are able to work - and choose not to. Obviously being a self-absorbed flog works against someone wanting to hire you, but lucky for you standards out there are pretty low. $240 is about a day and a half working at supermarket. Hardly a massive imposition, and you've already told us how much free time you have. Hell, you could even work in a hipster café or bar that other self absorbed flogs go to.

Your argument is (predictably) full of holes. The 'dumb society' thing is a myth. We pump out more uni graduates than ever before and society gets dumber each year. Without government funding you could also still go to uni. You'd have to work maybe a whole day or two a week to do it, but having your gravy train cut off would not make it impossible for you to attend uni. Harder maybe (certainly in your view), but not impossible. Besides,you've demonstrated on BigFooty countless times you know * all about most things, so I don't think a uni degree is going to help you in that regard anyway.

Interested to see your breakdown of expenses if you really do live off $240 a week,

I assume you don't have a car, insurance, bills etc? :confused:

I live off about $700-$800 a week once everything is taken into account (I.e bills, mortgage, food, spending money etc). Covers my partner 2 kids and I easily. Excess flows onto the following weeks and builds up to enough to pay for any unexpected costs that may arise (car repairs, birthdays etc.)

Leaves us about $50-$ 100 a week to put into savings. (Plus a bit more every fortnight when FTB comes).

So basically getting by comfortably without moving forward much. Should improve when my partner goes back to work.

How the f*** do people spend less than $100 a week on groceries? Share me your secrets!

I eat out breakfast lunch and dinner meaning I only go to a grocer once or twice a year

4814014643_b2e1da67c5_z.jpg

The insinuation isn't that you are receiving government funds that you do not meet the criteria for, but that said funds would be better used elsewhere.

As taxing as whatever Mickey Mouse degree it is you are doing must be, you are able to work - and choose not to. Obviously being a self-absorbed flog works against someone wanting to hire you, but lucky for you standards out there are pretty low. $240 is about a day and a half working at supermarket. Hardly a massive imposition, and you've already told us how much free time you have. Hell, you could even work in a hipster café or bar that other self absorbed flogs go to.

Your argument is (predictably) full of holes. The 'dumb society' thing is a myth. We pump out more uni graduates than ever before and society gets dumber each year. Without government funding you could also still go to uni. You'd have to work maybe a whole day or two a week to do it, but having your gravy train cut off would not make it impossible for you to attend uni. Harder maybe (certainly in your view), but not impossible. Besides,you've demonstrated on BigFooty countless times you know **** all about most things, so I don't think a uni degree is going to help you in that regard anyway.

I don't have an issue having tax $ going to uni students (or TAFE students) as they should be focused on studying whilst they are studying not working.

I got through uni the first time whilst in the military and the second degree, I received austudy ($170?/week) and worked weekends and school holidays for the ADF.

I found working more than 2 days a week effected my studies thus cut back my work.

What I would prefer is that Austudy, like HECS, is repaid out of earnings in the future.