maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Right from his first win in 2001 at Phillip Island on worn out tyres and with Skaife on his rear bumber, to his first Round win at Hidden Valley in the same year, Ambrose has shown he is a champion driver.

This w/end will be his last in a V8 Supercars, as he aims to make a name in Nascar in America, I think it is appropiate that a champion such as Ambrose is recognised.

I think before his first Championship in 2003 he really showed that he had what it takes when he dominated the last round in the 'long in the tooth' AU Falcon at Sandown winning all three races and making a few people stand up and take notice, from there he dominated the next two season's and won back to back Championships, and rightfully returned the Ford name to the top of the tree once more, his pure determindation and commitment to become No 1 was his motivation.

Marcos personally I wish you the best of luck in the USA, and thank you for the success you have had with SBR :thumbsu:

Absolutely, well done marcos and all the best for the future. You've brought the blue oval name back from the brink and have made all us ford fans very proud in the process. All the best in the US mate and who knows, you might leave as a 3 time champ

Well done marcus , all the Ford fans Aus wide owe you a big thank you !!
it was especially heartening to see another Lonny boy make it in the big time ...good luck with your future endeavours ..and if you ever get homesick i'm sure there will be a drive waiting for you here in Aus .

He da man!!!

Thanx for taking us back to the top of the tree. Hoping your replacement is even half as good.

Go and kick some yankee ass!!! :D

Yeah good luck in the future Marcos, and thanks for the joy you have brought Ford fans over the last few years. hopefully you will go to america get sucess as quick as you did in the V8's and come back and reclaim your title.

Ljp86 said:
He's a ********er.
******** off idiot, youre probably a fan of Murphy and Skaife they are the real w@nkers

So after all the rehetric, "best Touring Car championship in the world, etc blah, blah" we find out the truth , we are "The settle for" comp.The one you drive in when you get sick of chasing the big time OS. Arguably "the best driver in the v8's" would rather go off and race 3rd teir utes in a circle, thats a big razzbery out to us, I think.
Looking for a challenge?Did it all come just too easy for Marcus? Maybe he should have started drive utes here and worked his way up to the best Ford team, maybe then we'd have been deemed worthy of his talents.
Ambrose is probably the best Ford only driver we have ever had, talent? Heeps,no question. But for a man who didnt mind putting his head on the Blue Oval adds and taking the dollars for it, he really didnt enjoy mixing with his public.It was a chore, a hassle, something that he new he had to do and did it grudgingly. Lowndes seems to actually lap it up, real or not, he gives his fans a warm feeling and this to me make him the superior representative for Blue side.
Has Ambrose given himself a time frame for success?Id say it might take him quite some time to crack the big time and I just wonder if it all go's south and he get sick "rubbing is racing" in pickup bigtime, might he just be back here sooner than we think. Im sure if that come about , we will all be reassured that we really are the "best Touring Car championship in the world" and he is just super happy to be back!

Ohh yeah , good luck Marcus

on behalf of ford, best of luck. you and stone brothers racing have got ford back in the game the last few years. i hope lowdens and bright can step up with rusty and carry ford onto more success

Ljp86 said:
He's a ********er.
Your a ********er
onetwoforsbr_med.jpg

Turbocat said:
So after all the rehetric, "best Touring Car championship in the world, etc blah, blah" we find out the truth , we are "The settle for" comp.The one you drive in when you get sick of chasing the big time OS. Arguably "the best driver in the v8's" would rather go off and race 3rd teir utes in a circle, thats a big razzbery out to us, I think.
Looking for a challenge?Did it all come just too easy for Marcus? Maybe he should have started drive utes here and worked his way up to the best Ford team, maybe then we'd have been deemed worthy of his talents.
Ambrose is probably the best Ford only driver we have ever had, talent? Heeps,no question. But for a man who didnt mind putting his head on the Blue Oval adds and taking the dollars for it, he really didnt enjoy mixing with his public.It was a chore, a hassle, something that he new he had to do and did it grudgingly. Lowndes seems to actually lap it up, real or not, he gives his fans a warm feeling and this to me make him the superior representative for Blue side.
Has Ambrose given himself a time frame for success?Id say it might take him quite some time to crack the big time and I just wonder if it all go's south and he get sick "rubbing is racing" in pickup bigtime, might he just be back here sooner than we think. Im sure if that come about , we will all be reassured that we really are the "best Touring Car championship in the world" and he is just super happy to be back!

You make a couple of good points! I dont know about us being a "settle for" competition. Obviously there are higher levels of Motorsport out there, but in terms of Touring Cars we are definitely #1!

The point I wholeheartedly agree with you, is about Amrbose and his fans. To me, and I'm a Skaife fan so I know all about arrogrant drivers, he became VERY arrogant when he won his first championship. Beforehand we OK, nothing special about the way he dealt with fans, but was OK. Afterwards, he changed. Even the rest of my family who are all diehard Marcos fans commented that he had "become arrogant".

When dealing with fans, no one is better than Craig Lowndes and that is why I still like Lowndesy even after his defection!

As for Marcos...let the Yanks have him!

Turbocat said:

I as a diehard supporter of Ambrose have never ever had any issues with him one on one, the guy is great with his supporters. I dont suppose you seen him on the podium during the presentation at Phillip Island quite clearly enjoying the crowd envolvement.

maccas_no1 said:
I as a diehard supporter of Ambrose have never ever had any issues with him one on one, the guy is great with his supporters. I dont suppose you seen him on the podium during the presentation at Phillip Island quite clearly enjoying the crowd envolvement.

Macca , I saw the broadcast, saw the smile, saw him conducting the cheer. Im sure he quite like that part of it. What Im talking about is away from the track. He has said it himself that hes not in love with PR part of the job, well if he thinks it will be easier over in "good ol boy" country then he is delusional. The money over the is bigger along with the interest and crowds.Its the big time and id say it if he achieves anything , being an Aussie will be only more of a story.
Im I disapointed , yes, because he whips the General and without him we will be very thin next year.Being a footy (AFL) follower ive never had the worry of a the best player in your side going to another comp like in Soccer or Basketball. I now now how it feels and its P'ed off.

Turbocat said:
Macca , I saw the broadcast, saw the smile, saw him conducting the cheer. Im sure he quite like that part of it. What Im talking about is away from the track. He has said it himself that hes not in love with PR part of the job, well if he thinks it will be easier over in "good ol boy" country then he is delusional. The money over the is bigger along with the interest and crowds.Its the big time and id say it if he achieves anything , being an Aussie will be only more of a story.
Im I disapointed , yes, because he whips the General and without him we will be very thin next year.Being a footy (AFL) follower ive never had the worry of a the best player in your side going to another comp like in Soccer or Basketball. I now now how it feels and its P'ed off.
I've met the man personally and he was very down to earth and relaxed ..we even shared a joke at HRT expense .. if you want arrogant big nosed tosser ...see Skaife

Blues_Man said:
I've met the man personally and he was very down to earth and relaxed ..we even shared a joke at HRT expense .. if you want arrogant big nosed tosser ...see Skaife

Ive met him and several other's. Ambrose was not a man who I would call relaxed , about as relaxed as sunburnt skin

I met him at the airport and he was great with the kids and talked to them for about 20 mins while we were waiting for the plain. He seemed very nice. But as for his dad, he is a total ********wit