List Mgmt. 2024 List Management 📃

Good/great players have always held Perryman in high regard, very under rated, but not a need as such. Great mate of Chugga, similar origins, but MK reckon Perryman embraced Sydney life.

Miller, I am still cursing that we drafted Boekhorst and the hyphen in front of him. Kid was small, but a star and a leader when we had few. Was the pick in our draft range for mine and has been proven over time.

Florent is an excellent role player who has found his spot off half back. Let’s not forget he has been gifted perhaps the easiest role on the park after being unable to consolidate a half forward or wing spot. Would not get a game in our current 22. Not worth the premium it would take to pull him out. Pretty sure his Mum relocated to Sydney with a bit of publicity around his family situation.

Miller would have been considered a very safe pick. High floor low ceiling type of player. Did everything pretty well but no real weapons. Definition of Vanilla.

It's amazing what he's become but also another example of recruiters getting seduced by the sexier types and overlooking the gun natural footballer.

Big Dog, Lions gun headline list of 2024 free agents

Got to lock in Jack Martin.

Probably only interested in Ben Ainsworth from the other clubs. Plenty of good players who would cost far too much.

Do we?

Martin will be 29 at the end of the season amd has played 11, 11 and 13 games over the past 3 years (35 out of 71 possible). In that time he has reached 3 goals on 3 occasions, has never had 20 touches, and has 12 games with less than 15 disposals and zero goals.

Basically, he is injured half the time, and a third of the rest he has almost zero impact.

If that continues this year, i would rather just move on and look to replace him with someone who can fill the role and stay on the field.

Do we?

Martin will be 29 at the end of the season amd has played 11, 11 and 13 games over the past 3 years (35 out of 71 possible). In that time he has reached 3 goals on 3 occasions, has never had 20 touches, and has 12 games with less than 15 disposals and zero goals.

Basically, he is injured half the time, and a third of the rest he has almost zero impact.

If that continues this year, i would rather just move on and look to replace him with someone who can fill the role and stay on the field.
Martin's injury history has been frustrating. But he FINALLY seems to be getting his body right. He was instrumental in our surge up the ladder in the second half last year. Stats will never show how much Martins impact is for us. His forward pressure was elite (and illegal a few times), but loved the desperation and commitment he showed. Absolutely vital for us in 24 IMO

Do we?

Martin was a multiple goal kicker in both finals he played. 4 tackles and 7 contested possesions against brisbane. The type of hard nut that wins you a final.

Martin's injury history has been frustrating. But he FINALLY seems to be getting his body right. He was instrumental in our surge up the ladder in the second half last year. Stats will never show how much Martins impact is for us. His forward pressure was elite (and illegal a few times), but loved the desperation and commitment he showed. Absolutely vital for us in 24 IMO
And beyond, hopefully. Don’t think it’ll be a massive contract unless some teams over West want to pony up to entice a departure (& JM/family wish to move again).
Injury run will also be pivotal.
A flag would be good too…

Martin was a multiple goal kicker in both finals he played. 4 tackles and 7 contested possesions against brisbane. The type of hard nut that wins you a final.

Doesn't his finals sum up the best and worst of Martin though? He was great against Sydney in really tough conditions, then missed the Melbourne game. In the PF he blitzed the first quarter (5 touches and a goal), went completely missing (1 disposal in the second and third quarters combined), and popped up to kick a consolation goal in the last 5 minutes when the game was out of reach.

There's probably a catch 22 with him anyway that means he ends up staying. If he has yet another injury affected year and/or can't stay in good form, then there's probably no market for him to leave. If he stays injury free and plays to his potential then we probably want to keep him for another few years.

So it seems doubtful that we let him go anyway. I'd just really wish he stays on the field and we finally get to see the best of him in the next year or two.

List team should be in the ear of Tyson Stengle, Ainsworth and Hayward. Stengle the best fit imo and is unrestricted + searching for a payday after his troubles early in his career.

Rest of our resources on a young KPD and picking up both Campo boys in the draft

List team should be in the ear of Tyson Stengle, Ainsworth and Hayward. Stengle the best fit imo and is unrestricted + searching for a payday after his troubles early in his career.

Rest of our resources on a young KPD and picking up both Campo boys in the draft

Hope Stengle holds out till the end of the year and Cats have another season of missing finals

Although if he is looking for a big pay day rather than playing finals, there will be plenty of suitors

Hope Stengle holds out till the end of tge year and Cats have another season of missing finals

Although if he is looking for a big pay day rather than playing finals, there will be plenty of suitors
Think we're the best fit for him in terms of lists anyway once Hawkins retires. Two elite KPFs that bring the ball to ground consistently for a specialist crumber is a dream come true. It's no surprise that when the Hawk was down this season Stengles goals dried up a bit too.

Can see someone like Freo or North throwing a truckload of cash at him but with Betts being involved as a mentor still I reckon we'd be a red hot chance.

As you said though I reckon he waits til the bye to see how the Cats are travelling before making any decisions

Think we're the best fit for him in terms of lists anyway once Hawkins retires. Two elite KPFs that bring the ball to ground consistently for a specialist crumber is a dream come true. It's no surprise that when the Hawk was down this season Stengles goals dried up a bit too.

Can see someone like Freo or North throwing a truckload of cash at him but with Betts being involved as a mentor still I reckon we'd be a red hot chance.

As you said though I reckon he waits til the bye to see how the Cats are travelling before making any decisions

Stengle will be an UFA too, having been delisted previously. Makes him even more appealing and ups his contract value.

Stengle is a very talented and dangerous small forward, just don’t see him leaving, WITG…

Hayward also talented, on his day can be a match breaker but is a little inconsistent, i guess that comes with the forward role territory, is a multiple position player can’t see him going anywhere else also…

Ainsworth currently being trialled across half back by Hardwick, a player with talent although very inconsistent, one i don’t think we need to chase…

KPD in our price range, preferably young looking for an opportunity on the rise, game time or home would be good, or age wise looking for an opportunity to be a key fit for a big club atm contender…

Stengle is a very talented and dangerous small forward, just don’t see him leaving…

Hayward also talented, on his day can be a match breaker but is a little inconsistent, i guess that comes with the forward role territory, is a multiple position player can’t see him going anywhere else also…

Ainsworth currently being trialled across half back by Hardwick, a player with talent although very inconsistent, one i don’t think we need to chase…

KPD in our price range, preferably young looking for an opportunity on the rise, opportunity or home would be good, or age wise looking for an opportunity to be a key fit for a big club atm contender…
I think Stengle is a very serious chance of leaving. He repaid Geelongs faith with a premiership so there'd be no bad blood and after missing so much footy he's missed out on cashing in on his career to date. His next contract is likely the biggest he'll ever get before he starts slowing down.

Cats are looking like old age has finally got to them so will be going through a refresh/rebuild phase. Perfect time to for him to look elsewhere and we tick many boxes for a player like him I think.

I think Stengle is a very serious chance of leaving. He repaid Geelongs faith with a premiership so there'd be no bad blood and after missing so much footy he's missed out on cashing in on his career to date. His next contract is likely the biggest he'll ever get before he starts slowing down.

Cats are looking like old age has finally got to them so will be going through a refresh/rebuild phase. Perfect time to for him to look elsewhere and we tick many boxes for a player like him I think.
Cats gave him his second chance, there’s certainly a group of aging players retiring or being moved on within the next couple of years…
If he feels that the club has the next wave of depth coming through that might have them not dropping off too long and capable of rising up to contend finals, it’s possible he might put his faith in the club’s future while being rewarded with a decent term contract if he preforms this year…
Then again, he may be swayed by an offer too good to refuse…

If we have that kind of cap space and need for a small I'm going all in on Liam Baker. Even if it requires a big trade. Brilliant player who is seemingly gettable at the end of the year.

My thoughts from that list as well. A couple of quality players that no team would knock back if practical.

Logically for me Ainsworth is the most palatable of the list. Won’t be cheap, but nit top bracket. Medium forward who can go through the middle. Improving year by year, and probably held back a bit by Dew’s role allocation. Will not surprise me if he has a stellar year at the Suns. A but surprising he is not yet re-signed. Their cap might just be a bit restrictive.

Ainsworth absolutely was a Carlton supporter growing up. Made no secret of it leading up to the draft.

I have plenty of faith in our young forwards with Durds and Motlop still developing, Elijah added, Moir and Monahan to come. The older boys have plenty of claims too, but I am a bit led by the decision to sign Fantasia, telling me that Vossy wants an upgrade of our workaholic smalls.

Ainsworth has class, skills and that oft used word mongrel. Would be great if we could fit him in, but it would mean the departure of some heart and soul types (Owies and Fog)

Has played a bit of HB last few years and looked really good

With Jack Martin getting older and still some unproven, injury prone guys we‘re looking at for the half foward spot I’d love it if we make a play for Will Hayward. Very dangerous when on song & reckon he’d be dynamite playing 3rd fiddle to Charlie & H.

He‘s a free agent end of this year.