Analysis Adelaide’s Game Plan (or lack thereof)

He took the game on. It was such a rare moment. Bet he got a bake for that though.
Ned did the right thing there several times and I was hoping he might be the difference but in typical Ned fashion he turned the ball over multiple times which nullified all the good that he was doing.

Looking forward, Nicks would want to tick every box and make every post a winner this week from the coaches box after getting his pants pulled down last Friday night and show the football world and particularly crows fans the last 2 weeks are the exception and not the norm. Things could turn ugly from the terraces if the coaching malaise goes on.

We are playing the worst brand of football I can remember from any team in a long time.

It's not even the usual bottom 4 slop of bad players struggling.

It's deliberate awful slow s**t unskilled unclear trash and it's ON PURPOSE

Looking forward, Nicks would want to tick every box and make every post a winner this week from the coaches box after getting his pants pulled down last Friday night and show the football world and particularly crows fans the last 2 weeks are the exception and not the norm. Things could turn ugly from the terraces if the coaching malaise goes on.
How’d he go

I think the main problem is they have believed that they needed to improve on their defence, and in doing so they have killed their asset, which was attack. The players are not having fun, and losing. Bad coaching. The game against Geelong, we would have been better off kicking scrubbers into the forward line, but tonight, it would not have mattered.

Have decided to focus almost entirely on trying to cover our undermanned defence and in doing so we have negated all of the weapons that made us so offensively dangerous. But also still suck defensively.
And in the midfield.

Just go back to scoring 120 points a game and be happy if the opposition score 100 as long as we score more.

It feels like we are trying to win by defending in a team that has no defenders

The crows play loser football. Avoid the corridor, kick it down the boundary line and hope for the best. It never works!

At the game, the game plan was clear.

Kick the ball long out of defence and try and create a contest on the wing. Doing this means that we still remain man on man in defence so don’t get easy rebound goals scored on us. Thus why freo had only six goals on the scoreboard 10 mins into the last quarter.

So the ultra defensive game plan is doing its job in making every game a messy scrap. Except it’s the shittest style of football since Fitzroy were dying.

Nicks needs a kick in the head.

Our forwards are out of form because they haven't had a good look for a month. We aren't getting forward entry because our midfield is too slow. We get possession and pass laterally towards the boundary or backwards. There is insufficient run from behind or forward handballs. We look like the midfield that relied too much on Laird and Crouch and ended up dropping Crouch as we couldn't have 2 inside only mids.

We look like Crows 2018 when we overcompensated defensively. Had an attacking gameplan back then that Pyke stiffled by trying to slow things down, too scared to be scored against. Then all our senior plays fell of the edge.

I reckon our coaches are going to have to learn these lessons all over again. Which is sad, because we can see so many of the problems simply as fans on the outside. Unlike the Pyke and covid era, we atleast have some youth below that should hopefully be able to take over.

-Drop one of Crouch or Laird
-Drop Smith (cooked)
-Retire Sloane (blind)
-Pump games into as many of our good looking young guys as possible and see what we have to work with (Curtin, Dowling, CEdwards, Gollant, Ryan etc)
-See if there is anything to work with with Hammil and Taylor, even Himmelberg, or put aside and cut loose
-Second half of season ease Murray and TT back into the team
-Get some good talent in at the end of the year in trade/draft
-Write this year off as a development & retiring year, because we are not contending. Fans will forgive Nicks for losses when we are a young team. A team full of cooked or not-good-enough senior players + losses is unforgiveable.

At the game, the game plan was clear.

Kick the ball long out of defence and try and create a contest on the wing. Doing this means that we still remain man on man in defence so don’t get easy rebound goals scored on us. Thus why freo had only six goals on the scoreboard 10 mins into the last quarter.

So the ultra defensive game plan is doing its job in making every game a messy scrap. Except it’s the shittest style of football since Fitzroy were dying.

Nicks needs a kick in the head.
I'm guessing that's why we've suddenly gone short with our kick ins from behind. Gain a short 20 metres on the kick in to go short again or at worst (and eventually) long down the line to get it further outside our defensive 50 and try and give the opposition poorer field position than just a straight kick to the 50m boundary line from the start.

What gameplan?

This is 2020 all over again. I could at least see some in 2021 and 2022. 2023 was a regression gameplan wise, and 2024 is like 2020 again with a bunch of headless chooks.

Our forwards are out of form because they haven't had a good look for a month. We aren't getting forward entry because our midfield is too slow. We get possession and pass laterally towards the boundary or backwards. There is insufficient run from behind or forward handballs. We look like the midfield that relied too much on Laird and Crouch and ended up dropping Crouch as we couldn't have 2 inside only mids.

We look like Crows 2018 when we overcompensated defensively. Had an attacking gameplan back then that Pyke stiffled by trying to slow things down, too scared to be scored against. Then all our senior plays fell of the edge.

I reckon our coaches are going to have to learn these lessons all over again. Which is sad, because we can see so many of the problems simply as fans on the outside. Unlike the Pyke and covid era, we atleast have some youth below that should hopefully be able to take over.

-Drop one of Crouch or Laird
-Drop Smith (cooked)
-Retire Sloane (blind)
-Pump games into as many of our good looking young guys as possible and see what we have to work with (Curtin, Dowling, CEdwards, Gollant, Ryan etc)
-See if there is anything to work with with Hammil and Taylor, even Himmelberg, or put aside and cut loose
-Second half of season ease Murray and TT back into the team
-Get some good talent in at the end of the year in trade/draft
-Write this year off as a development & retiring year, because we are not contending. Fans will forgive Nicks for losses when we are a young team. A team full of cooked or not-good-enough senior players + losses is unforgiveable.
There’s no run from defence because the instruction to our defenders is to stay on their man!

That’s our defensive game plan. We’ve completely sacrificed our run off half back.

What gameplan?

This is 2020 all over again. I could at least see some in 2021 and 2022. 2023 was a regression gameplan wise, and 2024 is like 2020 again with a bunch of headless chooks.
"2023 was a regression game plan wise", how so? It looked like the ball movement we played the previous year but more consistent which is expected of a young and developing side.

There’s no run from defence because the instruction to our defenders is to stay on their man!

That’s our defensive game plan. We’ve completely sacrificed our run off half back.
Exactly and when they can't bomb the ball down the line they do chain of handball to stagnate team mate who have an opponent on them and eventually the ball get turnover in the opposition attacking half. I didn't see this in the 1st quarter so Nicks seem to switch between the game plan and continue with the other ineffective one despite losing......

The worst part is, like selections, Nicks is too stubborn to abandon this stupid game plan.

I summarise what I’ve seen of this “game plan” as follows:
  • kick the ball out from goals 20m laterally
  • bomb it long to the wing to force a contest, this way defenders can constantly be on their man
  • do not run the ball out as that means the defenders have left their man
  • if we win the contest, bomb the ball forward
  • if we lose the contest, at least the opposition forwards are manned up

Show of hands. How do you think our rugby-background-tackling-specialists is going at the mo?

Nicks must have watched replay's of Neil Craig's brainless move to leave Kris Massie on Buddy in that elimination final all those years ago.....

Stop bringing that game up.

I still have nightmares from that game and being behind that Franklin kick that day on the wing. And Roo’s last game, which was an absolute shocker.

Harrison Petty appears to be balding...
Is that seriously what we need right now?!

Harrison Petty appears to be balding...
Is that seriously what we need right now?!
Keep Trying Damon Wayans GIF

More sides are playing a quick style of play this season... yet we decided to go back to a slower style of play.

Last year we were one of the better teams to watch.... this year we are unmatchable.

We need to be brave to take the game on, even if we fail sometimes... but playing this slow crap we can be guaranteed to lose all the time.

The fact our no-brains trust thought this was a good idea tells you they are out of their depth.

Playing to the opposition's strengths like letting Stewart go mostly unopposed for a record number of marks after trying a small unsuccessfully demonstrates in no uncertain terms they have nfi.

Watch the crowd numbers disappear if they keep this up as they won't be worth the effort to watch.