10k Posts Podcaster
Sep 16, 2009
essendonkey
AFL Club
Hawthorn
Other Teams
MANCHESTER UNITED
Hang on a minute??
Melbourne costs more to live in than Adelaide, so why don't Melbourne clubs receive a "Cost of living" allowance in their salary cap??

Obviously its because the "Cost of living" allowance has nothing to do with the cost of rent in Sydney. The cost of living is utterly irrelevant. The reason they get the extra million bucks is to ensure their success.
Thats why the Lions lost their "Cost of living" allowance after three flags.

The truth is the swans just cant make a go of it on a level playing field and so they need charity in the form of the rules being bent.

The swans are nothing more than AFL endorsed cheats.

Now I have been saying this for many years so its nothing to do with the Grand final loss.

I was quite happy for my Dads team to win one. RIP Dad.

However the Swans have been guilty of sheer, unadulterated arrogance in the pursuit of Tippet. Rubbing other clubs noses in it.

The cost of living undermines the integrity of the salary cap and therefore the competition.
Does the AFL leadership lack the courage to "Level the playing field" as its fears the Swans bottoming out?

How long will the AFL endorse this inequity between the clubs?

Brisbane never had a COL allowance. They had extra room in the cap from a rule that was available to all 16 clubs at the time, where if less than 20% (IIRC) of your list was non-local, you got extra cap room, to mitigate the 'go-home' factor.

All Salary Caps are inequitable - Freo and WCE get screwed royally. Money illusion is alive and well.

My favourite part was the "hang on a minute" after this exact argument has been brought up around 500 times in the last few weeks ... but OP just thought of it.