Finey bagging mckevoy last night on sen

Like it or not he has an audience.
If he didn't he wouldn't still be there.
On the rare occasions I've tuned in I get the feeling he's trying to represent the views of the "common" man.

I'll play the devil's advocate and suggest some of his rants actually have some substance to them.
Strange as it may seem I've actually found myself agreeing with him , especially about the AFL draw and the tribunal inconsistencies.

He's no worse than many in the media in that he's paid to have strong opinions
It's when those opinions attack our club that we all get revved up.

The rest of the time he's a harmless late night radio host appealing to a unique market.
(Consisting of insomniacs, alcoholics and sports tragics.)

No real harm done unless you value his, and his listener,s opinions.

No, Doc, it's much simpler than that: he's a Shock Jock. If he's "controversial", he gets an audience: people ring and want to argue with him. If he just talks sensible footy talk, no one's interested.

If he doesn't go over the top, he's got no audience.

Very simple solution: Just don't tune in.

I have a couple of sainters as mates and reckon he is a dead set dud. They reckon weekly he gets smashed in the middle and is extremely slow around the oval. Time will tell and I hope they are wrong!!!!

Either we have an imposter or your mates are wanting usain bolt rucking for us. From what I saw of him live against Brisbane he is not slow. Won't pass judgment on his rucking from that game.

He is and will be better for us than your boy Longer. Dead set dud, if they're saying that then they clearly aren't rational fans.

My best mate is a mad saints fan and he says whilst he isn't great with ruckwork and hit outs, he is great around the ground. Slow yes, but he makes many contests due to his elite endurance and is as good a contested mark as there is.

We've never really had a gun tap ruckman, not for ages anyway and it hasn't affected us that much. He will be solid enough with rucking but brilliant for giving as an outlet around the ground when we need it and hopefully in the next couple of years he will develop a greater forward sense and turn into a goalkicking ruckman which Hawthorn plan to do.

Either way this is another brilliant acquisition for our team when we could've been in real trouble without him once Bailey retired. It's amazing how the Hawks keep on filling holes with what we need every year.

Meanwhile, they believe Savage is a superstar ready to blossom. Also, several Hawks supporters say Buddy is a complete dud who won't amount to anything at Sydney, while Dale Thomas (in the view of many Collingwood supporters) won't see out a proper AFL game at Carlton before breaking down. My apologies if I've missed any player of significance over the off-season.

Now, where IS that grain of salt?

That's their opinion on Finey. What are their thought on Big Boy?

I really really laugh at rating a ruckman's speed. Ottens, Jolly, Sandilands, Bailey and McEvoy all took their teams to GFs and flags.
And Clark Keating was a GF specialist.

Will be interesting to see how he develops now he is at a professional club (from what I have seen he already looks better in the brown & gold ;-)

Remember north supporters thought the same thing about hale & gibbo.

As far as finey goes everybody knows he is bitter & twisted - his comments about mcevoy are just another example of what happens to a football supporter who has never experienced any success!

Why, because we didn't get Billy Longer?
Sour grapes!

I really really laugh at rating a ruckman's speed. Ottens, Jolly, Sandilands, Bailey and McEvoy all took their teams to GFs and flags.

Hahahahahaha
Hahahahahahahahahaha
Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

If there is a God (or Father Christmas) then Sandilands will take those purple morons to the next 10 GF & they'll lose each one of them...

Oh, and Finey is a jerk or whatever.:cool:

Had to google who the * Finey was but..

Hard to be optimistic or complimentary about anyone leaving your club, particularly a member or the leadership group, at the Day 1 rebuilding phase isn't it Finey?

Finey is silly.

Big Mac will be great for the Hawks.

Honestly, he's not the best tap ruckman in terms of winning hit outs, or hit outs to advantage. But he was simply asked to do too much at the saints. He had to ruck 80-90% of the game, had to run back to play loose in defence to bolster our crappy backline, thus robbing him of any chance to impact the scoreboard.

He'll play his best footy at Hawthorn, he'll get a better rest thanks to Hale, can be more aggresive going forward. He has a great set of hands, and no team forces the opposition long down the line better than the Hawks, Mac will mark so many of these this season.

Sad to see him go, but he deserves a crack with a premier midfield.

Finey is silly.

Big Mac will be great for the Hawks.

Honestly, he's not the best tap ruckman in terms of winning hit outs, or hit outs to advantage. But he was simply asked to do too much at the saints. He had to ruck 80-90% of the game, had to run back to play loose in defence to bolster our crappy backline, thus robbing him of any chance to impact the scoreboard.

He'll play his best footy at Hawthorn, he'll get a better rest thanks to Hale, can be more aggresive going forward. He has a great set of hands, and no team forces the opposition long down the line better than the Hawks, Mac will mark so many of these this season.

Sad to see him go, but he deserves a crack with a premier midfield.
Good post. Likewise Savage will play his best with the Saints where he will be able to bolster his confidence with some continuity of games. Very good player who was unfortunately behind too many in a very strong team and constantly in and out of the best 22 because of it. A genuine win-win trade all around for both clubs and players involved.

Finey is silly.

The bolded statement is very perceptive. Between him and Lake we will dominate take contested marks in the back half if our midfield keep up the pressure like they have so far.

I don't think McEvoy is the best ruckman in the comp, but he's a bloody solid player, good at getting back and taking pack marks, good kick for goal, and solid in the middle.

He's an improvement on Big Max, which isn't a slight on Maxy as he was a solid contributor for us last year. I reckon McEvoy will be a win on the field for sure, and possibly even more importantly, a huge acquisition off the field if what Hodgey was saying the other week is true re: his leadership.

Who cares what Finey thinks, we've got a good'un right there

I reckon Chris Pelchen has got more footy cred than Finey, and Pelchie rates McEvoy...highly!