Academy: Gold Coast SUNS Gun Factory

Matchu I was referring to clubs in the league not top * finishers. Sorry I should of been more clear.

I am looking forward to the power base for decision making been NATIONAL instead of Victorians bitching about interstate issues such as
  • Lions 3peat (Vics remove the Living away from home allowance)
  • Swans win a flag (remove the COLA)
  • Swans get a good deal out of the draft academy (Vics talk the AFL into changing the rules)
  • Swans sign Buddy in a smart deal ( AFL bans them from the draft WTF)
Eddie everywhere has had a hand in all of the above, and the AFL has bowed to the media pressure. If there were more interstate clubs than Vic clubs and each had a vote, I would dare say knee jerk reactions like the ones above would be minimised.
I hear you. I guess the best chance of this happening in the near future is if one of the Melbourne-based clubs move to Tasmania. Hypothetically, let's say North move to Tasmania. That would mean 9 interstate clubs and 9 Victorian clubs.

Funnily enough there isn't a lot Eddie can be angry about when it comes to the Suns. The GC academy has really only produced Boston so he can't exactly make a big complaint there. I can't really think of any other avenue Eddie could attack the Suns if they begin to win premierships.

One of North, Bulldogs or Saints will end up in either Canberra or Tassie

The other option would be a 3 way coming together to create a new super club in Melbourne but to do this all 3 clubs would have to give up their colours and names and create a fresh club like the North Western Bogans or something like that

I hear you. I guess the best chance of this happening in the near future is if one of the Melbourne-based clubs move to Tasmania. Hypothetically, let's say North move to Tasmania. That would mean 9 interstate clubs and 9 Victorian clubs.

Funnily enough there isn't a lot Eddie can be angry about when it comes to the Suns. The GC academy has really only produced Boston so he can't exactly make a big complaint there. I can't really think of any other avenue Eddie could attack the Suns if they begin to win premierships.

Zac Smith, Charlie Dixon ?, were they just zone players but not academy ?.

Correct. Zoned players that were a part of the 2009 TAC Cup side along with Rory Thompson. There were a few other zoned players later on such as Wilkinson, Hickey and Sexton but there have only been two players to come out of Suns academy which were Andrew Boston and Jarred Ellis. Funnily enough Ellis is a New South Welshman but fell under the Gold Coast zone in the Northern Rivers region.

Great article on our academies and they sure do find some top footballers. We are lucky to have them in Queensland. Even the boys that aren't drafted by the team they did their academy thru, still have a chance of playing top level footy with other clubs....after all thats all they want to do.

Hope our Suns AFL team prove they had negative input to this cocaine drama....

Great article on our academies and they sure do find some top footballers. We are lucky to have them in Queensland. Even the boys that aren't drafted by the team they did their academy thru, still have a chance of playing top level footy with other clubs....after all thats all they want to do.

Hope our Suns AFL team prove they had negative input to this cocaine drama....

He is playing 1st grade for Mt Gravatt seniors last I heard. Doing pretty well in that role. I heard it was the Lions that asked Mt Gravatt that he be tried in the seniors in the ruck.

I have a look at your link but couldn't find my quote.

hey mate, hows Wylie going this year ?, what is he up to ?.

He was in the QLD squad towards the end of last year (2014), but missed out on the carnival, which was disappointing. He STILL hadn't been included in the academy at that stage! This season he is in the academy, and is in the team, not just the squad ive been told.

I think the academy's are a great idea, however, in this case, a young RL player that showed early AFL potential should have got a hand up by being included in the Lions academy as soon as his obvious size and talent was recognised. He should have been training with the academy after his 1st year when he was 17. Certainly he should have been in it last season at 18yo and making the QLD squad after only 2 seasons of AFL!!.

How many other converts are struggling away with talent that the academy's could work wonders with?

It is this reason I think southern clubs should also be allowed to have academys based in NSW and QLD. Struggling clubs like STKilda, Melbourne etc, could also have academys. There would be guidelines of how they select players over the Lions, Suns or the NSW academys. The more development of talent in QLD and NSW can only benefit the code. I wouldn't have had a problem with Wylie being picked up by a rival academy based in SEQ from a Melbourne club when he was in a QLD squad but not in the Lions academy! If there was more competition in NSW and QLD between academys, that sort of thing would not happen, and more kids in both states would be getting more specialised training.

Those kids, even if they never play top grade AFL are our coaches of the future. Our Junior teams in QLD and NSW country towns and in the cities need quality, experienced coaches. At the moment many if not the majority of coaches are ex Rugby League dads or Victorians or South Australians who have moved over here. We need more training and education of our kids. We miss out on much of the AFL culture that happens in the backyards and school breaks in VIC and SA etc.

By allowing other clubs to have academys under strict rules established in QLD and NSW can only do the code good in these states.

He was in the QLD squad towards the end of last year (2014), but missed out on the carnival, which was disappointing. He STILL hadn't been included in the academy at that stage! This season he is in the academy, and is in the team, not just the squad ive been told.

I think the academy's are a great idea, however, in this case, a young RL player that showed early AFL potential should have got a hand up by being included in the Lions academy as soon as his obvious size and talent was recognised. He should have been training with the academy after his 1st year when he was 17. Certainly he should have been in it last season at 18yo and making the QLD squad after only 2 seasons of AFL!!.

How many other converts are struggling away with talent that the academy's could work wonders with?

It is this reason I think southern clubs should also be allowed to have academys based in NSW and QLD. Struggling clubs like STKilda, Melbourne etc, could also have academys. There would be guidelines of how they select players over the Lions, Suns or the NSW academys. The more development of talent in QLD and NSW can only benefit the code. I wouldn't have had a problem with Wylie being picked up by a rival academy based in SEQ from a Melbourne club when he was in a QLD squad but not in the Lions academy! If there was more competition in NSW and QLD between academys, that sort of thing would not happen, and more kids in both states would be getting more specialised training.

Those kids, even if they never play top grade AFL are our coaches of the future. Our Junior teams in QLD and NSW country towns and in the cities need quality, experienced coaches. At the moment many if not the majority of coaches are ex Rugby League dads or Victorians or South Australians who have moved over here. We need more training and education of our kids. We miss out on much of the AFL culture that happens in the backyards and school breaks in VIC and SA etc.

By allowing other clubs to have academys under strict rules established in QLD and NSW can only do the code good in these states.

Have come to the decision it doesnt work, grabbing kids that are "athletes" and teaching them to play AFL.
I think Roosy, (did it in Sydney and now of Melbourne) has the right idea...get a kid with AFL skills and teach them to run, run, run...

Have come to the decision it doesnt work, grabbing kids that are "athletes" and teaching them to play AFL.
I think Roosy, (did it in Sydney and now of Melbourne) has the right idea...get a kid with AFL skills and teach them to run, run, run...

In general i agree, it is very hard for a latecomer to get the real feel of the game, however quite a lot of these so called athletes that have come into the game recently played the game at a young age or were bought up in a culture where they understood the game.

Kurt Tippett is probably the best example of an "athlete" coming to the game at a late stage (first played at 17) and really kicking on at the elite level. I can't help but think a lot of it had to do with his height. I doubt the Southport Sharks/Gold Coast Stingrays would have put in as much effort if Kurt was standing around the 6 feet mark. Both Gold Coast Basketball and Gold Coast Soccer are based right next to Metricon Stadium so there is every chance the Suns will continue to acquire these "athletes" in the future and bring them through their academy system.

Mark bilcavs at geelong 196cm swingman.. Best runner at the club.. Think he ran at the commonwealth games.
First full season at the cats played neally every game, every position.
Theres deffinetly athletes that can make it

Could be wrong but i understood he also played footy at a young age, so he understood and had a feel for the game, probably learnt how to kick properly at a earlier age as well.

A lot of these reports on athletes swapping codes for footy is exaggerated IMO, many have also played footy or at least been exposed to it and the skills.

IMO big mobile blokes with initial limited skills can cross over because they are simply big mobile blokes and they fill a need, the midfielder who needs good skills both sides, good peripheal vision and plenty of guts seem to be filled by a handful of Irish guys and 99% kids who have grown up with the game.

Could be wrong but i understood he also played footy at a young age, so he understood and had a feel for the game, probably learnt how to kick properly at a earlier age as well.

A lot of these reports on athletes swapping codes for footy is exaggerated IMO, many have also played footy or at least been exposed to it and the skills.

IMO big mobile blokes with initial limited skills can cross over because they are simply big mobile blokes and they fill a need, the midfielder who needs good skills both sides, good peripheal vision and plenty of guts seem to be filled by a handful of Irish guys and 99% kids who have grown up with the game.

Agree "Fabulousphil"! Am sure most of these players have been exposed to AFL early in their sports life, either parent driven, or it was the school preferred game.
Tippett fits this category. He moved to the Gold Coast when he was a baby, and attended a non AFL school, All Saints Anglican College, in Queensland where Basketball was his choice of game - because of his height of course. His height is his massive asset in football, but he certainly doesn't compare to Buddy skill wise!!

Joel Wilkinson is another example of a superior athlete in his junior years, and was noticed in the AFL Under 16's for the Gold coast and was enlisted as a "project" player. He went on to captain the Queensland Under 18's.
An absolute workhorse on the field, but sadly had zero skills..He was eventually cut by Bluey and has been playing football with the Northern Blues in Victoria for the past near 3 years..

Agree "Fabulousphil"! Am sure most of these players have been exposed to AFL early in their sports life, either parent driven, or it was the school preferred game.
Tippett fits this category. He moved to the Gold Coast when he was a baby, and attended a non AFL school, All Saints Anglican College, in Queensland where Basketball was his choice of game - because of his height of course. His height is his massive asset in football, but he certainly doesn't compare to Buddy skill wise!!

Joel Wilkinson is another example of a superior athlete in his junior years, and was noticed in the AFL Under 16's for the Gold coast and was enlisted as a "project" player. He went on to captain the Queensland Under 18's.
An absolute workhorse on the field, but sadly had zero skills..He was eventually cut by Bluey and has been playing football with the Northern Blues in Victoria for the past near 3 years..

I remember watching Wilkinson, built like tarzan, played like Jane, was told about his athleticism but to me he seemed slow hand to foot etc and his kicks seemed to be a bit up and under, anyway it is very easy to be critical.

I guess it is very hard to turn a footballer into a athlete or viccy verca.

What has surprised me a little, is that the experiment with USA college basketballers and athletes seems to be failing. Although in hindsight I can see why.

1st, in American culture they don't kick....anything. They play baseball, basketball and Gridiron. So kids don't grow up kicking anything.
2nd. They don't have the love, passion, drive for the game. The game of AFL is 'foreign' to them.
3rd. They are FAILED basketballers mostly. Considering most elite athletes are only separated by 2% in terms of overall ability, it is the brain that allows a sportsman to succeed. If it didn't allow it in the sport they love, why do we think it would allow it in AFL?

There will come an exception to the rule. But overall I think it will fail.

What has surprised me a little, is that the experiment with USA college basketballers and athletes seems to be failing. Although in hindsight I can see why.

1st, in American culture they don't kick....anything. They play baseball, basketball and Gridiron. So kids don't grow up kicking anything.
2nd. They don't have the love, passion, drive for the game. The game of AFL is 'foreign' to them.
3rd. They are FAILED basketballers mostly. Considering most elite athletes are only separated by 2% in terms of overall ability, it is the brain that allows a sportsman to succeed. If it didn't allow it in the sport they love, why do we think it would allow it in AFL?

The Gold Coast Suns U18s Academy will take on the Brisbane Lions U18s Academy this Saturday at 2pm at the Southport Sharks. If you are there already to watch the Suns take on the Sharks why not stick around and watch the future generation strut their stuff afterwards? I presume this game (like last year) will determine the U18 Queensland Scorpions squad that will compete in the TAC Cup and U18 Championships. Here are the Queensland Scorpions 2015 TAC Cup/National Championships games:

19 April - NSW&ACT&QLD vs Vic Country @ Visy Park (QLD)
25 April - QLD vs Dandenong @ Casheezie Park (QLD)
9 May - QLD vs Gippsland @ Broadbeach (QLD)
30 May - QLD vs Oakleigh @ Casheezie Park (QLD)
13 June - QLD vs Calder @ Cragieburn (VIC)
20 June - QLD vs NT @ Gold Coast venue (QLD)
27 June - QLD vs Tasmania @ Simonds Stadium (VIC)
2 July - QLD vs NSW/ACT @ Simonds Stadium (VIC)
25 July - QLD vs North Ballarat @ Eureka (VIC)

they are coming in dribs and drabs (?) ATM

http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/20150309135100892

9 or so playing in Vic this season