Is Adelaide Oval too small?

11-11 isn't a shitty season.

Novelty was a factor and when Port Adelaide have a bad season their games will be half empty.

whats with all the victorian nostradamus' in this thread? do you guys know how i go in life over the next 5 years or just the landscape of footy attendance in SA? get back to me, prophesiers!

seriously just because you guys are extremely discontent with how footy is shaping up in Melbourne doesn't mean we will fall into the depression spiral with you. we are the ones just coming up into a period of time with a stadium we love.. i think the hard times will be in your own back yard..!

Too small. More seats required so the SANFL can make more money.
That's not how the SANFL works.

If they build a stadium with 100,000 seats they will project a budget based on 90,000 spectators and keep all money up to that "projected figure" before splitting anything else. In other words if the clubs average 89,900 spectators they will have to write a cheque to the SANFL for whatever the 100 extra spectators were expected to bring in.

AAMI all over again but with bigger numbers.

Cracking venue perfectly positioned and just the right size. I love the beer caravan on the hill which allows you to continue watching the game while standing in the queue for a thirst quencher. The Adelaide fans around us could not have been more welcoming and are clearly and justly proud of their new stadium. It's a beauty.

I couldn't get enough the weekend I went over so we fronted up on Saturday arvo for the Eagles/Norwood game at Woodville. The Eagles came from five goals down at quarter time to completely dominate the Redlegs. The sizable home crowd loved it and the impressive social club was rocking post match. You wouldn't have been putting anything on Norwood to win the flag that day. Shows what I know.

I love the beer caravan on the hill which allows you to continue watching the game while standing in the queue for a thirst
quencher.
Beer caravan on the hill? Ive missed that one. You dont mean the scoreboard bar?

N/W corner at the back..... Well, I think..... I can see something up the back there, but I never knew what it was.

That's it. Whether it is there for every game I" m not sure but is was the Friday night of the Crows/Hawks game. Over near the big trees in the forward pocket about 40 metres from the stage. A fantastic old school facility.

Another website ruined by wookie features

People aren't really serious when they talk about the grassy knoll.
A closed stadium will be better for football and spectators.
Remember the soccer flogs demanded it be closed in for greater capacity for the WC.
And the AFL GF will never be rotated if there isn't decent alternatives(post contract)
Actually, Adelaide Oval is fine capacity wise.
The problem is FIFA demand all World Cup stadiums be 100% seating.

Option 1 was close the hill.
Option 2 was put temporary seating in the hill.
Option 3 was put a permanent stand on the hill.

Remember the soccer flogs demanded it be closed in for greater capacity for the WC.
And the AFL GF will never be rotated if there isn't decent alternatives(post contract)
The AFL grand final will never move from he MCG. Like Wembley it is the home of our great game.

There'll never be an AFL team in Sydney.
There'll never be an AFL team in Brisbane.
There'll never be an AFL team on the Gold Coast.
They'll never play AFL in New Zealand.

It's highly unlikely that the GF will ever move from the MCG but that is due to a lack of alternative venues.
If you want to watch the Victorian game go to the VFL in the meantime we'll watch the AFL.
I don't believe I ever made any of the statements you put in your post.I believed in expansion and with the exception of GWS think the new clubs have improved the game. I quite often watch and attend the VFL but am more of an AFL man.Its great that I live in our great games heartland.Have enjoyed watching the Grand Final at the home of Football many times in person. To move a Grand Final from its epicentre would make no sense because there is no legitimate reason to do it other than appeasing a few winging non Victorians.

If Footy Park was any closer to Port Adelaide it would have been called Alberton Park. Or is that why the location was s**t?
Don't ell me, you live at West Lakes and liked walking to the ground but I'm in the northern suburbs and AO's location rules

People are very serious when they talk about the grassy knoll. Leave it alone.

At first I was a full believer of that Adelaide oval was not built big enough with only the the present in mind and not the future!

But attendances this year have made me realise how perfect that stadium is for Adelaide!

Port have pulled 2 50000 crowds so far this year, with a 48000, 45000 and 38000 also extremely successful!

What wowed myself more was that in these last 3 games general admission walk up was still available meaning the reserved seat turn up rate must of been fantastic!

So by that I think that Adelaide oval is perfect!