My reasons on why we must get rid of Mark Thompson.

Remove this Banner Ad

Oct 28, 2005
Here and there
AFL Club
Geelong
Ok here is what i think is needed and why.

Now before i say this i can qualify myself by saying that i have played over 200 games of local football so i sort of know what i am talking about when it comes to football, while i dont admit to being an expert my opinions are not from someone who has not played the game, i have so i know what happens.

I believe oour problem firmly lies within the coaching staff. Yes i agree to a certain extent that the players on the field are the ones who ultimately win or lose but i have some serious questions for the coach. I will start with a few from Saturday as an example.

Why was Mooney moved from centre half forward? He was the reason we played so well, he gave us a target and straightened us up. And i dont buy the he went into defence to cover for Harley line either.

Why did Ling not keep tagging Embley in the last quarter and a bit?

Why was Rooke not on Cousins in the last quarter?

Why was Kerr not stopped in the last quarter?

Why did we start chipping it around?

So many questions, probably will remain unanswered. But a lot of these things above lay at the feet of Mark Thompson. These are just from one game, in most games he has done some starange things.

Why does Joel Corey play across half back when he is a great on baller and good at clearences where we have been poor.

Now in my football career i have seen some bad coaches and when the players dont like the coach they play poorly. In a situation like Saturday it is the coach who must help guide the players and DO SOMETHING if a team gets a run on like the Eagles did.

Bomber has done too many wrong things this year to remain as coach.

He has had 7 years, long enough. The boys need a new voice, a coach they want to play for.