our pick in the PSD - WHO ???

Anyone know why we traded Wood? Was it his request, or did we think we were ok with Beau?

Pretty sure he wanted more game time and at the time he was behind Charman and Leuey was showing a heap of promise and subsequently requested a trade (I think he still had a year of his contract left, could be wrong though?). But yes, at the time we had 4 rucks including Beau. I'd say that even had he stayed on he woulda only got more time in 08 once Leuey went down.

Cheers. I think we blew that one.

Its hard to say really, we really didn't know Beau was going to retire during the pre-season, and that Leuey would cop a season ending injury in Round 15. At trade time last year, there was the potential that if we held on Wood another year, he wouldnt crack much game time and we'd have a disgruntled ruckman out of contract and very likely get shafted at the trade table.

Contrary to what the Collingwood hype machine would have you believe, Wood really didn't do anything exceptional this year. In fact, I was a little surprised as I thought he'd really begin to go on with it this year. He is far from proven.

Its hard to say really, we really didn't know Beau was going to retire during the pre-season, and that Leuey would cop a season ending injury in Round 15. At trade time last year, there was the potential that if we held on Wood another year, he wouldnt crack much game time and we'd have a disgruntled ruckman out of contract and very likely get shafted at the trade table.

Contrary to what the Collingwood hype machine would have you believe, Wood really didn't do anything exceptional this year. In fact, I was a little surprised as I thought he'd really begin to go on with it this year. He is far from proven.

That's fair, it is really more my opinion I guess. I always enjoyed watching him play and felt he was a bit of a find.

I want Davis out of all those options. Place Tippett on the rookie list and upgrade him mid season (as per new rules after round 11). If worse comes to worse if Charman and Burger are unavailable we still got ruck options in Brennan, Henderson, Clark or McCulloch. We need Davis for goals.

Ever seen in the same room together?
One of the same IMO.

Please Davis, if it means no Rix.
Would prefer Matt DeBoer over both of them, if the young midfield push was to continue.

Matt deBoer would have to attract some interest for the PSD you would think.

Averages around 18 possessions at WAFL senior level (Dan Rich at around 15/game) and topped the WA State 18s team with 20 possessions/game.

WA High Performance Coach Rob Wiley also rates deBoer.
Surely the Lions skills coach could improve his kicking technique. He seems ready made to go!

From the AFL Site
A TWO-TIME state representative for WA at under-18 level; an All-Australian in 2008; invited to the NAB AFL draft camp; rated among the top 30 prospects by junior talent guru Kevin Sheehan; senior experience at WAFL level … and still overlooked in last month’s national draft.

Star youngster Matt DeBoer ticked all the boxes one could hope to leading into the NAB AFL Draft in November.

His state coach, Andrew Lockyer, and club coach at Claremont, Roger Kerr, agree the 18-year-old is a ripper.

Perhaps the only doubt on DeBoer is his kicking, although selectors at this year’s NAB AFL U18 Championships didn’t think that was too shabby when naming him in the centre of this year’s All-Australian line-up.

But draft day brought only disappointment for the University of Western Australia student.

Kerr, the father of West Coast star Daniel, said DeBoer was shattered at having been overlooked on November 29.

Kerr believed the young midfielder had been contacted by Fremantle and Melbourne since the national draft in regards to possible rookie positions. But he has continued to train with Claremont and must again wait anxiously next Tuesday to see if he will earn a chance at AFL level. Kerr certainly believes DeBoer is worthy of one.

“He’s been a regular in our league side and an All-Australian in the under-18s … and he was averaging about 20 touches a game for us and doing fairly well when he was at senior level,” Kerr said.

“His kicking’s maybe the only knock on him because it’s maybe a bit of an awkward style, but he can certainly pick the ball up and [he ticks] every other box.

“He gets a lot of the footy.”

DeBoer’s absence from an AFL list at the conclusion of draft day emphasised the strength of this year’s talent pool.

Lockyer, who coached him in the 2008 national championships, was shocked when the name DeBoer was not called out on draft day.

DeBoer also enjoyed a superb 2007 but didn’t nominate for the national draft then, which may have cost him on November 29.

“Last year, the way he played as a 17-year-old, he would have been [a] top-20 [pick],” Lockyer said.

“I look at some of the kids that were taken in the draft [this year] and I think Matty’s definitely up there with them.

“He’s a smasher of a kid and he works hard at his game. I reckon he’d be worth a go at one of the clubs and I think the kid deserves an opportunity.”
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=118172420

I remember Leigh saying that people tend to copy or follow whoever is the best team. I wonder if Hawthorn's recruiting strategy, which placed a greater emphasis on kicking skills, has filtered through to the other teams, who are just a bit more wary of suspect kicking actions.

Pick 14 for Cam Wood is a win for us.

Travis Johnstone for pick 14 - i'm not too sure.

Obviously Voss is looking for another experienced ruckman to help out - he tried to trade Charmo and then looked at picking up Street. It doesn't surprise me to see him look at Rix as well.

Our two greatest weaknesses are now small forwards and our ruck department after adding to our inside midfielder group through the draft.

I wouldn't mind us going after a ruck but I hope that is not Michael Rix.

This year I have always thought that going for an experienced ruckman was OK even when Jeff White was mooted.

As long as the recruit was happy enough to play in the AFLQ and could do an adequate job if needed to fill in for Charman or Leuenberger.

It seems likely that Rix will be picked up and if we are keen on a particular young player there is still the rookie draft - most,if not all,clubs have had wins with players from other states going on to their rookie lists.

No matter the reasons,we find ourselves short of ruck depth and something like the best solution will not be found in the short term.

Rix wtf?

This is his write up for the 27 year old (28 next year) from the Prospectus this year:

Rix has played 28 games in his two seasons on the Saint's list but has struggled both in the ruck and around the ground. In 17 games last season he averaged just six disposals, the equal lowest of all players to play more than 10 matches, failing to have a kick in the final four rounds of the season. His tally of one contested mark for the year was the lowest of all ruckmen to play more than 10 games and he scored just two goals. His ruckwork wasn't much better, winning the hitout at only 33% of the contests he was involved in which ranked last of the top 20 hitout winners of the competition. he improved his hitout-to-advantage rate slightly from 2006, yet it still ranked in the poor category.

Just give a young guy a go FFS. Rix is not going anywhere and he is just preventing one of our developing guys getting a run.

I do not agree with Voss on this one. Voss has done most things correct so far, but considering Rix with our PSD pick is not one of them. Surely there is a 23-24 year old ruckman running around in the state leagues worthy of consideration. Heck, I'll take Spaanderman ahead of Rix. Spaanderman has been staring in the WAFL this year in the ruck.

The thing about about the ruck situation for 2009 is that if Charman and Leuenberger remain uninjured there would be no need for the various options that are not on the list - Rix,Tippett,McLaren etc. - they would spend the whole season in the reserves.

If having Clark as a back up ruckman is considered an OK option there is less need for another ruckman and there are others to help out in an emergency - the real problems arise when our 2 specialist rucks are carrying injury or unavailable through injury - we only have to look at season 2008 to be painfully aware of that without even recalling other similar situations in recent years.

And shake our heads at the circumstances that caused this difficult situation to occur.