Pokies money for AFL clubs

I believe, I haven't had a serious addiction, that there is a point before you get addicted where you have a choice. For example, I know myself I am very susceptible to gambling, I love the thrill of having money on a footy game or even watching the roulette wheel go round. I once went to crown with 300 bucks, and said of I lost it I was going to walk away. After about an hour of small bets on this and that I lost it all, went outside to the atm, withdrew 300 dollars and put it all on red.
I lost, walked back to the atm, then suddenly thought, "what the funk am I doing?!"

I haven't been back since. This is my experience at least, maybe pokies are somehow easier to get addicted to or something. Having said that, I can't say I'm sorry that we don't make money from pokies, considering the kind of people they get their money from.

Interesting post S2S, I used to play the tables occasionally testing the premise that it may be easy money, it didnt take me long to discount that view.

Basically these days i dont punt much as my view is that winning a game of chance thats going to really change your lifes probability is so remote its not worth pursuing. i will occasionally put a few shekels in a syndicate at the races where if we are lucky the winnings will pay the gate fee. but that would be it.

some blokes at my work run a tatslotto syndicate and i joked with them they should put the money into a group buy of faraday suits because if they thought the chances of winning the big one were probable the chances of being struck by lighting are far greater therefore the suits would come in handy. they quickly dismissed my advice.

another time one of the apprentices questioned why i dont go in it, i told him iam already about 5 grand up. he said did you have a big win, and i replied , no i just haven’t played it for 40 years.

We applied for and had our licence for the pokier machines moved from Kanga Kasino to our bar at Docklands. When we decided that the bar at Docklands wasn't viable years later the club made the decision to then end our affiliation with pokies and I believe handed back our licence.
so handing the kanga kasino licence back would in turn be a "reverse kanga" ??

Faraday suits - awesome.

I'm ahead on the pokies.

Years ago a mate said "can you play the machine for me for a while" when I was at the pub. Me missus and I were there and we both had a go. Within minutes we won a couple of hundred bucks ($220) and said if it dropped to 200 we'd take it out and split the money with my mate. So we did that. he was thankful for the cash but said "you should/may as well have just kept playing".

Anyway that was in about 2003 and the only way I can stay ahead on the pokies is by not using them.

Pokies aren't really a form of gambling. They are a device designed to induce temporary trances in the users.

Most users have some s**t in their lives they don't want to think about or deal with. By putting money into the machine they get a trance induced by the lights, bells and whistles and don't have to be aware of whatever is bothering them for a short time. They aren't playing to try and win, if they were they'd leave the machines with a payout after a big win, but this almost never happens. They are marketed as a form of gambling because if people faced the implications of what they really are and what they do then we'd have to deal with some serious issues as a society. Whoever coined the term "electronic heroin" was right.

Faraday suits - awesome.

I'm ahead on the pokies.

Years ago a mate said "can you play the machine for me for a while" when I was at the pub. Me missus and I were there and we both had a go. Within minutes we won a couple of hundred bucks ($220) and said if it dropped to 200 we'd take it out and split the money with my mate. So we did that. he was thankful for the cash but said "you should/may as well have just kept playing".

Anyway that was in about 2003 and the only way I can stay ahead on the pokies is by not using them.

Pokies aren't really a form of gambling. They are a device designed to induce temporary trances in the users.

Most users have some s**t in their lives they don't want to think about or deal with. By putting money into the machine they get a trance induced by the lights, bells and whistles and don't have to be aware of whatever is bothering them for a short time. They aren't playing to try and win, if they were they'd leave the machines with a payout after a big win, but this almost never happens. They are marketed as a form of gambling because if people faced the implications of what they really are and what they do then we'd have to deal with some serious issues as a society. Whoever coined the term "electronic heroin" was right.
Everything you have written above is spot-bloody-on!!! It's not gambling at all, it is stealing.

Hawthorn Football Club’s pokies venue closed over licensing issues

6a0b1f01eecdd204cba54a85e7ea5ac9

A club patron said about 30 to 40 people were told to leave immediately.

A POKIES venue owned by Hawthorn Football Club has been closed immediately over licensing issues.

Staff from the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation closed the Vegas Club at Waverley Gardens just after 7pm.

A VCGLR spokesperson said: “There has been a compliance issue with the licence. The Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation is working with the venue to address the issue”.

A club patron said about 30 to 40 people were told to leave immediately, leaving their money in the poker machines.

Bill from Glen Waverley said he was at the pokies when a couple of guys walked in just after 7pm, spoke with staff and staff told patrons they had to leave immediately.

He said staff from gaming commission were checking the poker machines and they had to leave immediately.

v1

Bill said he had not been able to get his money out of the machines before leaving but the VCGLR said patrons were allowed time to cash out of the machines prior to the gaming area being closed.

A manager for the venue would not comment when contacted by the Herald Sun.

Hawthorn has not responded to request for comment.

All in all the family club is travelling well. Most players in the competition on the gear in the off-season, now poker machine irregularities, not to mention a few on-field issues with injuries.

Do we need to start a sympathy thread?
Theyve won 3 flags in a row.. 4 in 8 years.. lucky pricks couldnt care less youd imagine

North Melbourne chief Carl Dilena says AFL clubs can break their reliance on pokies cash

GRANT BAKER, MICHAEL WARNER
Herald Sun

NORTH Melbourne boss Carl Dilena says the AFL’s equalisation measures could eliminate the footy industry’s need for pokies cash.

The Kangaroos have been free of gaming machines since 2008 while the nine other Victorian AFL clubs share about $90 million in pokies revenue each year.

North chief executive Dilena said the club’s stance not to re-enter gaming since shutting down an unprofitable venue eight years ago was key in attracting one significant sponsor — Powershop — and had been a factor in driving membership sales.

Dilena said it would be a “real challenge” for the industry to break its reliance on gaming revenue and the AFL had become “accepting of the position because of the financial windfall that is being generated”.

“The AFL is sitting with a lot of clubs with revenue generated from pokies and that probably eases the burden for the AFL overall in terms of the finances of the entire competition,” Dilena told the Herald Sun.

But he said the AFL’s major focus on reducing inflation in club spending could be the tool needed to remove footy’s dependence on the cash stream that has been linked to social and family harm.

story-fni0cx12-02daf4df6419fe2918a711a4c83e2bd5

“If you can get the inflation in the industry under control, it takes the pressure off generating massive amounts of new revenue,” Dilena said.

“So there is an indirect tool in there for them to do it, and to achieve it, and I think the clubs have bought into the concept of trying to get the club structure of the industry under control.”

He said North had been able to thrive in recent years without pokies money by bringing a “ruthless efficiency” to the business.

“We don’t spend any money (just because) it’s nice to spend — we reference every dollar back to return on strategic objectives or return on investment,” he said.

By doing so the club has reduced debt from $8m in 2007 to $1.5m and has banked four consecutive profits.

940050-left.gif
If you can get the inflation in the industry under control, it takes the pressure off generating massive amounts of new revenue.

Carl Dilena
940141-right.gif

Dilena addressed the circumstances in which the club became pokies free — and the notion that it could remain so because of handouts from the AFL.

“The club did have some poker machines at Etihad Stadium — a small setup there. It wasn’t profitable and the club exited those in 2008 … it wasn’t really core business, it wasn’t beneficial,” he said.

“And then post that it was (former CEO) Eugene Arocca (who) was very passionate about no pokies and World Vision’s Tim Costello became involved.

“There certainly were (opportunities to get back in) — there were some business people a bit frustrated that we wouldn’t go into them.

Dilena said the argument that the Roos could take a stance on pokies as a result of AFL funding was “illogical”.

“There are other clubs who get the same if not more than us (from the AFL) who do have gaming, so that refutes that argument straight away,” he said.

“And secondly, the money that we do get is really compensating paying off the mortgage at Etihad Stadium to a large degree — and it actually doesn’t go far enough to compensate for the inequities.”

http://www.nmfc.com.au/news/2016-04-18/pokies-not-for-north

North Melbourne is the only Victorian AFL club without pokies and a reliance on gambling revenue but CEO Carl Dilena believes other clubs could soon follow its lead.

The Roos hard-line stance stems from a sense of community and speaks volumes about the club’s core values. It has also attracted socially aware companies, like highly regarded electricity provider Powershop, to jump on board as sponsors.

“The AFL is sitting with a lot of clubs with revenue generated from pokies and that probably eases the burden for the AFL overall in terms of the finances of the entire competition,” Dilena told theHerald Sun’sGrant Baker.

North hasn’t had gaming machines since 2008 while Essendon, Hawthorn, Geelong, St Kilda, Richmond, Carlton, Western Bulldogs, Melbourne and Collingwood share about $90 million in pokies revenue each year.

“There certainly were (opportunities to get back in) — there were some business people a bit frustrated that we wouldn’t go into them,” Dilena added.

While acknowledging it would be a “real challenge”, the North boss said the AFL’s equalisation measures could eliminate the AFL’s need for the cash stream that has been linked to social and family harm.

“If you can get the inflation in the industry under control, it takes the pressure off generating massive amounts of new revenue,” Dilena said.

“So there is an indirect tool in there for them to do it, and to achieve it, and I think the clubs have bought into the concept of trying to get the club structure of the industry under control.”

As for North’s ability to prosper without gambling revenue, Dilena put it down to a “ruthless efficiency” when running the business.

“We don’t spend any money (just because) it’s nice to spend — we reference every dollar back to return on strategic objectives or return on investment,” he said.

Debt has been reduced from $8m in 2007 to $1.5m and the Roos have banked four consecutive profits while upping their investment in their Football Department..

Dilena said claims that North has only been able to rid itself of pokies due to handouts from the AFL were “illogical”.

“There are other clubs who get the same if not more than us (from the AFL) who do have gaming, so that refutes that argument straight away,” he said.

“And secondly, the money that we do get is really compensating paying off the mortgage at Etihad Stadium to a large degree — and it actually doesn’t go far enough to compensate for the inequities.”

Best interview Carl has done since being named CEO IMO. I've long wished that we pushed the no pokies thing more. It's one of many things that I really love about the club and it could attract others to supporting the club

#TheRealFamilyClub

Best interview Carl has done since being named CEO IMO. I've long wished that we pushed the no pokies thing more. It's one of many things that I really love about the club and it could attract others to supporting the club

#TheRealFamilyClub
He has a suit and a tie and a little hoola girl on his desk. He will only answer to Mr Dilena, if you please.

#TheRealFamilyClub
Certainly had a tone that elicited a stronger stance about the infeasable stadium deal and the perception of getting an undue handout from the Afl. Plus the no poker machine stance should be common knowledge to any football fan especially when revenue from them is vital to most others clubs. I'm proud that the smallest, most at risk of relocation, club is the only one in the competition seeking to stamp out one of society's illnesses. Hopefully this tougher, no nonsense media approach by Carl continues.

He has a suit and a tie and a little hoola girl on his desk. He will only answer to Mr Dilena, if you please.
I've had this stuck in my head all night thanks to you

Whilst I think it's great that this is catching on-

I am dreading hearing/reading the inevitable coverage the dogs get as they move away from gaming revenue. So brave.