VFL Round 19: Essendon v Swans

VFL players are placeholders, they should hold no blame at all
* off .
That is one of the dumbest comments ever .
If the quality of the VFL guys is not up to it it makes it bloody hard . You have complained heaps of times in the past about the lack of decent VFL players on the list .
Their lack of competitiveness in contested situations is absolutely hurting us today.

We have no mids that have composure in the contest. It’s just hack kicks forward which is killing our forwards. Hayes looks good, although some of his uncontested kicking is really poor. Baldwin just has to play AFL

Balders doing ok today?

* off .
That is one of the dumbest comments ever .
If the quality of the VFL guys is not up to it it makes it bloody hard . You have complained heaps of times in the past about the lack of decent VFL players on the list .
Their lack of competitiveness in contested situations is absolutely hurting us today.
Forget about the VFL guys, today and all season has shown that we either need to get some experience around the VFL squad or cut the s**t that's been afforded to long on the AFL list. Genuinely disappointed with how some of the kids have developed this season. We are never going to improve the AFL kids with the lack of composure from VFL guys on ball. That is why, imho, it is paramount we pad out the VFL squad with better midfielders if we can't improve the AFL squad with a better balance

That's Ant's point....

Nothing to write home about. They dominated us from the start. Too big. Too strong. Forwards got nothing going all day and we just bombed the footy all day. Horrible stuff. Got smashed in the ruck by Hickey.

Tsatas - not as good this week but still had some classy moments. 6 clearances. 5 tackles. When you look at him live you can see how under developed he is right now. He is going to take a bit of time but in time he will give us some speed and power out of the stoppage.

Weideman - solid game playing defense . Dropped 2 or 3 marks he should have intercepted but was good in the one on one battles. Good game.

Stewart - looked like a guy who has not played all year. Not much to write about.

Hayes - really good. Had a couple of eras but overall he was really good. Spoiled well. Intercepted well.

Baldwin - another good VFL game. Was one of our best.

Lord - played half back and wing. Tried to get things going with some run. Okay game.

Montgomerie - solid enough. Did not do a lot wrong.

Voss - poor. You know you are slow when Frang speeds past you and intercepts. Slow and can not take a contested mark.

Wanganeen - quiet day numbers wise. Kicked 2 goals and had a hand in another. Worked hard but it was a game that the small forwards struggled to get going in. Not much reward for a decent effort.

McBride - same as always.

D'Ambrosio - got a knock to the knee early on and was iced up by half time. Will say he is a shocking ball watcher who gets caught out of position easily. That is why he can struggle to defend. It is not through lack of effort but more concentration.

Walla - played pretty well. Took a lot of center bounces and then drifted to half forward. Was one of those games that just did not work for the forwards. One of our better players.

Munkara - there is no doubt he has pace and some tricks when he has the ball but he is just too selective as far as attacking the footy and using his pace. He pulls out of contests or does not go at all and jogs along and only uses his pace when he thinks he can win a clear ball. Has to stop playing soft rubbish footy if he is going to make anything out of the talent he has got.

Taha - had limited impact early . Had a few touches in the second half but like the other small forwards it was a tough day out.

He should have spent time in the midfield, that’s poor coaching imo
He was attending a couple of centre bounces towards the end. Was getting smoked by the bigger bodies, litterally pinballed off one of the ruckman at one point.

That’s a good test for him as he has performed very well against his own age group in the midfield, wouldn’t have gotten much playing forward for us especially in a smashing and all considering the amount of small forward options there anyway.

Wasn’t watching him specifically but he got a clean break from clearance at one point. Didn’t look out of place, agree missed opportunity not to play him in mid more given the lack of quality/experience we have in there anyway.

Also think we are not seeing the best attributes from Tsatas because we have no contested mids with composure under pressure extracting the footy to him. Instead he’s having a crack in congestion and isn’t able to break away and use his speed on the outside. 🤷‍♂️ if Hobbsy (not that he should be) was in the twos he’d be having field day.

Wasn’t watching him specifically but he got a clean break from clearance at one point. Didn’t look out of place, agree missed opportunity not to play him in mid more given the lack of quality/experience we have in there anyway.

Also think we are not seeing the best attributes from Tsatas because we have no contested mids with composure under pressure extracting the footy to him. Instead he’s having a crack in congestion and isn’t able to break away and use his speed on the outside. 🤷‍♂️ if Hobbsy (not that he should be) was in the twos he’d be having field day.
Agree on Tsatas. Hopefully it will be a good experience for him in the long run.

Yeah still reckon we need more midfield depth on the list, not every player on the list needs to be constant AFL level players and having a few strong bodied depth midfielders on the list wouldn’t be the worst thing. Safe to say none of the current VFL listed midfielders fit that bill

that's a crap excuse. We were above them on the ladder before today. We've been crap.
Swans flogged GWS today. Now they have some blokes back from injury they are doing okay.