Discussion State League Guernseys

Re: VFL and State Leagues

It would be interesting if someone can post the jumpers of teams that don't exist anymore in the VFA/VFL and other State Leagues. Thinking of clubs such as Waverly Panthers, Geelong West Roosters, Sunshine, Dandenong, West Melbourne... Adelaide, Fremantle, the merged clubs in the South Australia during the war years.

Also the old jumpers of the current teams such as North Adelaide, Preston (Northen Bullants), Subiaco.

Logos would be interesting too... it's pretty hard to find information on defunct clubs....

It would be interesting if someone can post the jumpers of teams that don't exist anymore in the VFA/VFL and other State Leagues. Thinking of clubs such as Waverly Panthers, Geelong West Roosters, Sunshine, Dandenong, West Melbourne... Adelaide, Fremantle, the merged clubs in the South Australia during the war years.

Also the old jumpers of the current teams such as North Adelaide, Preston (Northen Bullants), Subiaco.

Logos would be interesting too... it's pretty hard to find information on defunct clubs....

West Melbourne wore exactly the same as South Melbourne.
Red & White hoops, Blue pants. Red & White hoop socks.
Geelong West White with Red GW monogram collar and cuffs
Dandenong were Navy with Red yoke
Waverley were Black & red stripes
Sunshine were Navy with White yoke
Preston Red with White PFC monogram
Prahran were Royal Blue with Kye Blue collar and cuffs. and this logo:
logo.png
This was originally a Sky Blue shield and Royal Blue letters

And the VFL:

81px-Sandringham_Zebras_Jumper.svg.png
Sandringham

Have noticed that Sandringham have two guernseys, but I'm not quite sure whether one is a home and the other is away, or what the deal is. Can anyone enlighten me? They wear the stripes more often. I tend to prefer the other guernsey than the verticle stripes. I couldn't find any good photos but here is an average one.
1997.jpg

Also noticed a a few of the VFL guernseys were slightly wrong.
CASEY SCORPIONS- Another diagonal line going down, next to the scorpion.
COLLINGWOOD- Stripes opposite colour way, pretty much the white AFL clash strip.
PORT MELBOURNE- More stripes than 3, another 2 along the sides.
SANDRINGHAM- Opposite colour way, Gold down the middle.
GOLD COAST- Obviously a made-up design.

with the Gold Coast, they're playing the Brisbane Lions Reserves in the Curtain Raiser this Saturday night, will surely indicate what they're wearing for the up coming VFL Season

Subiaco have worn something like 15 different jumpers over the years, just walk into their offices at leedy oval to get an idea of it. Hasnt been any clubs fold or merge in the WAFL since the early early days. for the most part aside from subi the WAFL jumpers have always been pretty consistent, off the top of my head, perth, WP, EP have never made changes, EF, SF, Claremont, Peel and SD have only made one or two changes each.

Is that what they will wear all the time? or just an away?

Gotta say I liked the old, rather than a re-coloured version of our away

Home guernsey until at least the end of 2011, where they will reconsider once more. Less change is for the better IMO.

Unveiled at the club’s jumper presentation night yesterday, the alternate strip will be worn against non-VFA clubs Bendigo, North Ballarat, Collingwood, Geelong and Gold Coast.

The traditional Mustangs jumper will still be worn against VFA rivals including Coburg, Port Melbourne, Williamstown and Sandringham.

I'm glad the traditional guernsey will still be worn. Im all for 'moving forward with the times' but tradition, especially of importance such as long time guernseys, still needs to be upheld.

A couple of posters have made comments about histories of jumpers at WAFL, VFL, SANFL clubs. After first viewing Mero's AFL jumpers website a couple of years ago, I got inspired and tried to develop a similar history of WAFL guernseys.

The information that I have been able to find is based largely on the WAFL Football Budgets (WA's equivalent Footy Record, which I have collected every issue back to 1954), Westside Football newspaper (1979-1997) and various club history books. I have also written to WAFL clubs asking for their input and confirmation, but only a few clubs have replied.

Anyway, the following images are what I have been able to find so far. I have combined each club into a single image for the purpose of displaying on this board as it would be very time consuming to post almost 200 separate guernseys individually. Some of the guernseys may look the same as an adjacent one, but they vary slightly with collars, jumper numbers, etc.

Straight off the bat, I do not claim to have the same 100% accuracy of Mero's website, but I am confident that it is pretty close. Also, given that lack of info, I have also assumed that jumper numbers were introduced in 1912 (one year after the VFL), but I am happy to be corrected. As always, I would welcome any feedback or errors.

Claremont
2icbc6w.png

(1) 1926-1935 (2) 1936-1938 (3) 1939-1955 (4) 1956-1963 (5) 1964-1975 (6) 1976-1981 (7) 1982-1984 (8) 1985-1990 (9) 1991 (10) 1992-1993, 1999-2005 (11) Pre-season 1993-1996 (12) 1994-1998 (13) 2006 (14) One-off Promotion for Kicking Goals Youth Program 2006 (15) 2007 (16) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2007 (17) 2008-2009 (18) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2008 (19) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009 (20) 2010

East Fremantle
2qd8m8i.png

(1) 1898-1903 (2) 1903-1911 (3) 1912 (4) 1913-1920 (5) 1921-1922 (6) 1923 (7) 1924 (8) 1925-1929 (9) 1930-1933 (10) 1934-1939 (11) 1940-1943, 1947-1950 (12) 1944-1946 (13) 1951-1953 (14) 1954-1963 (15) 1964-1976 (16) 1977-1981 (17) 1982-1983 (18) 1984 (19) 1985-1996 (20) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (21) 1997 (22) 1998-2007 (23) One-off Promotion for Prestige Home Loans sponsors 2006 (24) 2008- (25) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

East Perth
2hd9s9w.png

(1) 1906-1907 (2) 1908-1912 (3) 1913 (4) 1914-1927, 1935-1945, 1947-1955 (5) 1928-1930 (6) 1931-1934 (7) 1946 (8) 1956-1964 (9) 1965-1976 (10) 1977-1981 (11) 1982-1984 (12) 1985-1992 (13) 1993-2004 (14) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (15) 2005 (16) 2006-2007 (17) 2008- (18) One-off Heritage game vs Subiaco 2008 (19) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Peel
el67hu.png

(1) 1997-1998 (2) Clash 1997-2000 (3) 1999-2004 (4) 2005-2006 (5) 2007 (6) Clash 2007 (7) 2008-now (8) Clash 2008-now (9) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

2ajygz7.png

(1) 1899-1906 (2) 1907-1912 (3) 1913-1933 (4) 1934-1935 (5) 1936-1947 (6) 1948-1976 (7) Clash 1976 (8) 1977-1981 (9) 1982-1984 (10) 1985-1995 (11) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (12) 1996 (13) 1997-1998 (14) 1999-2000 (15) 2001-2006 (16) One-off Promotion for Home Building Society sponsors 2005 (17) 2007 (18) Clash 2007 (19) WAFL Heritage Round 2007 (20) 2008-now (21) Clash 2008 (22) Clash 2009 (23) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

South Fremantle
mhr9l3.png

(1) 1900-1910 (not 100% certain about back of guernsey) (2) 1911-1912 (3) 1913-1915 (4) 1916-1919 (5) 1920 (6) 1921-1924 (7) 1925-1927 (8) 1928-1932 (9) 1933-1937 (10) 1938-1940 (11) 1941-1945 (12) 1946-1963 (13) 1964-1974 (14) 1975-1981, 1992-1994 (15) 1982-1984 (16) 1985-1991 (17) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (18) 1995 and Clash 1996-2003 (19) 1996-2003 (20) 2004-2007 (21) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2007 (22) 2008-now (23) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2008 (24) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Subiaco
177p5l.png

(1) 1901-1908, 1911-1912 (2) 1909-1910 (3) 1913 (4) 1914-1923 (5) 1924-1930, 1933-1941 (6) 1931-1932 (7) 1942-1946, 1948-1951, 1955-1963, 1968-1974 (8) 1947 (9) 1952 (10) 1953-1954 (11) 1964-1967 (12) 1975-1979 (13) Away 1975-1979 (14) 1980-1981, 1993-1994 (15) 1982-1984 (16) 1985-1992, 1995-1996 (17) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (18) 1997-1999 (19) 2000-2001 (20) 2002-2007 (21) Clash 2006-2007 (22) WAFL Heritage Round 2007 (23) 2008-now (24) Clash 2008-now (25) One-off Heritage game vs East Perth 2008 (26) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Swan Districts
aad3mb.png

(1) 1934-1941, 1943-1944 (2) 1945-1946 (3) 1947-1948 (4) 1949-1950 (5) 1951-1953 (6) 1954-1960 (7) 1961-1972 (8) 1973-1977 (9) 1978-1981, 1992-1994, 1997-1999 (10) 1982-1984 (11) 1985-1991, 1995-1996 (12) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (13) 2000-2002 (14) 2003-2007 (15) One-off Promotion for Kicking Goals Youth Program 2006 (16) Clash 2006-2007 (17) One-off Promotion for Kicking Goals Youth Program 2007 (18) 2008-now (19) Clash 2008 (20) One-off Promotion for Haydn Bunton Jnr Cup vs Subiaco 2008 (21) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

West Perth
11raxza.png

(1) 1885-1888 (known as Victorians) (2) 1889-1890 (known as Metropolitans) (3) 1891-1896 (4) 1897-1900 (5) 1901-1909 (6) 1910-1912 (7) 1913-1920 (8) 1921 (9) 1922-1929 (10) 1930-1931 (11) 1932-1939 (12) 1940-1945 (13) 1946 (14) 1947-1976 (15) 1977-1981 (16) 1982-1984 (17) 1985-1989 (18) 1990, 1995-2002 (19) 1991-1994, 2003-2007 (20) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (21) WAFL Heritage Round 2007 (22) 2008-now (23) One-off Heritage guernsey 2008 (24) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Top stuff Paulie. Do you have plans to forward them to Mero, or to host them on a website yourself?

Thanks for the positive comments. And yes, it has taken a lot of time ... but it's something I love(d) doing.

It would also be good if someone could do a similar thing for the VFA/VFL teams.

I actually did speak with Mero a couple of years back and sent him what I had up to that point. If he is still interested, I would be more than happy to re-send my latest data to him for display on the famous Footy Jumpers website.

Thanks for the positive comments. And yes, it has taken a lot of time ... but it's something I love(d) doing.

It would also be good if someone could do a similar thing for the VFA/VFL teams.

I actually did speak with Mero a couple of years back and sent him what I had up to that point. If he is still interested, I would be more than happy to re-send my latest data to him for display on the famous Footy Jumpers website.

Paul, I lost your email when I moved overseas.
I would love to see what you have added.
Please send to my Hotmail email, if you still have it.
(The one I link to from the site contacts)

No worries, mate. I will combine everything into a zip file and send it to you shortly.

great work mate, very impressed

A couple of posters have made comments about histories of jumpers at WAFL, VFL, SANFL clubs. After first viewing Mero's AFL jumpers website a couple of years ago, I got inspired and tried to develop a similar history of WAFL guernseys.

The information that I have been able to find is based largely on the WAFL Football Budgets (WA's equivalent Footy Record, which I have collected every issue back to 1954), Westside Football newspaper (1979-1997) and various club history books. I have also written to WAFL clubs asking for their input and confirmation, but only a few clubs have replied.

Anyway, the following images are what I have been able to find so far. I have combined each club into a single image for the purpose of displaying on this board as it would be very time consuming to post almost 200 separate guernseys individually. Some of the guernseys may look the same as an adjacent one, but they vary slightly with collars, jumper numbers, etc.

Straight off the bat, I do not claim to have the same 100% accuracy of Mero's website, but I am confident that it is pretty close. Also, given that lack of info, I have also assumed that jumper numbers were introduced in 1912 (one year after the VFL), but I am happy to be corrected. As always, I would welcome any feedback or errors.

Claremont
2icbc6w.png

(1) 1926-1935 (2) 1936-1938 (3) 1939-1955 (4) 1956-1963 (5) 1964-1975 (6) 1976-1981 (7) 1982-1984 (8) 1985-1990 (9) 1991 (10) 1992-1993, 1999-2005 (11) Pre-season 1993-1996 (12) 1994-1998 (13) 2006 (14) One-off Promotion for Kicking Goals Youth Program 2006 (15) 2007 (16) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2007 (17) 2008-2009 (18) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2008 (19) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009 (20) 2010

East Fremantle
2qd8m8i.png

(1) 1898-1903 (2) 1903-1911 (3) 1912 (4) 1913-1920 (5) 1921-1922 (6) 1923 (7) 1924 (8) 1925-1929 (9) 1930-1933 (10) 1934-1939 (11) 1940-1943, 1947-1950 (12) 1944-1946 (13) 1951-1953 (14) 1954-1963 (15) 1964-1976 (16) 1977-1981 (17) 1982-1983 (18) 1984 (19) 1985-1996 (20) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (21) 1997 (22) 1998-2007 (23) One-off Promotion for Prestige Home Loans sponsors 2006 (24) 2008- (25) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

East Perth
2hd9s9w.png

(1) 1906-1907 (2) 1908-1912 (3) 1913 (4) 1914-1927, 1935-1945, 1947-1955 (5) 1928-1930 (6) 1931-1934 (7) 1946 (8) 1956-1964 (9) 1965-1976 (10) 1977-1981 (11) 1982-1984 (12) 1985-1992 (13) 1993-2004 (14) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (15) 2005 (16) 2006-2007 (17) 2008- (18) One-off Heritage game vs Subiaco 2008 (19) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Peel
el67hu.png

(1) 1997-1998 (2) Clash 1997-2000 (3) 1999-2004 (4) 2005-2006 (5) 2007 (6) Clash 2007 (7) 2008-now (8) Clash 2008-now (9) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

2ajygz7.png

(1) 1899-1906 (2) 1907-1912 (3) 1913-1933 (4) 1934-1935 (5) 1936-1947 (6) 1948-1976 (7) Clash 1976 (8) 1977-1981 (9) 1982-1984 (10) 1985-1995 (11) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (12) 1996 (13) 1997-1998 (14) 1999-2000 (15) 2001-2006 (16) One-off Promotion for Home Building Society sponsors 2005 (17) 2007 (18) Clash 2007 (19) WAFL Heritage Round 2007 (20) 2008-now (21) Clash 2008 (22) Clash 2009 (23) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

South Fremantle
mhr9l3.png

(1) 1900-1910 (not 100% certain about back of guernsey) (2) 1911-1912 (3) 1913-1915 (4) 1916-1919 (5) 1920 (6) 1921-1924 (7) 1925-1927 (8) 1928-1932 (9) 1933-1937 (10) 1938-1940 (11) 1941-1945 (12) 1946-1963 (13) 1964-1974 (14) 1975-1981, 1992-1994 (15) 1982-1984 (16) 1985-1991 (17) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (18) 1995 and Clash 1996-2003 (19) 1996-2003 (20) 2004-2007 (21) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2007 (22) 2008-now (23) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2008 (24) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Subiaco
177p5l.png

(1) 1901-1908, 1911-1912 (2) 1909-1910 (3) 1913 (4) 1914-1923 (5) 1924-1930, 1933-1941 (6) 1931-1932 (7) 1942-1946, 1948-1951, 1955-1963, 1968-1974 (8) 1947 (9) 1952 (10) 1953-1954 (11) 1964-1967 (12) 1975-1979 (13) Away 1975-1979 (14) 1980-1981, 1993-1994 (15) 1982-1984 (16) 1985-1992, 1995-1996 (17) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (18) 1997-1999 (19) 2000-2001 (20) 2002-2007 (21) Clash 2006-2007 (22) WAFL Heritage Round 2007 (23) 2008-now (24) Clash 2008-now (25) One-off Heritage game vs East Perth 2008 (26) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Swan Districts
aad3mb.png

(1) 1934-1941, 1943-1944 (2) 1945-1946 (3) 1947-1948 (4) 1949-1950 (5) 1951-1953 (6) 1954-1960 (7) 1961-1972 (8) 1973-1977 (9) 1978-1981, 1992-1994, 1997-1999 (10) 1982-1984 (11) 1985-1991, 1995-1996 (12) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (13) 2000-2002 (14) 2003-2007 (15) One-off Promotion for Kicking Goals Youth Program 2006 (16) Clash 2006-2007 (17) One-off Promotion for Kicking Goals Youth Program 2007 (18) 2008-now (19) Clash 2008 (20) One-off Promotion for Haydn Bunton Jnr Cup vs Subiaco 2008 (21) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

West Perth
11raxza.png

(1) 1885-1888 (known as Victorians) (2) 1889-1890 (known as Metropolitans) (3) 1891-1896 (4) 1897-1900 (5) 1901-1909 (6) 1910-1912 (7) 1913-1920 (8) 1921 (9) 1922-1929 (10) 1930-1931 (11) 1932-1939 (12) 1940-1945 (13) 1946 (14) 1947-1976 (15) 1977-1981 (16) 1982-1984 (17) 1985-1989 (18) 1990, 1995-2002 (19) 1991-1994, 2003-2007 (20) Pre-Season 1993-1996 (21) WAFL Heritage Round 2007 (22) 2008-now (23) One-off Heritage guernsey 2008 (24) One-off Promotion for NAIDOC Aboriginal Week 2009

Have noticed that Sandringham have two guernseys, but I'm not quite sure whether one is a home and the other is away, or what the deal is. Can anyone enlighten me? They wear the stripes more often. I tend to prefer the other guernsey than the verticle stripes. I couldn't find any good photos but here is an average one.
1997.jpg
Forgive me if i am wrong, but from all my years watching the Zebbies, the vertical stripes is their away jumper (their only jumper before the VFA became the VFL) and the Zebra squiggle is the home.