Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

No one is asking Moir to dominate before getting a call up.

Carlton, more than any other team in the competition, relies on front half pressure and locking the ball in inside 50. The difference between our best and worst is how easily teams are able to win the ball back and transition from our long bombs inside 50.

The Tigers took countless intercept marks and rebounded with ease. Harry was non existent. While Curnow had zero offensive impact, he managed to bring the ball to ground most times, and our pressure was good enough to contest and stop the Hawks from rebounding.

Not sure why we play the way we do, but we've been doing it long enough that I have to believe it's intentional. My best guess is the coaches have no faith in our small forwards, so we aim to either win a contested mark or get a stoppage, getting our mids involved and allowing us to set up defensively.

Regardless, for this system to work, it requires ferocious forward half pressure. Teams at AFL level are far too good at finding the loose man and rebounding. If Moir is unable or unwilling to pressure, he'll be detrimental to our style of play and won't be picked.

We need to change our style of play. Not sure who said it here in BF but I agree with them that our game style is extremely taxing, it’s hard work it’s a grind. Nothing comes easy from it.

But back to Moir. He’s never going to get better plodding along in the 2s he needs time at afl level.
I’m not saying he’s the saviour either. But he needs to play. It’s like we’re allergic to blooding our youngsters. Why?
Because we have an extremely taxing and old game plan. That all the other team have figured out.
It’s time to change.
We all know what the definition of insanity is! And old mate Voss is doubling down and will be committed to the asylum soon.

Pages of debate whether to Moir, or not to Moir. Is he ready, is he not?

The kid showed after his cameo last year, that he loves the game and loved the big time. He needs another taste. Clearly has led a charmed existence, ultra talented and dominated at the lower levels by pure ability. Never had to work for it.

Is not driven to maximise his talents. I want to ask the question, why can’t our coaches, psyches, fitness gurus get him to where he needs to be? It reflects on the kids, but surely reflects more on the staff. The kid wants it, why can’t the messaging get through? Surely there is a combination of the stick and the offer of “treats” that can elevate him to a higher level, to at least somewhat vindicate his potential.

The carrot of public adulation, self satisfaction and multiplying his earnings has to ring home. Give him another taste, take it back off him and make him meet criteria to get back there. He clearly feels he has done a pre season and is in line, give him a taste of what he wants, then deny another taste until he earns it.

Rhetoric suggesting we can’t play him as sub because he will lose fitness due to not playing four quarters is BS of the highest order. There are a myriad of ways to motivate individuals, find the right one. Our coaches are charged with optimising the individual and collective performance of the players under them, it is about time they did just that.

It works in reverse. Bull at a gate players like Walsh, who only know see ball get ball should be reprogrammed and possibly repurposed. He is supposed to be a leader. Teach him to lead by doing what is best for the team. Perhaps play him on a wing, compel him to play a structured game, get some easy ball, and hit some bloody targets. We have Cripps, Hewett and Cerra to lead the inside brigade. Lord, maybe Ben Campo and definitely, in time, Jagga are the future, let them develop. Save Walsh from himself, but dangle the carrot of getting back in where he wants to be by excelling in another related area.

The boys have to learn to be a part of a team.

We seem to want to spend a lot of time waiting for kids to become superstars in the VFL. If Moir's issue is workrate then I'm happy for him to be held back while they push him harder. If the issue is tank, then screw it, let him build it while playing in the seniors, at least then he's simultaneously getting used to the level, the pressure, the opposition, the teammates, the stakes, the attention etc.

Our VFL delivery is significantly worse than our shit AFL delivery, if we're demanding that Moir kick 5 GOTY contenders per game before he "earns" a call up, it'll never happen.
Same with Wilson, Binns etc.

If we want them to build consistency at VFL level, they will become VFL level footballers.

We need them to be more than that

The problem with Moir is that he needs to show more at VFL level so there can be some level of selection integrity to get the call up. Last year he got the call up as he was one of the few remaining fit players rather than being in form. Otherwise everyone else rightly gets there nose out of joint about playing well and not being rewarded for it but there being a double standard for him.

You think we could ever be accused of having selection integrity as is?

No one is asking Moir to dominate before getting a call up.

Carlton, more than any other team in the competition, relies on front half pressure and locking the ball in inside 50. The difference between our best and worst is how easily teams are able to win the ball back and transition from our long bombs inside 50.

The Tigers took countless intercept marks and rebounded with ease. Harry was non existent. While Curnow had zero offensive impact, he managed to bring the ball to ground most times, and our pressure was good enough to contest and stop the Hawks from rebounding.

Not sure why we play the way we do, but we've been doing it long enough that I have to believe it's intentional. My best guess is the coaches have no faith in our small forwards, so we aim to either win a contested mark or get a stoppage, getting our mids involved and allowing us to set up defensively.

Regardless, for this system to work, it requires ferocious forward half pressure. Teams at AFL level are far too good at finding the loose man and rebounding. If Moir is unable or unwilling to pressure, he'll be detrimental to our style of play and won't be picked.

Maybe with a dangerous goal sneak we can rely less on forward pressure and more on scoreboard pressure....

The current defensive forward system isn't working and isn't sustainable. Change it up, play our most dangerous forward 6 and see if we can become the kind of side that can win games with 30% less F50 entries than the opposition, not the kind of side that can lose games despite having 30% more.

Maybe with a dangerous goal sneak we can rely less on forward pressure and more on scoreboard pressure....

The current defensive forward system isn't working and isn't sustainable. Change it up, play our most dangerous forward 6 and see if we can become the kind of side that can win games with 30% less F50 entries than the opposition, not the kind of side that can lose games despite having 30% more.

Our most dangerous forward 6 setup might just be:

Elijah McKay Williams
White Curnow Moir

Losing faith in Motlop and Fogarty

I completely agree, was just asking if his job is actually under threat.
Was some joking around going on with hutchy etc on radio earlier today

One of them went with a story that Voss and the club have decided to part ways…which I thought was believable considering our poor start but they went on to say that it was from Tom Browne satire Insta account or something like that…

Either way i think his days as a head coach are coming to end fast …

Was some joking around going on with hutchy etc on radio earlier today

One of them went with a story that Voss and the club have decided to part ways…which I thought was believable considering our poor start but they went on to say that it was from Tom Browne satire Insta account or something like that…

Either way i think his days as a head coach are coming to end fast …
3AW actually went with that rumour as fact on radio last week, they had to apologise

At the moment I don’t think so but things need to improve and quickly

We couldn’t pull 63k for a home game in Round 2 at the MCG.

I was there & reckon that crowd was near evens.

On & off field things are not going that well.

Just sayin’

We couldn’t pull 63k for a home game in Round 2 at the MCG.

I was there & reckon that crowd was near evens.

On & off field things are not going that well.

Just sayin’
No chance … I have a running joke with my hawks mate they have 8 supporters and it was evident Thursday night … most were Carlton mate … if the weather was a bit better heaps more would have went but def not even

Well.

I was there.

Will stick with my story.

Go find your 8 mates.

Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

Write your reply...