Western Border Football League

Enough about Kelly. He has had a fair run on this forum. Lets let his footy do the talking. What was the game like Imps V Hamilton?

i can only comment i what i see, saw merrett against imps and he got smashed, i was disappointed from a spectator going to the game, when you shop yourself around and make it common knowlegde, then you are always open to criticism. kelly never pumped up his own tyres, you mustnt watch much footy because he has had much more than average year, certainly the interleague selectors thought he was a good player!!

And the aussie selectors must have thought merrett was not too shabby either!
I like u can only go by what you see, and kelly hasnt been the player that some in here have made him out to be.
If i was a betting man i would put a fair bit on that he has a very good finals series.
but as you say u can only go by what u see. im not the 1 speculating that someone shopped themselves around. even if you heard someone say it, do u know for a fact that it is true? in other words did he directly say to u what he was commanding and/or what he was getting?

anyhoo i want to know about some of the other games on the weekend. like how good was copping?
i reckon him, grant ewing, flett, james imbi, england will be the top 5 in the medal

Enough about Kelly. He has had a fair run on this forum. Lets let his footy do the talking. What was the game like Imps V Hamilton?

The game was a bit of a scrap, but you usually get that with these two sides against each other. As funny as it may sound but i think both clubs would appreciate a bigger oval and don't get much of a home ground advantage with the running sides that they both have. Imps got to 20 points up early in the last quarter and then Hamilton came back at them and hit the lead with only a couple of minutes to go. Grant Ewing kicked the sealer with about 10 seconds left on the clock.

Dare I say it, Kelly was good for Imps as well as Ewing - a very good player G.Ewing, will go close to the medal from what I have seen this year.

You blokes are kidding yourselves. Darren Kelly is the best thing 'since the round wheel' Mark my words, also a finals specialist. Good luck with that pr0n.:p

I'd have to agree with gp here. Wait till finals where he will tear sides a new ring hole. Would easily be in imps top 3 players and loves the big occasion. Can't wait for finals for big dazza to turn it on!

I am not commenting on Kelly as a player, just sick of hearing about him. Have only seen him once, early in the year so cant comment on him as a player.
I'd have to agree with gp here. Wait till finals where he will tear sides a new ring hole. Would easily be in imps top 3 players and loves the big occasion. Can't wait for finals for big dazza to turn it on!

is the top five all wrapped up?
will heath brown win the leading goal kicking?
6 on the weekend puts him in good stead

top five will still as is but expect an upset or two with a couple of sides outside the five causing some upsets. looks like south are hitting there straps but portland still look like a shoe in with imps not far behind. hamilton have injuries and got pushed on the weekend by west who are getting a few of their players back by the look. also ryan from west is the only one who will challenge brown for the goalkicking.. heard heywood had the sprinklers on friday night down there which may explain the low scoring affair against east and why it was a reasonably close result

heard heywood had the sprinklers on friday night down there which may explain the low scoring affair against east and why it was a reasonably close result

was actually a dry game snouter!! sprinklers dont work at heywood.
how bout ya just pay credit to the lions who played some pretty good footy.

As far as I know, Hampden have approached the Imps "hierarchy" expressing interest in them moving to their league. The players, members etc of Imps have not been told any more. I believe there is to be a meeting in the near future for all concerned at the club and possibly vote on a move. As I say "possibly". This was the process that happened a few years back. Imps members probably know as much as everyone else at this stage - what we have read in the papers.

Being a member myself, I will keep you in the loop as it is in the best interests of every WBFL follower.

strong rumours that heywood are looking to move to south west next year, have you heard anything likeapuma? any talk amongst the players and supporters? would suggest it would be worrying WBFL executives if heywood and imps decide to move leagues. what do people think might happen?

Was listening to the 3yb local footy show. Didnt catch it all, but I think they were talking about Imps meeting with the Hampden League. If Imps leave the WBFL it may be the beginning of the end of the WBFL as we know it. Pretty worrying times i think. How long will Heywood keep fronting up to cop another belting. If a couple a vic sides disappear will the SA sides then start considering their options. Craig Keating is a good man. Lets hope he is on top of all this.

heywood wont move back to south west. would be a set back to the young players and the club that has made steady progress on and off field this season. average age of the senior side is only 19 so planty of development to come. showed that yesterday when plyed casterton and lost by 3 points

Is this stuff on again? Ive benn hearing stories like this since 1994!!!

There is a reason this keeps popping up, but it is not what most people outside the story would think.
The SW league, much like the Hampden league, realise that the structure of their competitions would be stronger if they could add more teams to it. Heywood is geographically in a good position to join the SW league, so is an obvious target. From what I understand the gossip about that club joining the SW since the early to mid 90s has almost exclusively been started from South West sources, who have a vested interest, as creating instability in the Heywood club by spreading these rumours hampers that club's recruiting efforts by creating a feeling of uncertainty around the club's future, while also leaving some members within the Heywood club disallusioned as to where they stand in the club and if there are people in the club who are pushing in that direction covertly. From what I understand it has been very rare that there has actually been a Heywood member of any significance who has been interested in pursuing that move at any point in the club's history and I can assure all members on this site and in the public that the club will not at any point in the near future be making that move. The Heywood Football Netball Club would have too much to lose by making the move to the SW league and I am yet to be convinced they would have much, if anything, to gain other than some short term on field success, which is dubious in itself as a large portion of the playing group would not stay at the club to play lower level football. If the other members of the Western Border are serious when they say teams like Heywood and Imperials need to stay in the WB league for the betterment of that league, both clubs, in particular Heywood, need those members of other clubs to stop aiding the SW by keeping these unfounded rumours circulating.
Yes, the SW has made an offer, but did not even have the balls to comment on it when approached by the paper down this way, so they can't be real serious about wanting the club, can they? And while an offer has been made, there is NO danger the club will accept that offer. Period. So the next time someone brings it up to you in conversation, tell them it is untrue and if they persist tell them they are full of shite and vandalising our great competition, not just a battling footy club doing its best to stay a part of it.

There is a reason this keeps popping up, but it is not what most people outside the story would think.
The SW league, much like the Hampden league, realise that the structure of their competitions would be stronger if they could add more teams to it. Heywood is geographically in a good position to join the SW league, so is an obvious target. From what I understand the gossip about that club joining the SW since the early to mid 90s has almost exclusively been started from South West sources, who have a vested interest, as creating instability in the Heywood club by spreading these rumours hampers that club's recruiting efforts by creating a feeling of uncertainty around the club's future, while also leaving some members within the Heywood club disallusioned as to where they stand in the club and if there are people in the club who are pushing in that direction covertly. From what I understand it has been very rare that there has actually been a Heywood member of any significance who has been interested in pursuing that move at any point in the club's history and I can assure all members on this site and in the public that the club will not at any point in the near future be making that move. The Heywood Football Netball Club would have too much to lose by making the move to the SW league and I am yet to be convinced they would have much, if anything, to gain other than some short term on field success, which is dubious in itself as a large portion of the playing group would not stay at the club to play lower level football. If the other members of the Western Border are serious when they say teams like Heywood and Imperials need to stay in the WB league for the betterment of that league, both clubs, in particular Heywood, need those members of other clubs to stop aiding the SW by keeping these unfounded rumours circulating.
Yes, the SW has made an offer, but did not even have the balls to comment on it when approached by the paper down this way, so they can't be real serious about wanting the club, can they? And while an offer has been made, there is NO danger the club will accept that offer. Period. So the next time someone brings it up to you in conversation, tell them it is untrue and if they persist tell them they are full of shite and vandalising our great competition, not just a battling footy club doing its best to stay a part of it.
thanks little footy battler, that is a sensational response, certainly set the record straight, if anybody asks about Heywood and going to SW, i can direct them to your response, which leaves no doubt about where the lions are heading, thanks for filling in those who just hear all the bullshit that circulates.
Imperials are exploring there options in regards to Hampden league, meetings with players and members to be held in next few weeks.

thanks little footy battler, that is a sensational response, certainly set the record straight, if anybody asks about Heywood and going to SW, i can direct them to your response, which leaves no doubt about where the lions are heading, thanks for filling in those who just hear all the bullshit that circulates.
Imperials are exploring there options in regards to Hampden league, meetings with players and members to be held in next few weeks.

heywood football netball club will hold a comunity meeting at the clubs rooms tomorrow(tuesday) night at 730p.m. this is an open forum for any interested persons to attend

Great to hear your response Little Footy Battler. We need all sides to stay in the WBFL. Once a league loses one side its all to easy to lose more. Great to see the passion coming through in your response. Would be sad if Imps decide to head to the Hampden League. Have been a powerhouse at times in the WBFL.

No worries, must have got bad mail.. And by the way have been a big supporter of heywood and their struggle so wasnt taking pot shots...

Long time reader, first time poster.

Wanted to back up Little Footy Battlers comments about the South West causing trouble for Heywood by creating uncertainty and instability.

If you remember back to the start of the year, the South West publicly stated they wanted a 10 to 12 team competition and Heywood was the one team identified as a target. This was the President of SW being quoted in the Portland and Hamilton papers, and when did they do this? January/February, at the peak recruiting time for all clubs. So when footballers were looking at where to play in 2008, Heywood had to deal with rumours of them joining the SW league. The SW effectively undermined Heywoods 2008 season.

Besides, what would they gain? Maybe a few successful season before being brought back to the pack. They'd lose their better players (who would go to Portland to play a decent standard of football). They'd lose considerable media attention and with it support and sponsors. They'd lose their Under 18s which would impact their whole junior structure. Look at Coleraine - no under Under 18s, no Under 16s and are struggling for numbers in the Under 14s. There would be no pathway for the Under 16 players and they'd lose these players (and naturally their younger siblings) to other teams and other sports. Again, look at Coleraine they've had to resort to bringing in players from Mount Gambier and the Mid South East because there aren't enough numbers coming through the juniors. Hockey on the other hand is reportedly very strong and healthy in Coleraine.

South West and Hampden have very obvious problems (Hampden lost 3 teams in 2 years) and rather than fixing the problems themselves they're looking at the WBFL, a healthier competition as a way of addressing the issues.

how did the community meeting go @ heywood, what was the general feel and who spoke?

think the meeting went well club rooms were packed.
eague president had a fair bit to say along with many other supporters members of commitee and coaching staff