Whacko Jacko

• Thread starter Thread starter ize_

jackson can have all the desire and grunt in the world. The bottom line is he cant consisantly play AFL seniors because he cant play the game well enough to win his own footy.

His decision making by hand and foot are appalling. cannot get around opponents and freezes like a deer in the headlight when confronted with the ball.

If jackson is in our 22 just because of his physical size then god help us!

He is not in the best 22 for pure football talent. not even in the top 30.

well put :thumbsu:

the only player that should be in the team that is not in the 30 most talented is the ruckmen. he does have some faults. but all can be fixed. only if he gets off his ass and works like a asain running there milkbar. infact now that our list is tight and its harder to get a game every one should work there ass off over the summer

I think it will be him and Polo fighting for each other's spot as a tagger. Maybe one of them will take Johnson's spot. Jacko goes in hard at every contest. Like it has been said he needs to cement his spot next year.

i still remember him tearing collingwood a new orifice last year. someone needed to step up in that game and he won it off his own boot. yes i know it was only one game but the promise is there...

He improved out of sight in the second half of the season. Looks like he has the confidence now and i reckon he will play all 22 games next year. How old is he anyway???

Bingo......give the guy a prize. :thumbsu:

Jackson is what you get if Paul Bullus and Brian Leys had a love child...

LMAO.....Which one is the child bearer???

FWIW I have never thought that Jacko was slow when it came to foot speed but he does look so at times because of indecision.
I think he could well be the Kel of 2009.

LMAO.....Which one is the child bearer???

FWIW I have never thought that Jacko was slow when it came to foot speed but he does look so at times because of indecision.
I think he could well be the Kel of 2009.

Leys always dropped the ball. He'd certainly be able to drop that load too.
;)

jackson= slow, dumb, poor vision, etc..........

bulk and grunt isnt enough to cover those factors
Slow he is not, actually one of our quickest over 100. Dumb he certainly is not. How many players have ever based a career on their bloody vision? It's a bonus skill.

Yeh, I'd probably reword that by RichotheGreat
"jackson= slow, dumb, poor vision, etc.........."

Jackson in fact is, slow, dumb, and has poor vision IN TRAFFIC.
So in fact, you can have an Olympic sprinter playing for Richmond. Yippee!
Doesn't mean a pinch of dog's do if he can't think through a game!

Jackson is hugely overrated by some people here and at the club.
Jackson is just a player. Until someone evenly slightly better comes along and knocks him out of the team.....then the squad.

Yeh, I'd probably reword that by RichotheGreat
"jackson= slow, dumb, poor vision, etc.........."

Jackson in fact is, slow, dumb, and has poor vision IN TRAFFIC.
So in fact, you can have an Olympic sprinter playing for Richmond. Yippee!
Doesn't mean a pinch of dog's do if he can't think through a game!

Jackson is hugely overrated by some people here and at the club.
Jackson is just a player. Until someone evenly slightly better comes along and knocks him out of the team.....then the squad.

I don't believe his decision making in traffic is as bad as it seems. He doesn't get heaps of opportunities at Senior level, so when he does he is overwilling to do the team thing. You'll notice in traffic a few times this year he automatically ran back towards traffic when he had the ball waiting to find a team mate to give it to, rather than banging it onto the boot blindly before getting tackled. I've only really notice him do it more this season. It's something you'd expect him to fix up pretty quickly once he is playing regular seniors. Experience will make him make the right decisions nearly every time. He has several good qualities. He's among the top 3 or 4 kicks on our list and possibly the longest kick. He has size, strength, grunt and pace to win his own ball in the middle and he has discipline. i think he'll be an important part of our 22 by the end of next season. He's had a tough run like Polo has to get a game. Both players should be our main taggers. When Jacko needs a rest, then Polo comes on to tag. Big future ahead :cool:

jackson can have all the desire and grunt in the world. The bottom line is he cant consisantly play AFL seniors because he cant play the game well enough to win his own footy.

His decision making by hand and foot are appalling. cannot get around opponents and freezes like a deer in the headlight when confronted with the ball.

Here here axel - totally agree.

The sooner players like him are shown the door and replaced by 'footballers', the better. Jacko is marathon runner who would do well at the Commonwealth games - he's not the type of AFL player who will be part of a premiership winning team I wouldn't think.

Yes he's tough, can run all day and has a decent kick when he has 2 minutes to make a decision. Unfortunately pressure football doesn't agree with him and he consistantly makes silly errors due to his lack of football nouse which will ultimately lead to his trading/delisting.

Whilst I wish him all the best and HOPE he can somehow come good, I highly doubt it.

you stated he can run all day?

can he??

i've always thought his stanima and consistency has been his biggest issue, along with his concentration.

Dont rate him. Got some absolute towellings when he got a job on somebody.

But the thing that pissed me off the most was the amount of backward steps or literal stops he'd have in a game, screw it up or get caught and turn the momentum completley the other way.

Kane Johnson mark II. :thumbsu:

I don't believe his decision making in traffic is as bad as it seems. He doesn't get heaps of opportunities at Senior level, so when he does he is overwilling to do the team thing. You'll notice in traffic a few times this year he automatically ran back towards traffic when he had the ball waiting to find a team mate to give it to, rather than banging it onto the boot blindly before getting tackled. I've only really notice him do it more this season. It's something you'd expect him to fix up pretty quickly once he is playing regular seniors. Experience will make him make the right decisions nearly every time. He has several good qualities. He's among the top 3 or 4 kicks on our list and possibly the longest kick. He has size, strength, grunt and pace to win his own ball in the middle and he has discipline. i think he'll be an important part of our 22 by the end of next season. He's had a tough run like Polo has to get a game. Both players should be our main taggers. When Jacko needs a rest, then Polo comes on to tag. Big future ahead :cool:

MT, Jacko's a mad cattle dog....runs to every contest he can get to, but doesn't know what to do, when to do it, or how to do it successfully.

What would you know? You barrack for Carlton and recently moved to qld :o

pfht - what would you know? you want ro recruit Peter Street, and recently were seen driving round town listening to the music from "Double Dragon" full ball :o

end of the day, jacko is probably not cut out for AFL - really should have proven himself by now - but still finds himself every ****ing year in threads like these - debating if he is "gonna come good":rolleyes:

Excuse the subtlety, but what a complete load of shit.

Jackson will be Tuck's equal by the time he's that age and there's a stack of similarities between them.

He wins his own football, he's probably our best tackler, he's in the top-5 for long disposal by foot, he fends off tackles better than anyone else, versatile, strong, good engine, good pace - WTF more do you expect from a 22yo budding midfielder?

The Cotchin's and Deledio's of this world make mistakes every game, but because 'the herd' deemed them champions the day they pulled on the boots, these mistakes are just abberations.

The Jackson's of this world can average half as many mistakes (and bust their arse trying to immediately rectify them), but each one is confirmation of negative 'herd' opinion, while the far bigger amount of good things are just glossed over and forgotten.

Fortunately, our football department know they have a quality player and he will get his opportunities to show it. Then I suppose we'll have another hundred backflip opinions as 'the herd' finally wakes up and stops thinking with the part of their body most closest connected to their seat.

Jackson will be Tuck's equal by the time he's that age and there's a stack of similarities between them.

He wins his own football, he's probably our best tackler, he's in the top-5 for long disposal by foot, he fends off tackles better than anyone else, versatile, strong, good engine, good pace - WTF more do you expect from a 22yo budding midfielder?

The Cotchin's and Deledio's of this world make mistakes every game, but because 'the herd' deemed them champions the day they pulled on the boots, these mistakes are just abberations.

The Jackson's of this world can average half as many mistakes (and bust their arse trying to immediately rectify them), but each one is confirmation of negative 'herd' opinion, while the far bigger amount of good things are just glossed over and forgotten.

Fortunately, our football department know they have a quality player and he will get his opportunities to show it. Then I suppose we'll have another hundred backflip opinions as 'the herd' finally wakes up and stops thinking with the part of their body most closest connected to their seat.

GET ON THE JACKO WAGON :thumbsu:
EVERYONE
GET ON THE JACKO WAGON :D
GET ON THE JACKO WAGON :cool:
GET ON THE JACKO WAGON :)
ASTRO IS A FOOL
GET ON THE JACKO WAGON ;)
GET ON THE JACKO WAGON :p
ON SO ON

:thumbsu: I tried to find a section to bold, but I actually agree with every word.