Dynasty Done?

• Thread starter Thread starter AlterRob

It's just banter Robbie, just brush it off like a man and move on.

I don't mind brushing it off but you quote me time and time again as if you have some kind of inferior complex projected toward certain posters.

My prediction is not bold or out there at all, there are quite a few footy fans who would predict similar, if you didn't pay so much attention to what the media throw down your gullet...making your own statements on footy would be far more enlightening.
It's like all this crap at how well Buckley has coached all year and remained so calm when they were losing but it was Rodney Eade who did all the talking and faced the media while Buckley stayed behind closed doors.
They handle media the best of all the teams.
They win a game by a few points and it's honorable, gutsy and highlights their incredible depth & names such as Elliot, Keeffe, Sinclair, Young or Ugle are praised as being the key to their success and no way they won't be playing off in the grand final :p

Since when do kids playing their 1st or 2nd seasons stay consistent the whole year?

Please do not confuse loyalty and opinion. I accept that all the posters are bloyal Cat fans and would love to see the Cats win another flag this year. Just because some believe we will not, does not make them disloyal or not true Cat fans.

When I go to the football the thing I detest more than anyting is one eyed supporters - who only see free kicks going their teams way, that cannot applaud good opposition play and cannot accept loses when the opposition clearly deserved to win.

It is not worth your time discussing topics with one eyed supporters - because they are not rationale or willing to consider other possibilities - like our club is not the best team presently in the league.

They get emotive in their discussions, misinterpret statements that are not positive about our club and can get quite nasty when responding to opinions that differ from their own.

In the end nothing we write makes any difference - as the MC, the coach, the players and the admin of a club does not take advice from us - and go about their business as if this forum did not exist.

This is simply a forum for us to enjoy with other Cat supporters a sport we are passionate about and a club that we are fully committed to.

Try to remember - had you be born in a different family or a different region - you may follow a different AFL club, or worse a different code like rugby ! And just as passionately.

Great to be passionate - but inappropriate to be abusive.

Please do not confuse loyalty and opinion. I accept that all the posters are bloyal Cat fans and would love to see the Cats win another flag this year. Just because some believe we will not, does not make them disloyal or not true Cat fans.

When I go to the football the thing I detest more than anyting is one eyed supporters - who only see free kicks going their teams way, that cannot applaud good opposition play and cannot accept loses when the opposition clearly deserved to win.

It is not worth your time discussing topics with one eyed supporters - because they are not rationale or willing to consider other possibilities - like our club is not the best team presently in the league.

They get emotive in their discussions, misinterpret statements that are not positive about our club and can get quite nasty when responding to opinions that differ from their own.

In the end nothing we write makes any difference - as the MC, the coach, the players and the admin of a club does not take advice from us - and go about their business as if this forum did not exist.

This is simply a forum for us to enjoy with other Cat supporters a sport we are passionate about and a club that we are fully committed to.

Try to remember - had you be born in a different family or a different region - you may follow a different AFL club, or worse a different code like rugby ! And just as passionately.

Great to be passionate - but inappropriate to be abusive.
Works both ways Bel. We see everyone ganging up on Footscore every day on this board, yet the only one who speaks up about it is himself.

Fact of the matter is, a supporter can be one-eyed, pessimistic, but whatever it is, it is no one elses business. Seriously, what is it to anyone else how a person supports their club?

They can either agree to disagree with the person or gtfo. There's no room for hate on this board. Well there is for Justin Murphy.

Works both ways Bel. We see everyone ganging up on Footscore every day on this board, yet the only one who speaks up about it is himself.

Fact of the matter is, a supporter can be one-eyed, pessimistic, but whatever it is, it is no one elses business. Seriously, what is it to anyone else how a person supports their club?

They can either agree to disagree with the person or gtfo. There's no room for hate on this board. Well there is for Justin Murphy.

Yes you can choose to be one-eyed or pessimistic - or whatever as a supporter. Fine. That was not my point. My point was - if someone disagrees with you there is no need to be abusive and attack the person for their view.

Disagree with a poster - and even provide reasons why - and make an interesting debate where others may also indulge. But when you say I am right and you are wrong - and make it personal - I think that just closes down the discussion and turns it into an argument that is more about the posters than the topic.

I have been a member of this Board for 4 years now and I am generally really impressed with the attitude of the posters and how they conduct themselves. Nearly all the time posters accept that others may have a different view, and provide explanation and examples to support their own, differing point of view. It does not often become personal. It remains interesting and informative.

I see no advantage in becoming personal, playing the man.

appreciate the kind words mate :thumbsu:

I personally don't feel they are having a go at me because it's just me but more so the fact...I tend to go off-topic rather easily and can sometimes say things out of context which can come across the wrong way or demonstrative :oops:
Guess can't blame em for wanting to quote what I say from time to time.

As hbk mentioned...it's all banter but I'm guilty of it myself as I will fire back if questioned. Just have strong views when it comes to footy, anything else in life, I'll leave to to those who know better.

This board has always been a bit sensitive. You post an opinion one too many times that differs from peoples general views and people take note sometimes get overly personal with attack.

Regarding the Collingwood prediction it's interesting but I think going a touch to far. I can understand how it's come about and it's certainly more likely to happen than the media would have you believe but no certainty. Comment like "bookmark it" give the impression it's a certainty. I really believe Collingwood will lift once Pendlebury returns and I'd expect they'll comfortably finish top four. They've had Heath Shaw, Ben Reid, Swan, Tarrant and Pendlebury miss games and probably been under a heavy training load. With those guys back and a bit fresher leading in to the tail of the season I'd expect stronger performances but they do have a tougher draw.

I disagree with all of that.
1. West has not been competitive
2. 09, 11 comment is blatantly false.
3.None of the top 4 teams have major deficiencies like us.

I'm but that's just not correct. There's no great teams this year and every team has significant weaknesses.

Collingwood: Injuries have led to them having almost no depth. Jolly's ordinary and their backs get found out 1 on 1. Huge deficiencies.
West Coast: Probably the strongest team at full strength but injuries are a huge question mark. Also have to win the GF in Melbourne.
Hawthorn: No ruck or key backs. They're no better than last year.
Essendon: Still very young. Don't have much depth in inside midfielders. How their youngsters stand up in finals is a massive question.
Sydney: Similar to Essendon.
Adelaide: Similar to Essendon and Sydney. Massive questions over what they can produce in high intensity finals. Don't have the spread of guns like Collingwood, West Coast or even us.

We can win this year. It'll be tough from where we're coming from and it's unlikely. But the best team this year will be the weakest for a long, long time. That's what keeps us in the race really.

West Coast: Probably the strongest team at full strength but injuries are a huge question mark. Also have to win the GF in Melbourne.

West Coast's biggest issue I feel is that they aren't a very good contested footy team, I mean they are so use to spreading on the vast expanses of Subiaco that their style of game gets put under immense pressure in a final.
You watch when Sydney play them next week...Swans love contested footy and when it's congested where they can use their quick hands and seasoned bodies.

Eagles get in terrible trouble if Shuey or Priddis don't play a good game because the reliance on Kerr is too extreme.
Though I still feel they have the right balance this year and are most likely to be the team to beat but get em at the MCG and shut down a couple of those forwards and you got the match on your terms.
(easier said than done of course ;))

I'm but that's just not correct. There's no great teams this year and every team has significant weaknesses.

Collingwood: Injuries have led to them having almost no depth. Jolly's ordinary and their backs get found out 1 on 1. Huge deficiencies.
Hawthorn: No ruck or key backs. They're no better than last year.
Essendon: Still very young. Don't have much depth in inside midfielders. How their youngsters stand up in finals is a massive question.
Sydney: Similar to Essendon.
Adelaide: Similar to Essendon and Sydney. Massive questions over what they can produce in high intensity finals. Don't have the spread of guns like Collingwood, West Coast or even us.

We can win this year. It'll be tough from where we're coming from and it's unlikely. But the best team this year will be the weakest for a long, long time. That's what keeps us in the race really.

Just to clarify the comment was specifically structural deficiencies.

Generic comments about injuries, winning in Melbourne, still young etc. They are valid arguments as to weaknesses but they are not structural deficiencies. "backs get found out 1 on 1" is not a structural deficiency, a questionable observation too I might add.

Darren Jolly is significantly better than Trent West in the ruck. Jolly is actually quite decent. I can't see how you can argue otherwise.

The only team you've pin pointed as having structural deficiencies are Hawthorn which I agree is largely true. But then they are sixth (not top four) and I'd argue Roughhead back makes then structurally significantly better off than last year. They still get exposed down back and I reckon it will be an issue in finals.

appreciate the kind words mate :thumbsu:

I personally don't feel they are having a go at me because it's just me but more so the fact...I tend to go off-topic rather easily and can sometimes say things out of context which can come across the wrong way or demonstrative :oops:
Guess can't blame em for wanting to quote what I say from time to time.

As hbk mentioned...it's all banter but I'm guilty of it myself as I will fire back if questioned. Just have strong views when it comes to footy, anything else in life, I'll leave to to those who know better.

I know, we all have faults as posters but those faults should never be pointed out because frankly it is no one's bloody business.

PS calm down Bel, was agreeing with you :p

I know, we all have faults as posters but those faults should never be pointed out because frankly it is no one's bloody business.

PS calm down Bel, was agreeing with you :p
Dynasty just starting.....there is no team out there that we cant currently match and we have just as much cause for optimism with some of our younger guns getting valuable games under there belt.....i would not want to play us come finals as we have a great blend of talent right now and besides being a little shy in the ruck depaetment we are as complete.as ajy other team....put Menzel, Varcoe and Vardy back in and you just about solve all our minor deficiencies. Am an eternal optimist but with just cause given we are the most successful AFL team!

gee14rounds.png

First 14 matches 2004-2012

gee14roundstop8.png

First 14 rounds (excluding byes) matches against teams in the top 8 at the
time of the match (first match of season excluded.)

averagescores.png

League average score (All teams).

Close to regicide happened on the weekend - so the dynasty did take a hit.

I was of the opinion, before this season, we would make the finals and each year from here on we would get better and stronger.

Not quite as confident given the results this year. We, for some reason, are not playing with the intensity and passion we have in the past.

Even Lingy on TV doubted our ability to a serious competitive unit in the finals this year.

Something is not quite right so far this year and it cannot be fully blamed on the transition. Much of it can but not entirely.

This is where Scott comes in - he needs to get the team up and playing better and with more intensity.

Hope of the dynasty lasting another year took a couple minor blows the last two weeks, Collingwood can either contribute the final mortal blow or be our first stepping stone towards finals.

Either way I think the optimistic and the pessimistic supporters will be starting to see eye to eye a bit more after this one.

Statistically speaking we are no chance of a premiership. I just can't see how we can turn around clearances numbers and contested possession with such a weak ruck division. I was clinging to the slim hope Simpson could do a job for us but it doesn't look enough to me.

I have to be honest, I think too many people are placing all the centre square problems on the ruckmen, which to me is sugarcoating the issue. There's also the small matter of what occurs when the ball hits the ground. That is where we've been belted this year. It's way too simplistic to say that the sole reason our midfield gets beaten most weeks is because West isn't competitive (which he is).

I really think we don't want to face the possibility that some very respected players - Corey, Bartel, Kelly - are not the players they used to be. That doesn't mean they're all crap, it doesn't mean it's all their fault, it doesn't mean they aren't trying. But blaming it all on West (especially) and Simpson is a terrible oversimplification. They're a novice ruck division that will get better in time.

Did anyone notice the goal to Hawkins yesterday that came from a perfect tapout from West to Selwood? Not every tapout goes direct to a teammate. Watch even the "great" ruckmen and see how rarely it occurs. It wasn't an issue in the last few years because we had a core of brilliant midfielders. Now that we have only one brilliant one (Selwood) and the rest are just good, it's easy to blame the big guys. Not as simple as that. It's one factor among many.

Dynasty just starting.....there is no team out there that we cant currently match and we have just as much cause for optimism with some of our younger guns getting valuable games under there belt.....i would not want to play us come finals as we have a great blend of talent right now and besides being a little shy in the ruck depaetment we are as complete.as ajy other team....put Menzel, Varcoe and Vardy back in and you just about solve all our minor deficiencies. Am an eternal optimist but with just cause given we are the most successful AFL team!

Vardy has a way to go before he solves all our problems. He's still very inexperienced.

I was so annoyed with our efforts against Port and GC. Here are two 60+ percentage boosters for the taking, and we didn't shake off these teams until the final quarter.

Was especially annoyed that Steve Johnson pulled out before the game. He wasn't injured enough to not go riding a tyre down a waterslide at "Wet N' Wild", but can't then play in the game. Did he injure himself on the waterslide?

They said he had a bit of hammy soreness so they gave him a rest.
This isn't about percentage anymore. It's about gathering 4 points as often as possible and getting the team drilled.

this is a year we are gonna look back on and admit it had to happen, all the injuries and suspensions are going to result in us cat fans having early september holidays and watching the finals enviously but will make us appreciate winning and successs even more next year

I was so annoyed with our efforts against Port and GC. Here are two 60+ percentage boosters for the taking, and we didn't shake off these teams until the final quarter.

Was especially annoyed that Steve Johnson pulled out before the game. He wasn't injured enough to not go riding a tyre down a waterslide at "Wet N' Wild", but can't then play in the game. Did he injure himself on the waterslide?

the rotation of all the senior blokes will pay off in September ;)

In order to do the unthinkable, we need to try completely different things this year and that also includes resting veterans as much as possible.
Forget the 100 point belting...it's pointless, what matters is that Stevie J is 100% fit and healthy when the real stuff begins.

To many people wanna see a scintillating performance when it's relatively meaningless. They got the 4 points and that's all that mattered.
Would rather we just win and have Johno rest than have him gain 30 odd disposals, 2 goals and we win it by 5 goals.

the rotation of all the senior blokes will pay off in September ;)

In order to do the unthinkable, we need to try completely different things this year and that also includes resting veterans as much as possible.
Forget the 100 point belting...it's pointless, what matters is that Stevie J is 100% fit and healthy when the real stuff begins.

To many people wanna see a scintillating performance when it's relatively meaningless. They got the 4 points and that's all that mattered.
Would rather we just win and have Johno rest than have him gain 30 odd disposals, 2 goals and we win it by 5 goals.
You are amazingly consistently positive, no matter what the situation, except losing to the Swans the other week nearly blew you away, but I am impressed with your outlook . Really hope you get rewarded for this, because many do not have your faith, and believe it or not, I am a faithful person. (not optimistic, but faithful)

There it is. Please enlighten me as how you get to determine who is and isn't a "true" Geelong supporter.

if you read the next few words you would of seen why i said you were not a true geelong supporter :rolleyes:

It may have already been mentioned, but given the evenness of the competition this year it may not be such a bad thing to finish 5-8. Of course, having the double chance is massive but say the qualifying finals were played in Perth and Adelaide, it might be beneficial to play an elimination in Melbourne. The travel toll would be negated and the likelihood of winning interstate would be far less anyhow. Most people point to the statistic that no team since the modern finals system has won the flag from outside the four - and admittedly that is hard to argue against - but Brisbane won it in 2003 after losing their qualifying final and the same goes for West Coast in 2006. These sides thus played 4 matches. Of course, you'd need to be in a position to win that elimination final first up and build from there but it's not completely out of the question. Unlikely perhaps but this is Geelong we're talking about. I'm a firm believer in Chris Scott's planning (factoring in the injuries we've been dealt) in a sense that we are managing the veterans while building depth with youngsters and drilling a new, versatile strategy to really make some noise at the business end.

True, but I think it's as much about being able to play four great games in a row too, which has been difficult this season. Would be one hell of an achievement that's for sure. The one great opportunity that comes from playing all the top sides is that we get to take points away from them. So you never know.