Malthouse Megathread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lockyer24

The other thing that should be pointed out is that we had many flat patches under the reign of Mick even in the good years. Games where the players looked like they had no desire and the game plan fell completely apart. Hell, what about the final round last year? I've never been so disgusted in an effort as I was in that game. Going back a while, remember our horrid form going into the finals in 2002?

I'm just saying that not even the great motivator Mick was able to have our team up and firing, playing with high intensity all of the time, even with a largely full team. That's the way of football, seasons fluctuate and form comes and goes and often intensity comes and goes with it.
Some very pertinent points you make and I agree with and like what you say.

Facts are there to be seen. Starting from round 1 to round 22. Ordinary football apart from a flicker here and there. If we do get ti together many have said and I agree we can go all the way - we have the talent.

Please refer again to definition of the word FACT. We both may look at the same situation but depending on what bias we may have we may see the same thing but interpret it in a different way so therefore unlikely that whatever either one of us may have SEEN would not necessarily be FACT.

I wonder how Malthouse likes the number 9 because that will be the number of coaches that Carlton would have sacked. Britton, Rielly, Pagan, Parkin, Ratten, Jones, (can't remember the others).
Also Buttifant and Hine I think have another year of their contract to run.

Quite simply I think Malthouse is damaged goods.

2011 brought his Messiah complex to the fore, and he displayed his inability to handle the Collingwood transition with good grace and class. I had doubts about Bucks due to his FIGJAM history as a player. It was his handling of the situation when contrasted with MM that proved to me we were doing the right thing.

As an interesting aside this might be the first time I'm in agreement with something that Robert Walls has written:

"For Malthouse it's been one flag in 17 years. Exactly a year ago in the final round of the season, Malthouse's Magpies got smashed by the Cats by 96 points. Two weeks later, when the Pies scraped home to beat the Hawks by three points, the Collingwood coach was shot emotionally. Come the grand final, Malthouse didn't have a good day in the box. The game swung Geelong's way in the third quarter when Tom Hawkins got on top of Ben Reid. A change was needed. Chris Tarrant was the Pies' best negating defender. His opponent, James Podsiadly, was gone with an injury before half-time. Tarrant needed to be put on the damaging Hawkins. The move was eventually made, but it was 30 minutes too late. The horse had bolted."

Just watched the blues presser and geez that kernahan comes across an arrogant man. Just sacked a club legend and sits there laughing and driking his water. Glad we dont have a bloke like that at our club

Hell, without Jolly and Ball we'd still be wondering where our next premiership after 1990 is going to come from..

You meant to say "Hell, if it wasn't for one bad bounce of the ball..." right?

Premierships cloud judgement. Look at Hawthorn. It took 4 years for them to realise they weren't the be all and end all of the world. Now that they've realised another flag wouldn't just 'happen', they've knuckled down and will win another one this year.

The Malthouse fans are the same. They forget the 11 years of frustration, of heartbreak, or nonsense, of barren trading periods, of WASTED Top 10 draft picks (the likes of which would make even Richmond blush).

"Bu bu bu we won a flag!". Yeah only after Mick was held at gunpoint and forced to recruit and coach like he wanted to win one.

Buckley's first year has already shown me personally enough for to be happy with where the club is headed long term. I even think we may have to drop right down the ladder and get some Top draft picks to speed up the process. Or made the hard call on trades for top draft picks.

Just watched the blues presser and geez that kernahan comes across an arrogant man. Just sacked a club legend and sits there laughing and driking his water. Glad we dont have a bloke like that at our club
Been alot happen under his watch hasn't there? Wonder when he is accountable?

You meant to say "Hell, if it wasn't for one bad bounce of the ball..." right?

Premierships cloud judgement. Look at Hawthorn. It took 4 years for them to realise they weren't the be all and end all of the world. Now that they've realised another flag wouldn't just 'happen', they've knuckled down and will win another one this year.

The Malthouse fans are the same. They forget the 11 years of frustration, of heartbreak, or nonsense, of barren trading periods, of WASTED Top 10 draft picks (the likes of which would make even Richmond blush).

"Bu bu bu we won a flag!". Yeah only after Mick was held at gunpoint and forced to recruit and coach like he wanted to win one.

Buckley's first year has already shown me personally enough for to be happy with where the club is headed long term. I even think we may have to drop right down the ladder and get some Top draft picks to speed up the process. Or made the hard call on trades for top draft picks.

totally agree with first and last paragraphs.

start of 2010 no one outside true believers backed the pies. end 2010 (with bad bounce) everyone and sundary talking 'era of domination'. start 2011, pies in top form (confident, risk taking footy) and everyone (including opposition believed hype) hence massive wins. Our work effort dropped off, then injuries and form took a toll, and without that work effort we came back to the back. We scraped through the finals, never really looking the goods.

2012, lost players, more injury and form issues, new coach and attempted/failed game plan changes has seen a total crash in players self-belief as individuals and team. We are victims of the hubris of a gf as much as anything, we were a champion team never a team of champions.

MM didn't win or lose gfs, he was simply another cog in the team (albeit an important one). Same with Bucks. MM had some strengths (ie. developing a team) and some glaring weaknesses (ie. media which even eddie couldn't help him with in the end). I loved him as our coach, happy to see his time come to an end as all things do.

The poos are welcome to him and vice versa. If they are as hungry/blood thirsty as they appear to be he'd better pray he delivers real quick or face the chop. Here is hoping we don't treat bucks that way and do the trades to get the personnel we require.

Interesting times ahead for Carlscum, Mick is pissed off over the treatment his family is getting in the media and says he may not get back in the ring.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/malthouse-ratten-decision-changes-nothing-20120830-25201.html

It would be the laugh of the century if the scum got rid of rats to accommodate Mick only to have him give them the finger at the last minute :D

It would be worth a giggle Jon but I'm very cynical about Mick's instructions to his manager:

"I made it very clear to my management not to start involving me in things until I conclude my jobs that I've got and then things can be looked at in the cool light of dawn,"
Note he doesn't actually state anywhere that he has stopped his manager(s) from looking at, and potentially structuring deals to present to him; just that he wont consider them until October.

Ninja edit: His wife was in tears because the media wrote mean things about him? Harden' up princess!

It would be worth a giggle Jon but I'm very cynical about Mick's instructions to his manager:

"I made it very clear to my management not to start involving me in things until I conclude my jobs that I've got and then things can be looked at in the cool light of dawn,"

Note he doesn't actually state anywhere that he has stopped his manager(s) from looking at, and potentially structuring deals to present to him; just that he wont consider them until October.

Ninja edit: His wife was in tears because the media wrote mean things about him? Harden' up princess!
Agree jathanas I take EVERYTHING Mick says with a grain of salt, but jeeze it would be giggle city lol.

Interesting times ahead for Carlscum, Mick is pissed off over the treatment his family is getting in the media and says he may not get back in the ring.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/malthouse-ratten-decision-changes-nothing-20120830-25201.html

It would be the laugh of the century if the scum got rid of rats to accommodate Mick only to have him give them the finger at the last minute :D

If this is true, and Mick is concerned about media treatment, well, I want to contact Eddie and ask him to hire someone (I will do it) to use the Collingwood media machine (all media in Australia will lap this up) to focus solely, intently, harshly, critically, on every singe thing Mick does if/when at Carlton. Nothing personal in the focus, just scrutinise everything. Question everything. Hire former lawyers to come up with media conference questions that put Carlton under enormous pressure. Use Collingwood's media power to hurt Carlton. Eddie needs to prepare a plan for all out war against Carlton. Raise the VISY issue constantly. Report on anything and everything that can be seen as negative for Carlton.

I loved Mick for 2010. Loved him for some of your young stars. It pains me to think that we may see him wearing a Carlton polo shirt. It truly does. So if they get him, there can be no end to the Collingwood fed media barrage at Carlton.

**** those campaigners I ****ing hate them.
Scumbag. Cheating. Arrogant. Moronic. campaigners.

In general, Pies supporters are very supportive of their club. People being criticial of Mick at least had a wealth of history behind it, there was a reasonable record to work off.

I dont think anyone begrudges Mick ability to go and get another job but surely nobody can argue he is a man of great principle.

Lets look at the facts.

- He had won 1 premiership in 9 or 10 years or whatever it was and we had just been comprehensively done again in a major final and to be fair he probably could have been dealt to then.

- Instead Ed steps in and says mate 2 more years and a gtd job at the end of it and in addition we will get the cash etc to go and get the 2 player types required to win a premiership.

- Mick agrees. Signs a piece of paper to boot apparently

- Nothing more is said and in fact Mick publicly says in 2010 he is a happy camper.

- We win the premiership in 2010 and Mick decides to 'pot' Eddie in the GF speech by saying they are 'his boys' or whatever it is.

- In 2011 he then slowly builds a campaign to have the deal recut and for him to remain as senior coach and it all culminates when we have won a heap of games and he decides on his own that he should go on the TFS. The media go nuts as MM has basically admitted he doesnt want to go.

- After that the media are all over it and along with some ill timed injuries our season is derailed. Maybe he didnt cause it but by god he did nothing to help it.

Thats why Collingwood supporters dont revere him to the extent we otherwise would or could. Because he is a proven meglamaniac who doesnt stand by his word and in fact does everything to create the impression he is this poor soul who is misunderstood. And dont get me started on what he did to Jason Cloke post the '03 GF.

And he just got going all over again last Sunday when after having said all year he wouldnt dance on another coaches grave he comes out 'tap shoes on' and says I want to caoch again. he nailed Ratts at his most vunerable moment and I reckon a few Carlton folk wont be happy about it.....and nor should they be. They should have stuck with Ratts and slotted in Roos in 2014.

I was wondering if somebody could take PSY's Oppa Gangnam Style video (the one with Hyuna) and put Mick's face on Psy and Juddy's face on Hyuna.

Would make for the creepiest video of all time. And damn funny :-)

For those unaware YouTube search Oppa Gangnam Style ft Hyuna.

Wow talk about an attempt at a quick fix...

There is a lot more to a premiership than a coach..
Look at our recruiting over the past years.. Nailing drafts with pendles and daisy and sidebottom and beams.

Butters is great but everyone has caught up now with fitness and most teams are now doing the high altitude camp.

Malthouse took 11 years to win us a flag.. Granted we had a few shots but he totally rebuilt after the first tilt. Carlton are expecting miracles overnight.

Losing Malthouse is the biggest stuff up in Collingwoods recent histery. Seems Eddie has realised that. Bucks is doing a good job so move on. I hate Carlton, so it pains me to say that i believe Malthouse is exactly what they need, and will turn them into a premiership contender.

Losing Malthouse is the biggest stuff up in Collingwoods recent histery. Seems Eddie has realised that. Bucks is doing a good enough job so move on. I hate Carlton, so it pains me to say that i believe Malthouse is exactly what they need, and will turn them into a premiership contender.
Lol PISS OFF TROLL.

Losing Malthouse is the biggest stuff up in Collingwoods recent histery. Seems Eddie has realised that. Bucks is doing a good job so move on. I hate Carlton, so it pains me to say that i believe Malthouse is exactly what they need, and will turn them into a premiership contender.

James Hird is the biggest mistake Essendon have made in their history.

See I can do that too :-)