Rumour Current high profile player serving 3 strikes ban

I hate Chris Judd like I hate few other players, but maybe there was something else that made him so indifferent? Maybe something that genuinely dulled and tainted the jubilation of winning a Grand Final?
It was so ordinary

Then he makes pathetic excuse he wants mummy's love

Oh dear ......yeah great player but a heart like a pea

Cousins may have been a drug user ....he had his faults so too Kerr but I leat the loved the footy club

Judd as far as I'm concerned is epitimy of many modern players .......cares about himself more than he does about the team

All it shows is once again that the AFL drugs policy is a fraud to try and sell a clean image to the public. When it comes to tackling issues head on the AFL is so far behind the NRL it isn't funny. The illicit drugs policy is not cutting edge it is purely designed to protect the image of the game which is all the AFL cared about until Demitriou, hopefully Gill changes that. Putting players in extended education programs is bullshit and there purely to stop players testing positive again so the AFL can lie to the public about the statistics. Not telling the club after strike 2 is even worse. The club is the one place where the a repeat offender can get proper help. The club should be a players biggest support network, but if when you most desperately need it can't go there, then it is self defeating.

The AFL policy has zero credibility in the sporting community and if the AFL want that credibility back then they need to start airing their dirty laundry. Contrary to their belief the public won't walk away from the game if they do it, instead it helps show players are human and helps bring the bigger illicit drug issue into the public spotlight for serious debate about how to deal with it.

All it shows is once again that the AFL drugs policy is a fraud to try and sell a clean image to the public. When it comes to tackling issues head on the AFL is so far behind the NRL it isn't funny. The illicit drugs policy is not cutting edge it is purely designed to protect the image of the game which is all the AFL cared about until Demitriou, hopefully Gill changes that. Putting players in extended education programs is bullshit and there purely to stop players testing positive again so the AFL can lie to the public about the statistics. Not telling the club after strike 2 is even worse. The club is the one place where the a repeat offender can get proper help. The club should be a players biggest support network, but if when you most desperately need it can't go there, then it is self defeating.

The AFL policy has zero credibility in the sporting community and if the AFL want that credibility back then they need to start airing their dirty laundry. Contrary to their belief the public won't walk away from the game if they do it, instead it helps show players are human and helps bring the bigger illicit drug issue into the public spotlight for serious debate about how to deal with it.
I see your point but........

Like I said I'm a drug and alcohol counsellor and airing everyone's name will not help players recover at all, in fact it's dangerous very dangerous.

It will shame them, possibly lead them to depression, self harm and even suicide

Like I have said a few times the percentage of players using in the afl is much lower than the general population - and I mean significantly lower ...keep it in perspective

Yes some player will run the gauntlet and maybe never get caught but trust me dood and I see it every other day it catches them out in other ways ...shaming people does not stop people doing something ....all it achieves is making the public feel all tall and mighty for a day or two and then everyone will scream how did this happen.

My belief is we need to target younger players more often, the ones coming into the game. Every player should be tested at draft trial. Also a sample of blood taken and profiled of all first year players ....it's then analysed again with second samples later on.

Also funding for WAFL and sanfl and VFL to do more testing in those leagues

Also the culture of binge drinking in local football clubs around the country has to stop ...young boys of 15-17 year olds guys seeing adult players getting pissed all the time ...then think it's ok and it's very normalised

Heavy alcohol consumption by young people increases the chances they will dabble in illicit substances at some point

Education works partly but isn't the answer either. I also just can't stand the re in front of 17 year old and say mate just STOP DOING DRUGS .....I WISH IT WAS SO EASY I COULD CLICK MY FINGERS AND GO MATE JUST STOP IT.....IN FACT THERE IS FUNNY YOU TUBE CLIP on this on how a drug aCounsellor try's this as a piss take

What we need to do MORE OF ....

Player need have a life away from footy and clubs do to great job in welfare departments with that ...we never hear about the degrees players get while playing AFL ....MORE OF THIS

ALLOW PLAYERS TO HAVE A BEER AFTER TRAINING .....after they have done all the hydration stuff ....

Players need to spend more time with thief families .......families are the best people to help people and understand them ....also for re connections with dads and mums.

Also

In saying all of that you will never reach zero drug use with a bunch of highly charged young me that run out in front of 50,000 people each weekend in a high pressure environment, it's just totally unrealistic to expect that.....in fact it's impossible.

Sadly methamphetmines are rampant across Victorian and wa and it's hard to stop, I can see why the afl wants players to not be around bikie gang members as they are the ones making and selling this stuff.

When you consider only a handful of players are on two strikes and one a third as in tuck and then ben cousins I think the afl is doing a good job overall. It's interesting that Peter harcourt released the info then everyone screamed ...yet if it's kept secret everyone still screams .......can't win

Trust me please , if you think you can seriously just stop something that simply then I have news it's not that easy nor simple.

I use methods in my role that a lay person on the street would think that wouldn't work getting someone off drugs .....or reduce or deal with addiction. That's because you don't se what it's like nor understand addiction which isn't simple thing.

We use yoga, meditation, resilience training, anger training - and referrals to gps, psychologists and psychiatrists also ....it's multi faceted ...we also use families to assist in the process.

The Afl would have the best people working with these guys and no disrespect I find it laughable that people think it's just such a simple thing to stop something.

Footnote I don't work for the Afl but I do support most of their policies on this as it's in line with best practice in drug and alcohol field.

Have a nice day

It was so ordinary

Then he makes pathetic excuse he wants mummy's love

Oh dear ......yeah great player but a heart like a pea

Cousins may have been a drug user ....he had his faults so too Kerr but I leat the loved the footy club

Judd as far as I'm concerned is epitimy of many modern players .......cares about himself more than he does about the team
Maybe he was uncomfortable being up there when it really should have been Cousins. Remember the Captaincy was pretty much forced on him. Did Judd celebrate with his team mates when the final siren went, was he jumping around hugging his team mates?

When you are talking about someone who cares about himself more than the team, don't you think Cousins acts off the field spoke more about someone caring only for himself more than he does the team?

How often did Judd Let you down on the field?

Maybe he was uncomfortable being up there when it really should have been Cousins. Remember the Captaincy was pretty much forced on him. Did Judd celebrate with his team mates when the final siren went, was he jumping around hugging his team mates?

When you are talking about someone who cares about himself more than the team, don't you think Cousins acts off the field spoke more about someone caring only for himself more than he does the team?

No he wasn't ...I have watched it serval times and Judd after the siren looked like he'd lost

He did the usual but he really didn't look like it meant something

No he wasn't ...I have watched it serval times and Judd after the siren looked like he'd lost

He did the usual but he really didn't look like it meant something

He just won you a flag but that's not good enough?.

You want him to perform like a circus monkey.

I reckon The Swans would have loved him on their team, they'd have won both those GF's by 5 goals.

Fair point indeed, not questioning that whatsoever

Just a smile would have been appropriate

Nah cuzz just liked to party, he was a loyal team man just a party boy that's all

this selfless bloke is the one that left his girlfriend in the car at a booze bus and dove into the river, right? o_O
What would you have done ?

In that situation ...forget about what he did wrong ...under the influence

It was funny storry if we can laugh about now

He turned up at a pub made a phone call. Lol the bloke said your ben cousins ...ben said no I'm not ...lol

Look ben made massive mistakes yup, but he was loyal to the team

I can confirm this and Chris has said exactly this in a recent interview.

Has he ever mentioned this before, like soon after he left the Eagles?

He's probably really starting to appreciate the success he had at the Eagles now after a long period of failure at Carlton.

After the siren sounded in that grand final it was clear as day that Judd was not in the moment and didn't really appreciate what he had achieved.

What he now knows is that being successful is not a given and that so much has to go right for a team to lift the cup. Everything from top to bottom has to be in sync. Failure makes you appreciate the past and the present moment so much more.

Unfortunately for footy players, their careers are short-lived and they don't have much time to make a mends when they make mistakes.

Too bad, so sad.

Has he ever mentioned this before, like soon after he left the Eagles?

He's probably really starting to appreciate the success he had at the Eagles now after a long period of failure at Carlton.

After the siren sounded in that grand final it was clear as day that Judd was not in the moment and didn't really appreciate what he had achieved.

What he now knows is that being successful is not a given and that so much has to go right for a team to lift the cup. Everything from top to bottom has to be in sync. Failure makes you appreciate the past and the present moment so much more.

Unfortunately for footy players, their careers are short-lived and they don't have much time to make a mends when they make mistakes.

Too bad, so sad.
How do you know he didn't appreciate it. Just because he doesn't jump around like a lunatic doesn't mean he didn't appreciate what he had achieved.

Thats a pretty rough view on Judd. He did everything possible for us. I was devastated when he left- But who wouldn't be upset losing a champ in the prime of his career.

Do you think he would have played in the finals in 07 (Man management is another story in itself) if team success at West Coast wasnt important to him? Everything to do with Cousins was in full swing then. That nearly ruined him. He gave his all for our football club, and it is fitting he was the captain of the club in a successful on field period for us.

As for the topic itself, although I am very aware the AFL would like to cover this up- It wouldnt happen. There would be too many people to keep quiet.

All valid points

It was just poor look for blokes on the team

Now cousins cared about the team but yeah his actions you could argue were selfish

Addiction affects many and his family suffered also ....he will have to work on that for the rest of his life ...I don't condone his actions but I do however understand addiction really well and it's not a simple thing to overcome

Anyways Judd was very reluctant leader and that showed so I will cut him slack there

Yeah, but part of the job description of being professional is building and maintaining rapport with customers, who are essentially paying your salaries.

Occupations have always been just as much about people and relationships as the services they provide to the community.

Doing an excellent job but then turning around and giving your customers the finger is not being professional. Especially in sports, where fans are so emotionally invested in their teams.

Judd was just being rude.

Yeah, but part of the job description of being professional is building and maintaining rapport with customers, who are essentially paying your salaries.

Occupations have always been just as much about people and relationships as the services they provide to the community.

Doing an excellent job but then turning around and giving your customers the finger is not being professional. Especially in sports, where fans are so emotionally invested in their teams.

Goof point

He always came across as smug and aloof .......he never had passion for the blue n gold
Jumper

Sure he played well but it's more than that in my view

To be honest I think you are just taking it bit too personally. Judd didn't jump up and down when he was handed the premiership cup and he is giving you as a fan the finger????

Do you consider Cousins going off the rails which cut his career short and the chance of further success at the Eagles being rude to you as a fan?

Judd was always pretty close to Cuz. Judd didn't want to be captain and he no doubt felt strange up there while he knew his mate Cuz was the true captain of the team. Judd was not voted in to be captain by his peers.
Not sure who else saw the Woosha segment on channel 7 news last night when he was showing how the coaches box at subi works. They also spoke about his reaction when the siren went in the 06 GF as he was quite subdued and it took a few of his assistant coaches to fire him up.

That is seriously rough on Judd

Attachments

• SEtrophyjuddcousins_gallery__326x400.jpg
    SEtrophyjuddcousins_gallery__326x400.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 8
  • art-ben-cousins-620x349.jpg
    art-ben-cousins-620x349.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 7
Ridiculous assumption on Judd based on some perceived issue of body language that is easily explained away by fatigue and an introverted personality - Some counsellor you are!!

Truth be told , Judd showed the pinnacle of judgement and maturity in bailing from the Eagles when he did -

There was Kerotin Kerr running around like a loon....Cuzz the Buzz hoovering his mum's talc b4 training, Chick bankrolling his retirement and picking fights with team mates at parties....and a coach who was mentally spent...

Yep..that environment is just what every professional sportsperson needs to continue succeeding........

Rumour Current high profile player serving 3 strikes ban