What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dogsofwar

Remember there weren't any senior players back at training at that stage.

Anyway, we're making too big a thing of some passing remark made months ago.

That's accepting mediocrity ;)

If a player says something he shouldn't then bulldog supporters have every right to tell him to pull his head in. Maybe being called The Future might have
got into Bonti's head hmmm :p

Maybe Dogsman16, you should tell a senior player to tell Bonti to zip it and just play footy? Unless of course you want to tell him yourself the next time you see him?

That's accepting mediocrity ;)

If a player says something he shouldn't then bulldog supporters have every right to tell him to pull his head in. Maybe being called The Future might have
got into Bonti's head hmmm :p

Maybe Dogsman16, you should tell a senior player to tell Bonti to zip it and just play footy? Unless of course you want to tell him yourself the next time you see him?
Rub. Bish.

Let's blow this out of all proportion, why don't we.

He was trying to argue that long term, big money investments to lure kids in their 1st few seasons is no good for the game. Undeserving, risky etc. the sort of commentary we've heard all pre season from the very people who dared us to land a big fish, be relevant etc.

How he chose to express this was to hope that the Boyd and Western Bulldogs deal fails. I can't find a grab to share so apologies for any paraphrasing, but it was a very vindictive comment. To justify his position he would gladly wish Ill on a kid who just wants to play good football at a Club in his hometown.

A few moments later he was lauding Tex Walker's game and said "key forwards are worth their weight in gold."

Thanks SOS. :thumbsu:

I see that there is a thread on the main board about it. The vast majority of posters from other clubs support what we did. There are some quality contributions too - worth a visit for those who want a read on how the Boyd deal is perceived by others: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/leigh-matthews-on-tom-boyd-and-the-bulldogs.1092313/

Thanks SOS. :thumbsu:

I see that there is a thread on the main board about it. The vast majority of posters from other clubs support what we did. There are some quality contributions too - worth a visit for those who want a read on how the Boyd deal is perceived by others: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/leigh-matthews-on-tom-boyd-and-the-bulldogs.1092313/
It harks back to our discussion in here re: treatment of our brand in the media. I think there is a general level of scorn for our Club with the Top End of Town and in the boys club of past player media pundits. Some of it is vindictive based on playing history and rivalry, but the real malicious element is the idea that a successful FFC hurts their hip pocket. Less ratings, gate takings etc.

Not sure its any first years players right to call out another player for not appearing to be ready for preseason, particularly when that player from all reports has been one of the preseason standouts. Seems strange to me that Bonts would do that and not left to the senior group if their was an issue.

Yeah having it become public is a bit weird. Having said that as others have said, it depends on how it was done.
Wouldn't be the first time one friend might have said to another..." Spend Christmas in a real good paddock did you mate ? Ha, ha".

Not sure its any first years players right to call out another player for not appearing to be ready for preseason, particularly when that player from all reports has been one of the preseason standouts. Seems strange to me that Bonts would do that and not left to the senior group if their was an issue.

Yeah having it become public is a bit weird. Having said that as others have said, it depends on how it was done.
Wouldn't be the first time one friend might have said to another..." Spend Christmas in a real good paddock did you mate ? Ha, ha".

Leigh Matthew should have spent time in prison for what he did to Neville Bruns.

WESTERN BULLDOGS v WEST COAST
(Rohan Connolly)
Jamie Cripps (West Coast) 8
Jeremy McGovern (West Coast) 8
Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs) 7
Dale Morris (Western Bulldogs) 7
Lin Jong (Western Bulldogs) 7

Two west coast players in the top spots????? No Bont, Boyd, or Stringer??? Why am I not surprised....

I like tge fact he did that. It shows leadership and trying to adopt a culture of not accepting poor standards . The players are professionals and should be adhering to professional standards.

WESTERN BULLDOGS v WEST COAST
(Rohan Connolly)

Jamie Cripps (West Coast) 8
Jeremy McGovern (West Coast) 8
Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs) 7
Dale Morris (Western Bulldogs) 7
Lin Jong (Western Bulldogs) 7

Two west coast players in the top spots????? No Bont, Boyd, or Stringer??? Why am I not surprised....
Rohan's had the proverbial stick up his arse since Crameri jumped up and walked out on his beloved bombers. I would have had Jake ahead of Cripps

Re: Leigh Matthews' comments.

I usually like Matthews, he's one of the better and more interesting special comments guys on the TV, thought he was a great player (ableit a thug) and just as great a coach.

However his comments about Boyd are ridiculous, as well as spiteful.

As others have said, Matthews and others wouldn't have a problem if it were Hawthorn/Essendon/Collingwood that did what we did with Boyd.

Even if the Boyd deal doesn't come off for us (and I'm very confident it will), I'll still be glad we took the punt on him.

Also, it just makes me happy knowing that this deal has pissed people off.

We're not going to sit around and take crap anymore. GWS tried to bend us over with Griffen, we fought back and made the deal to our advantage.

If people don't like it, have a big box of Kleenex and suck it right up :)

Shane somebody on SEN about 1215am called Stringer 'Jesse' twice - did say he'll be a superstar though....... he also said he didnt watch the Sydney game as he cant stand Darce commentating - not sure he would do any better :p

Shane Donoghue from Sportal (yeah, exactly). He comes on every Saturday night/Sunday morning and sounds like an even more bogan version of Robbo, if that's possible.

He has the same irritating smokers rasp and just a tool.

Stringer on SEN this morning. Mostly same ole footy answers but I did like his comments on the forward structure. Last year was frustrating and they chipped it around a lot, now they just get it in there.

Not a single mention on the hard hitting 'access all areas' not even a 'well done bevo on your first win'

Ignore the dogs on the good days, pound us into oblivion on the bad days. No longer will I hope to see some optimism about the dogs on 'access all areas.'

Garry filled his quota on us on Footy Classified last night. We got a good 60 seconds.

Something that bothers me about the doggies related media is whenever johnno tries to be a voice for the club in any way his media mates just give him that "haha shut up Johnno you f***ing idiot treatment"
They did it to Bubba too. I remember one episode of League Teams when BT was on, where he and the other panelists were getting stuck into Smithy about being biased then in the same ****ing breath he mentioned that he thought Leon Davis was in the top five best players in the competition. :eek: