BOOO-ing Goodes

Regardless of what side of the fence you're on, it's fair to say Goodes's handling of this situation has been diabolical.
Today's news that he has now been granted leave from the Swans really doesn't help the situation at all either. Those who thought he was a flog previously, now will think he is nothing but a wuss/whinger and continue on their booing tirade.

Pretty unbelievable how this whole issue has been handled the past two years.

Couldn't care less about the colour of his skin. Just saying that's when people's opinion of him went down. I've never liked him so my opinion is definitely biased yes. Adam Goodes right now would have Regrets by the way he's acted, because he, you, I know he gets boo'ed because the majority think he's a ****** and not the colour of his skin.
I doubt he'd have any regrets.

Why do the majority think he's a *whatever you typed there*? What has he done to deserve booing? Dane Swan left a man brain damaged, Wayne Carey rooted his best mate's missus. What's Goodes done that deserves booing to this degree? Barry Hall didn't get booed this much. Not even Milne did. No one has.

Are you really saying that the spear attack on the crowd wasn't a racist act which despite possible provocation has no more place in sport than Cantona's action?

I'd say Jetta's actions are closer to someone giving the 'shh' sign to the crowd after scoring, both actions directed towards a hostile crowd, but have rather different origins.

Rather than Cantona's actions which nearly killed someone by kicking them in the head.

How dare the AFL, Sydney, my Club tell me how to behave.

I hope he cops it even harder now.

I'm eagerly awaiting the next wave of crackdowns on Booing: Umpires, NM Coach, Essendon. We don't want to hurt anyone's feelings.

Goodes is in the public arena, public eye, a highly paid sportsman. If he doesn't like it, get out of the industry.

I would have thought you'd get a clearer view of things from up on your high horse, seems not. You sound like one of the all rights, no responsibilities crowd, ie as long as I'm not inconvenienced I don't give a stuff about anybody else. There was no booing near where I sit which means I'm well away from you, and glad of it. The unfortunate thing is as an Eagles supporter I get tarred with the brush as you. But unlike you I won't act like somebody who's had his spade taken from him in the sandpit.

Not sure if this has been added to the discussion yet but he has taken leave from the Swans

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-28/goodes-given-leave-by-the-swans

Quote from Longmire

Mentally I wish Adam the best because the issue as Longmire says is concerning him and something that he is sick of, and fair enough to. Hopefully Goodes is in a positive head space, surrounded by family and positive people and we don't get a hasty retirement out of it or anything.

Whilst I whole heartedly wish we had been grown up enough not to boo on the weekend, a leave of absence for a couple of days screams staged to me.

It seems we will be the evil empire for the remainder for the year, but seeing how that worked out in 2006 then maybe its not all bad.

Agree, now Aboriginal people are given far more opportunity for employment, but a few years ago they weren't even a chance.

My point was that if years ago young aboriginals had done what Lucky Luc did, and just tried to 'toughen up' instead of making a stand and calling people out that their treatment of someone based on their skin and heritage is wrong, then the Aboriginals today wouldn't have the opportunities that they have and people would still think it's OK to make racist comments to people because they should just 'toughen up'.

BTW I have been called a white c... many times but never said anyone is a black so and so. Did I complain to the authorities, nope, just got on with it and didn't bother about it.

The whole point is we are talking about today and not the past, of course we must acknowledge what happened in the past and make sure it doesn't happen again.

Whilst I whole heartedly wish we had been grown up enough not to boo on the weekend, a leave of absence for a couple of days screams staged to me.

It seems we will be the evil empire for the remainder for the year, but seeing how that worked out in 2006 then maybe its not all bad.
I don't think anyone has really singled this out as a West Coast issue, in fact if anything the club has received praise for speaking out on it.

I think he is saying that the difference in media reaction to this lot of booing v the 10 times previously is that Jetta did something which gave the story another angle.

Riiigght. Was reading/responding quickly at the end of... um, after my lunch break. (Damn, wish people around here would leave me alone. Can't they see I've got other things to see and people to do?)

Why do the majority think he's a *whatever you typed there*? What has he done to deserve booing? Dane Swan left a man brain damaged, Wayne Carey rooted his best mate's missus. What's Goodes done that deserves booing to this degree? Barry Hall didn't get booed this much. Not even Milne did. No one has.
The reason he's getting booed is because he was an ungrateful AOTY, then the 13 year old girl thing on top of that. All this from a player not very well liked to begin with. He acts like its Us Against them, which is sad because to AFL has brought us together. I played footy with 5 aboriginals last year and skin colour doesn't matter.

Way to go Goodesy, way to drop out and endanger your team's top 4 chances by failing to understand that booing is just another part of the game to get under someone's skin and provide a hostile environment. As long as people can find a reaction, he'll be booed. And has he forgotten all the on-field pain he 's caused Eagles fans over the last decade?

It's not about race or achievements or stance; all power to the guy with his incredible work. It's footy FFS, I could mention multiple times feral crowds at Warnbro have screamed and insulted me profusely and personally over the boundary line.

When you run out with a 22 you're not a hero of Aboriginal rights, a millionaire or Australian of the Year, just a player who has to be part of a team and get the job done. You're not a god.

If he had laughed it off it would've done so much more for footygoers' respect.

BTW I have been called a white c... many times but never said anyone is a black so and so. Did I complain to the authorities, nope, just got on with it and didn't bother about it.

The whole point is we are talking about today and not the past, of course we must acknowledge what happened in the past and make sure it doesn't happen again.
If you don't understand the difference between being called a white c... and a black c... you really are missing the point.

Jetta came out afterwards and called the boos racist.
When? The only interview I have seen him do afterwards (on the Swans site) he said it was a show of support to Goodes. Racism wasn't mentioned and he just called for people to be more respectful.

I don't think anyone has really singled this out as a West Coast issue, in fact if anything the club has received praise for speaking out on it.

Perhaps not, but was allowed to fester by all and sundry until it was West Coast.

Surely Pridham, the AFL, Gary Lyon, other club hierarchies and numerous commentators had plenty of earlier opportunities to forcefully denounce what was on ongoing blight on the game.

Partly agree, but Milne did cop it for a long time from a number of different crowds and Hall did have a response from a WCE crowd stage managed by the AFL (his suspension went passed the return WCE/Syd fixture in Perth & then coincidentally they didn't play WCE in Perth the next season).

Perhaps not, but was allowed to fester by all and sundry until it was West Coast.

Surely Pridham, the AFL, Gary Lyon, other club hierarchies and numerous commentators had plenty of earlier opportunities to forcefully denounce what was on ongoing blight on the game.
Like I said earlier, I think Jetta was the one who pushed the issue with his response.

Way to go Goodesy, way to drop out and endanger your team's top 4 chances by failing to understand that booing is just another part of the game to get under someone's skin and provide a hostile environment. As long as people can find a reaction, he'll be booed. And has he forgotten all the on-field pain he 's caused Eagles fans over the last decade?

It's not about race or achievements or stance; all power to the guy with his incredible work. It's footy FFS, I could mention multiple times feral crowds at Warnbro have screamed and insulted me profusely and personally over the boundary line.

When you run out with a 22 you're not a hero of Aboriginal rights, a millionaire or Australian of the Year, just a player who has to be part of a team and get the job done. You're not a god.

If he had laughed it off it would've done so much more for footygoers' respect.

Having 2 days off is hardly going to endanger his team's chances for top 4/finals. If Sydney get back a few players, not play Mitchell as a sub and actually try to win their next game (and not the damage control rubbish from the w/e) - this will effect their chances more.

Like I said earlier, I think Jetta was the one who pushed the issue with his response.

I think there is an element of WCE hate in some media people who gladly used this as a catalyst too. Even if Jetta's dance did not occur. They have a narrative in their minds that WCE are feral and that "we will get them" after poor brave Jobe was booed.

The ones I have respect for as the ones who have talked about this previously. Eg Gerard Whately.

The ones like Barry Hall, Luke Darcy, etc. who have come out to sink their boots in because of their personal grudges/hate of the WCE are showing their poor qualities yet again.

Yeah, he should have booed back, that would have really put those clowns in their place!
I've said earlier in this thread, I have no issue with what he did.

A bit off topic, but I have never thought the current call out culture we have for racist/sexist remarks will affect significant change in the individuals attitudes.

Surely shaming people into changing their behavior will only work superficially.

It can also cause resentment and have the opposite effect. IMO That's why Goodes gets booed louder each time it becomes an issue.

If you don't understand the difference between being called a white c... and a black c... you really are missing the point.
Really. What is the difference, it is racist. I have been racially abused but I have NEVER racially abused anyone, there is my point. I was abused because of the colour of my skin. I have one white child and one brown child do I treat them any differently, of course not.

A black person calling a white person a white c*** is just as bad as a white person calling a black person a black c***. I'm not sure how you could see it any differently to be honest.

I think there is an element of WCE hate in some media people who gladly used this as a catalyst too. Even if Jetta's dance did not occur. They have a narrative in their minds that WCE are feral and that "we will get them" after poor brave Jobe was booed.

Then they must have been happy we didn't disappoint them. After out showing in the Adelaide match we've squandered any goodwill we might have had.

When? The only interview I have seen him do afterwards (on the Swans site) he said it was a show of support to Goodes. Racism wasn't mentioned and he just called for people to be more respectful.

I stand corrected.