Women's Footy AFC GET Women's Team

Just like our proposal linking with AFLNT was pretty much a slam dunk as well in making our case compelling, displacedaussie . It opens up the market in the NT for the AFL without them having to really spend too much money on development as we would be doing it instead, and it covers the concern that there was that there was a lack of a viable talent pool in SA.

http://www.afc.com.au/news/2016-06-15/crows-and-nt-win-womens-licence
Of most interest in this article, to me, was the information that since the Crows announced their intention to bid for a licence, participation rates increased in SA. I was one of those, and it was purely on the back of knowing that in order to have a strong high performance area you need the lower levels to have strong participation. I wanted this team and league to go ahead, so I am very happy to just be depth in the sport overall. Without that participation at the lower levels, you can't find and nurture the talent for the highest level.

The future stars need to embarrass someone to get noticed, might as well be you. Good Attitude.

So just to confirm its going to be an SA/NT "Crows" team? Not an "Adelaide" Crows?

Interesting. Doesn't really bother me either way. Just pleased the club has got involved from the beginning with some actual useful contributions to a league I think could be genuinely successful in a financial sense for both players and clubs.

Can Port still claim having the first player?

So just to confirm its going to be an SA/NT "Crows" team? Not an "Adelaide" Crows?

Interesting. Doesn't really bother me either way. Just pleased the club has got involved from the beginning with some actual useful contributions to a league I think could be genuinely successful in a financial sense for both players and clubs.

Can Port still claim having the first player?

The team will be the Adelaide Crows

Any news on what Collingwood will have to cough up with to the pear to get Erin Phillips over there after she turned her back on her illustrious basketball career and went all in as the pears major signing of 2015? Won't come cheap I imagine unless the woods roll the dice and hope she slips through in the preseason draft. Anyone know her FA status?

Hell No! Way too old and I hate that running thingy they keep making me try to do. I tell my forward off every time they try and make me do that. Making me annoyed at them is not something a forward should be doing. ;)

We have a couple of girls in our team though that I think might be able to make it in a year or two as the talent is most definitely there. We only have 4 in our team that have actually played the game before as well.
Carn Nik, mature age recruit!!

In all seriousness it must be fantastic to actually have a pathway in the sport u love

So happy about this. If only I could turn the clock back. Personally would have grabbed the opportunity. The South Aussies would have been gunning for me. I had the endurance of a Robert Harvey. Unfortunately my NT career contribution would have been short lived. Kind of a Phil Carmen temperament. :)

Nope the club has confirmed on twitter that it will be the Crows, but will not be Adelaide is their understanding. It will be announced in the next couple of weeks.
Gotta wonder if this is a leading change for the club as a whole.

Just 'The Crows' one day perhaps?

Adelaide based, but appeals to a broader market.

The team for all South Australians and Northern Territorians being a next step?

So happy about this. If only I could turn the clock back. Personally would have grabbed the opportunity. The South Aussies would have been gunning for me. I had the endurance of a Robert Harvey. Unfortunately my NT career contribution would have been short lived. Kind of a Phil Carmen temperament. :)
hahaha.. too bad - would have been fun to have seen that on the field ;)

Well... there might be a certain team playing (not mine!) who have had one game called off at 3/4 time because they started an all in brawl on field. Their coach was the one to call the game off.

Hell No! Way too old and I hate that running thingy they keep making me try to do. I tell my forward off every time they try and make me do that. Making me annoyed at them is not something a forward should be doing. ;)

We have a couple of girls in our team though that I think might be able to make it in a year or two as the talent is most definitely there. We only have 4 in our team that have actually played the game before as well.
Coaching?
Support staff?
Admin?

It's a bit late for me too, already 28 had to retire from soccer because of the injuries. I thought about giving it a Crack but realised my fitness levels have dropped from my high standards during my playing career and didn't want to be embarrassed by a fresh young thing.

Good luck to all those women trying out, I admire you, wish I could be you and will support you through and through.

It's a bit late for me too, already 28 had to retire from soccer because of the injuries. I thought about giving it a Crack but realised my fitness levels have dropped from my high standards during my playing career and didn't want to be embarrassed by a fresh young thing.

Good luck to all those women trying out, I admire you, wish I could be you and will support you through and through.

You can join me in the SAWFL instead! And 28 is a spring chicken compared to me ;)

Would the non-playing roles be gender based or best available for the price?

As an example, I assume Craig Starcevich will be appointed Brisbane women's coach (currently QLD State women's coach), so not necessarily gender based.

Like I said mate, it's fantastic that females can actually play Aussie Rules at a very high level.

You mean are being provided with the pathway/opportunity to. I don't disagree, but there's a lot of work and plenty of development to be done before the game is being played at a high level. At least next year it'll be a comp and the results will have meaning.

Yeh, I just think having the sport played at a national level is great for the game overall!
Obviously it will take a lot of investment from the AFL and the Australian public! I have a 8 year old sister that loves the footy and it's a good feeling knowing that if she really wanted to play there is good opportunities.

Gotta wonder if this is a leading change for the club as a whole.

Just 'The Crows' one day perhaps?

Adelaide based, but appeals to a broader market.

The team for all South Australians and Northern Territorians being a next step?

Interesting....not sure what to think about that. Don't really want an arrangement like Hawks with Tassie if that's what they're thinking for both Men's/Women's. I can see financial benefits but not sure it's worth it when we aren't really a minnow club financially. Perhaps just push a stronger marketing focus and play trial games and training sessions?