Autopsy Rd 4 Blues annihilated by 86 points

I didn't think my care factor could get any lower but it is legitimately at zero now. I actually think I get better schadenfreude from seeing us get belted by as much as possible each week now.
I've never understood this. Why are so many of our supporters like this?

It's like your kid has a drug problem and you actively hope it ODs and dies.

I've never understood this. Why are so many of our supporters like this?

It's like your kid has a drug problem and you actively hope it ODs and dies.

Yes - if the kid had been a drug-addled wreck for the last 20 years, had shown no hope of rehabiliation, and had just stabbed your wife to death when in an ice-fueled rage.

In that case it would probably be for the best if he OD'd.

It's alright to vent after a showing like Saturday night, have your say and get over it. It's Monday now start thinking about our next game, we will improve . I,m getting tired of the same people telling me my club is shit day after day.
True but ive been waiting for improvement for over a decade so I guess a little longer is ok

Yes - if the kid had been a drug-addled wreck for the last 20 years, had shown no hope of rehabiliation, and had just stabbed your wife to death when in an ice-fueled rage.

This is 'Mario from Doncaster' grim

True but ive been waiting for improvement for over a decade so I guess a little longer is ok

Ain't it the truth. It could be worse. It could be the days of Digby Morrell, Micky Martyn, Andrew Eccles, Sam Cranage, Simon Fletcher, Corey McKernan, Barnaby French, Brett Johnson, Adrian Deluca, Trent Sporn, Stephen Kenna, Glen Bowyer, Ricky Mott, Cory McGrath and Daniel Harford. That was fun....any light at end of tunnel then was oncoming train called Angwin Norman:eek:

I understand Carlton have more recruiting scouts around country than before, why did that take so long?

It’s like we are always behind the trends. Too teams get lower draft picks and make them into good footy players yet we can’t do that with the lower talented guys
Why is this so?
We can’t even tackle ffs
Why is this so?
I’m allowed to be negative even with injuries but not 86 points
Where’s this 66 game rebuild and depth?
Is sos out of his depth as he isn’t gifted with a million top picks like at gws?
These are valid question and some ridicule about not being a supporter, well for me I will never be an osterich
Finding solutions not clinging onto hope is what I’m about.
I believe bolts got the job due to his inspirational coaching methods and lifting people up, like Parkin , coaching abilities are a question for me
Why does it take 2 quarters to go to plan b?
Or do we only have plan A as a lot of players are not fit enough to go with opposition?

I’m pissed cause I don’t see much depth

It’s like we are always behind the trends. Too teams get lower draft picks and make them into good footy players yet we can’t do that with the lower talented guys - Yes it bugs me too! I say copying a successful strategy is flawed because it assumes that the model adopted is static and replicable. By the time Carlton acquired a Clarkson acolyte in Bolton, they'd already moved on. Their model has already evolved and we are copying their old stuff. Thats dumb. I say invent your own model, obviously take IP from a variety of sources but copying puts you behind. Furthermore, my key issue is with Carlton not developing talent. We have gaps and good talent stagnates at Carlton.
I listened to a Howie Games Podcast with Juddy. When asked how different it was between WC and Carlton he said it was HUGE. At WC they spoke about premierships as an annual ambition. At Carlton a player considered himself successful if he could negotiate a 3 year contract. That is just SOOO SH!!!T. I'm not certain much has changed and Juddy got there in 2008.

Why is this so? I'm sure hey don't mean it. Everyone thought that Weitering was pick 1. There's luck in it. Where's ours? AND, I have not given up on him yet.
We can’t even tackle ffs
Why is this so? To quote the Doors: "People are strange when you're a stranger, faces look ugly when you're alone, women seem wicked when you're unwanted, streets are uneven when you're down." When you're down it always looks like you're slow and lethargic.
I’m allowed to be negative even with injuries but not 86 points - Of course you are...
Where’s this 66 game rebuild and depth? Wait for the club to say, once we've played 66, the next draft and potential FA in's will deliver sustained performance. I say its looking like we are behind expectations and the spin will come...
Is sos out of his depth as he isn’t gifted with a million top picks like at gws? Hmmm, interesting, he's let good talent go because he was not prepared to pay extra $$$. We've had more misses than hits from GWS. Thats a worry. He made mistakes bringing them to GWS and made it worse by getting them to Carlton. Fool me once, shame on you... fool me twice, shame on me.
These are valid question and some ridicule about not being a supporter, well for me I will never be an osterich... are you suggesting that stepping away as a supporter is akin to burying your head in the sand?
Finding solutions not clinging onto hope is what I’m about. - And they are?
I believe bolts got the job due to his inspirational coaching methods and lifting people up, like Parkin , coaching abilities are a question for me
Why does it take 2 quarters to go to plan b? Specifics please... I'll reserve judgement. For the record, I think there is ample evidence that Bolton is a good mentor I am unconvinced about his ability game day. He is somewhat reactive but this is a function of talent or lack of...
Or do we only have plan A as a lot of players are not fit enough to go with opposition? Nah, see Doors quote... things just look and fell bad and in that negative spiral we feel like there is no way out. let the professionals sort it out, take a step back and allow yourself the luxury of not taking the insults so personally. I bristle when Carlton is ridiculed, just be a tad more zen about it. Otherwise you'll go nuts!

Oh wow!

Carlton fc is like a lame racehorse which needs to sadly be put to sleep.
There is a small chance of a full recovery in time, however its in the clubs bests interest to let go now so not to endure anymore suffering.

Ain't it the truth. It could be worse. It could be the days of Digby Morrell, Micky Martyn, Andrew Eccles, Sam Cranage, Simon Fletcher, Corey McKernan, Barnaby French, Brett Johnson, Adrian Deluca, Trent Sporn, Stephen Kenna, Glen Bowyer, Ricky Mott, Cory McGrath and Daniel Harford. That was fun....any light at end of tunnel then was oncoming train called Angwin Norman:eek:

Fair call ff - as bad as it is surely it can never get back to being that bad. Surely? :'(:'(:'(:'(

It’s like we are always behind the trends. Too teams get lower draft picks and make them into good footy players yet we can’t do that with the lower talented guys - Yes it bugs me too! I say copying a successful strategy is flawed because it assumes that the model adopted is static and replicable. By the time Carlton acquired a Clarkson acolyte in Bolton, they'd already moved on. Their model has already evolved and we are copying their old stuff. Thats dumb. I say invent your own model, obviously take IP from a variety of sources but copying puts you behind. Furthermore, my key issue is with Carlton not developing talent. We have gaps and good talent stagnates at Carlton.
I listened to a Howie Games Podcast with Juddy. When asked how different it was between WC and Carlton he said it was HUGE. At WC they spoke about premierships as an annual ambition. At Carlton a player considered himself successful if he could negotiate a 3 year contract. That is just SOOO SH!!!T. I'm not certain much has changed and Juddy got there in 2008.

Why is this so? I'm sure hey don't mean it. Everyone thought that Weitering was pick 1. There's luck in it. Where's ours? AND, I have not given up on him yet.
We can’t even tackle ffs
Why is this so? To quote the Doors: "People are strange when you're a stranger, faces look ugly when you're alone, women seem wicked when you're unwanted, streets are uneven when you're down." When you're down it always looks like you're slow and lethargic.
I’m allowed to be negative even with injuries but not 86 points - Of course you are...
Where’s this 66 game rebuild and depth? Wait for the club to say, once we've played 66, the next draft and potential FA in's will deliver sustained performance. I say its looking like we are behind expectations and the spin will come...
Is sos out of his depth as he isn’t gifted with a million top picks like at gws? Hmmm, interesting, he's let good talent go because he was not prepared to pay extra $$$. We've had more misses than hits from GWS. Thats a worry. He made mistakes bringing them to GWS and made it worse by getting them to Carlton. Fool me once, shame on you... fool me twice, shame on me.
These are valid question and some ridicule about not being a supporter, well for me I will never be an osterich... are you suggesting that stepping away as a supporter is akin to burying your head in the sand?
Finding solutions not clinging onto hope is what I’m about. - And they are?
Why does it take 2 quarters to go to plan b? Specifics please... I'll reserve judgement. For the record, I think there is ample evidence that Bolton is a good mentor I am unconvinced about his ability game day. He is somewhat reactive but this is a function of talent or lack of...
Or do we only have plan A as a lot of players are not fit enough to go with opposition? Nah, see Doors quote... things just look and fell bad and in that negative spiral we feel like there is no way out. let the professionals sort it out, take a step back and allow yourself the luxury of not taking the insults so personally. I bristle when Carlton is ridiculed, just be a tad more zen about it. Otherwise you'll go nuts!
I haven’t taken anything personal so not sure where you’re going with that

Bloody hell. Bit worried about some posters 'round here...

Journey, people, JOURNEY! It's more meaningful and rewarding than the result. Enjoy it.

Moses would have even given up with this journey - if I had wanted to feel like this I would have been a St Kilda supporter :D :D: D

I was thinking back since about 2002 as to how many times at any stage of the year I thought we were a genuine flag shot. I reckon the only time was when we we beat the Pies by 10 goals in 2012 and were 3-0 after 3 rounds (think we were actually flag faves at that stage).

Got done by the Dopers by 5 goals the next week as raging faves and didn't even make finals :(

Just ponder this for a moment ......

St. Kilda & Melbourne are both 2-3 years ahead of us in the rebuild stakes (ie. they started earlier) yet they are nowhere near being a genuine finals contender yet.

Jesse Hogan has already played 54-games but still hasn't become a consistently good player. Lance Franklin kicked 21 & 31 goals respectively in his first two years at Hawthorn. The moral here is that players take time to reach their zenith, especially the key position players.

Jake Lever is not the player at Melbourne most were expecting, his role is different to that he had at the Crows. The moral here is that Free Agency is not the panacea to all ills.

Fair call ff - as bad as it is surely it can never get back to being that bad. Surely? :'(:'(:'(:'(

It is not possible. Even the Bad News Bears of late 80's had more hope. When Pagan was coach never been more depressed following my team. Bloody Elliott tried to save his bacon by getting Pagan coach from North. He did not even realise nothing was saving him getting booted out of Carlton as President. Arrogant and delusional to the end about his own standing.

Right now is dark time with team results, but least I know the sun will come up soon in terms of it turning the corner.

Aka my teenage years. Cheers Carlton :mad:

It seems a good weekend to have been away with a few middle aged mates from various parts of the country for a bit of a reunion. We chose randwick races in Sydney.

I didn't see the game but me & couple of other Carlton supporters were checking our phones for score updates. It looked ugly.

They had very negative comments re our rebuild. I said l wasn't worried where we were & put forward my arguments. I said we had to stay strong & stay on course & be very resilient & patient. I said that l would wait for the 66 games rebuild which will include 4 drafts & not make a critical assessment until 1 to 2 years after this 66 game rebuild. They just rolled their eyes at me. They also crashed early. They were in bed by 1 am :)

GWS finished 18th in year 1 & 2, 16th in year 3 & 11th in year 4 (in year 5 & 6 they were unlucky with injury to not go further) we are in year 2 & bit

In the short term, we had maybe 7 of the best 22 out with Murphy pulling out. 5 were aged 21 to 24 with Murphy 30 & Williamson 19 being the other 2

We have also changed our game plan completely & maybe a bit early given our outs. Not sure that Kreuzer & Kennedy are fully fit.

Like many on this forum, l'm comfortable where we are at. To those that are not happy stay strong & patient. It's not to say that our blood won't boil at times. It is an emotional game. I also feel for the young supporters.

PP34 makes good points.
These days you need a four-man midfield or engine room.
In the early days, Richmond was a good side but opposition teams would nullify and tag Cotchin and we were fortunate to make the top six.
The inclusion of Prestia was huge because we could rotate the midfield, in addition to Martin and Lambert.
For what it's worth, I have always been most impressed by Wright, a dangerous player.
Yes and that was the last piece of the puzzle for you. Your defence was set. You had a good spine. We simply aren’t up to that yet. I’d be more than happy to add a Prestia after we’ve got our back 6 sorted
It’s an 18 team comp and more than ever other codes are competing for talent. Historial benchmarks about how long it should take to win a flag or even play finals are reasonably irrelevant. Half a decade or more of finals free football will become somewhat normal for all clubs over time.

Bide your time my greatest and most detestable of enemies, bide your time.

Regards

S. Pete

Ps. Some of you may want to wash out your eyes after reading a post by a Collingwood supporter.
thanks mate. Many of the opposition supporters bravely coming in here show far more sense than many of us. Pretty easy to see why. They aren’t emotional about Carlton. Take out the emotion and its clear we just need patience. Clubs don’t need to getevery decision right. Just more than they get wrong. We’re going okay on that.
I was strongly against taking Weitering, I was all about Charlie Curnow if we kept pick 1.

It doesn't matter if Geelong would have taken the deal, the point is pretty much all the feedback I got was that we would be crazy to offer it, and that I was crazy for suggesting it.

Duncan and Menzel for pick 1 was made out to be an outrageously lop sided deal in Geelongs favour.
it still looks lop sided to me. Duncan and Menzel wouldn’t do much long term and we’d still need a KPD or two. Pushing a need like that down the road is very short sighted. Weitering learning behind Harry Taylor and Tom loneegan woildve been special and you’d be saying the opposite two years from now about why we traded in a B+ mid and an injury prone inconsistent forward.

Yes and that was the last piece of the puzzle for you. Your defence was set. You had a good spine. We simply aren’t up to that yet. I’d be more than happy to add a Prestia after we’ve got our back 6 sorted

thanks mate. Many of the opposition supporters bravely coming in here show far more sense than many of us. Pretty easy to see why. They aren’t emotional about Carlton. Take out the emotion and its clear we just need patience. Clubs don’t need to getevery decision right. Just more than they get wrong. We’re going okay on that.

it still looks lop sided to me. Duncan and Menzel wouldn’t do much long term and we’d still need a KPD or two. Pushing a need like that down the road is very short sighted. Weitering learning behind Harry Taylor and Tom loneegan woildve been special and you’d be saying the opposite two years from now about why we traded in a B+ mid and an injury prone inconsistent forward.

I don't care how good individuals become, I'm advocating building a team with a high volume of strong contributors. I'd trade anyone on our list for multiple solid contributors.

We’re doing exactly that.... hurrying the process by trading out the number one pick in the first draft the club goes to after committing to a rebuild is a bit of an odd approach. Papering over cracks to remain slightly more competitive in the short term doesn’t work.

Just got home from work to find my season guide and FRIDGE MAGNET in the letterbox. Hooray nice pic of Dow and O'Brien on the cover.
Loving the women's and men's team posters.

Am looking forward to seeing how my club responds in the next month or so - onwards and upwards