Autopsy Rd 5 Did Blues win? They shit it in!

Which players do you think played well in Round 5?

Charlie has been terrible this year...aside from the injuries has looked a little lazy and laconic.

It would send a strong message to play him in the VFL next week and keep Casboult in...Casboult doesn't deserve to be dropped he was excellent. I also don't want to play all 4 like we did vs GC...doesn't work.

McGovern didn't have a great game today but has been decent this year and still building fitness.

I'm all for it if the coaches do it.
I said “yuk” prior to the game when Curnow was a late out for Cas. I’d like to retract that post if possible. He played well.

That is a massive pressure release. Will help the players also.

Loved Harry and SPS obviously, big K was awesome, Gibbons was great and JSOS cracked in all game.

PS love JSOS’s haircut.
JSOS looked exactly like his dad from where I was sitting

Bolts last week put forward that you cant always go fast in a game of footy. Now this year we haven't really seen that happen within our style of play, nor knowing when to do so. Today though, today was perfect in the way we exectuted not only the sensible possession game but also "going fast". More so, our clearance work was immense. Cripps may have had all these handballs but he was essential in doing the grunt work to get the ball to SPS, Fish, Dow, Murph and Gibbons to spread and carry. SPS himself was amazing with his contested game as well, he looked like he had a point to prove today and really showcased the player he could become. Gibbons is a midfielder, I'm glad he could show what he can do in his natural position, bodes well for the future despite a slow start.

Our defensive system and unit today though was top notch. Every single ****ing one of them. I think Newman has been one of the best trades so far for what we got him for. But Plowman was the one for me today, his one percenters and defensive efforts as well as efficiency by foot was the best I've seen it in a long time. As for the big three up front, H is a machine. 20 disp, 13 contested, 11 marks, 5 contested, 4.3. Plus nearly a goal of a year contender if he had kicked it. Give him another 15-20 games, he is gonna be even better than what he is now.

We needed to perform today, I'm so proud of how we held ourselves against tough opposition. The hardness and pressure at the contest needs to be there like today every single week, today NEEDS to be our barometer. Best I've seen us play in a while - pulling off the switch, changing the angle during a chain and our all round play. Up the ****ing Baggers!!!!!!

To be fair you could say the same about the 'where are the negative ppl' type comments.

Anyway...I liked the directive to get the ball in sps and fishers hands. Quality ball users that can hit the target! Sublime to watch.

I think Dows kicking will be less of an issue moving forward when there is less pressure on his disposal as we develop.

Most won't show up, as they realise how pathetic their posts have been

Just enjoy the development

When Walshie kicked that final goal I did a lap around the house with my arms in the air & tears streaming down my face. It felt like he had kicked the winning goal rather than just icing the game. I absolutely love this great club.
You just explained exactly what I did, except I had the dog chasing me :D

I see Murph is in the best on afl.com

I thought his last qtr was extremely underwhelming...how good were his first three?

Not close to McKay, SPS or Cripps. He was probably in the next clump of good contributors with Walsh, Fisher Casboult and Gibbons imo.

So...

I had to work late last night, hence the lad and I could only get up for the last qtr. Twas a vey welcome surprise to wake up at 3QT and see us four goals up.

A few squeaky bum moments early on, but in the end, never in doubt.

Anyways, with about a minute to go my son did a massive shit (his first for four days) but I thought nope...we'll watch his first win together before I change him...it's one minute...what could possibly go wrong?

From him sitting upright on my knee, me bouncing him a bit and lifting his arms up to cheer on the boys, the shit ended up covering pretty much his entire back. We instigated the Poonami Protocol, of course, but when I was holding him up so that Mrs SBYM could hose the major bits off, he pissed all over me.

What this means I don't know, however, Leo and I welcomed his first Carlton win with a bang.

Ps. I have pics of the above if anyone is interested.

Pps. Pun intended.

Ppps. I think a thread title change is in order...

POTY

SPS the biggest positive to come out of this game. Biggest tease in the team with all the attributes he has, but with the rare performance. Hopefully today convinces him he absolutely belongs at AFL level, it's his mindset.
Same goes for Gibbons too I guess, he belongs at AFL level, although he isn't as good as SPS.

Walsh and McKay are obvious talents. McKay has overtaken Curnow as our most promising forward imo. Curnow is a pretty hand 2nd in command though...

On the negatives, LOB is still not ready for AFL level, which is fine and no need to panic, but he does need to spend more time at VFL level, while I can't see what Polson brings. I can see the positives in the games of LOB, JSOS, Dow and can see why they are persisted with because of the developmental aspect, but I really don't get Polson at all. 4 handballs, 2 tackles. Is there no one better in any state league or junior development team that we could have taken at the end of 2018...

What a day at Marvel.
Amazing how happy you can feel after a win. Forgot what this felt like. Feels bloody great.
Videoed the boys walking off the ground not sure I can post here? Were all so happy and couldn’t get that smile of Bolts’ face. So great to see.
The confidence boost from this win should count for a few more wins in itself. Validation of quick ball movement.
Big Kruze I love you mate. Samo too, Crippa, Walsh, Fish, Daisy.
Ahhh, I love you all you beautiful bunch of baggers!
Gibbons looks good around the middle - another who looked so pleased at the end celebrating with the fans - so awesome to see. Bleeds blue now instead of seagull I reckon...

Autopsy Rd 5 Did Blues win? They shit it in!