Bluemour Melting Pot XX - Snark Free Zone

I still think that we could land both Gaff and Papley if Geelong drive a hard bargain for a top 10 pick.
I don't know about points value and all that but there are some other factors that seem 100% atm, like Sydney seem resigned to losing Papley because they are looking at players such as Knight as a replacement, so to me that says Papley is gone.
Kelly has nominated West Coast but they only have pick 14.
If they have a player in their best 18 that they think they can live without but Sydney are keen on, then I think the deal could be done.

We give Geelong pick 9 on behalf of West Coast.
West Coast give Geelong pick 14.
Geelong trade Kelly to West Coast. Kelly for picks 9 and 14.
Suits Geelong who have an old list. Kelly was a big part of easing the age demographic of that list.

West Coast gives a first 18 player to Sydney. (I don't know who, this is a hypothetical!)
We give Sydney pick 41
West Coast trade Gaff to Carlton
Carlton and West Coast agree to swap first rounders next year.

Carlton sends Sydney the pick gained from Gold Coast for Casboult.
Sydney sends us Papley.

West Coast give up pick 14, player x, and Gaff. Receives Kelly.
Carlton give up pick 9, drop down in next year's first round (hopefully not a lot), pick 41, and pick (n) from Casboult deal. Receive Gaff and Papley.
Sydney gives up Papley. Receives player x (WCE), pick 41, pick from Casboult deal (Carlton)
Geelong give up Kelly. Receive picks 9 and 14.

It may depend on latter pick swaps as well as futures but I think that something like that could work.
Phillips may go as well (Essendon), so that is another pick that could be used in the equation.

Another possibility is that we group our 2 40 odd picks together with a player to get a lower pick to sweeten the deal for either WCE or Sydney, as we did with the Bulldogs pick swap a while back.

Nothing is just out of the plain ol' box with SOS!
Seems pretty straight forward....

Why try trading for Gaff when you can pinch him as F/A next year for free ?

Now if we're talking about Luke Shuey, yes please, come to Papa !!!

I would strongly advise against getting overly exercised about comments such as Sam’s. “Trade Week” is now its own content industry.

Media companies are driving and stimulating content for these three weeks. they need complications, hurdles and curveballs to keep the content wheel turning. It validates what they’re asking us to consume, and heightens they’re own sense of worth.

It’s not in their interest to have straightforward solutions, particularly on the higher profile players. In order I’d rate info from

1) our ITK
2) official club spokespeople

438) media

Correct. This is boon time for AFL Media. Creating interest is paramount.

Papley has nominated Carlton and then flown overseas to enjoy himself. He'll be at Carlton.

Meanwhile media will keep most of us entertained with a whirling dervish. But it really is very simple to sort through.

Agreed, so he has rejected Norfs offer, nominated us publicly and announced to his club to trade him to us, and we seem to be deep in discussions with Sydney to do the trade......but he doesn’t really care which club he goes to in Victoria.........bahahaha!!!!
There should be a clubs appointed media bull.... enforcer who represents all clubs, and when something like this crap is said publicly, the club it has affected sends him to the perpetrator and gives them a good smacked bottom.

It is, JK, if one has a basic level of comprehension, which, it seems you do. :)

Not gonna lie, it's a bit of work following that...

Carlton:
OUT: 9, 41, future first, Casboult
IN: Gaff, Papley, future first (WC)

West Coast:
OUT: 14, Gaff, undisclosed best 22 player
IN: Kelly

Gold Coast:
OUT: pick something-or-other?
IN: Casboult

Geelong:
OUT: Kelly
IN: 9, 14

Sydney:
OUT: Papley
IN: 41, pick something-or-other (GC), undisclosed best 22 player (WC)

There's a looooooot going on there Prem. Not saying it's impossible, depending on how it was sequenced, but it strikes me as highly unlikely that 5 clubs would be able to come together and nut that out, especially given it needs a bit of tuning to get anywhere close to fair.

Carlton get Gaff and Papley for 9, 41, Casboult and a 10(?) spot pick downgrade? Remarklably favourable.
West Coast lose Pick 14, one of their top 3 players, and another best 22 player, all for Kelly? They're getting reamed. Hard. Without lube.
No indication Casboult wants to go to the Suns, and you haven't even indicated what pick you think this would be (strange given the amount of time you've clearly invested).
Geelong do OK, no issues there.
Sydney, no idea what they're even getting here, so impossible to judge. Probably overs depending on the pick and player?

So West Coast get shafted and Carlton and Sydney reap the rewards. Optimistic.

Simplify it:

Trade 1: Carlton send 9 to Sydney for Papley
Trade 2: Sydney send 9 to WC for player X and another pick (or swap).
Trade 3: West Coast send 9 and 14 to Geelong for Kelly.

Done. Assuming WC have a player Sydney want, and who wants to play for Sydney, and is worth trading Pick 9 for.

So Dal Santo just said on trade radio that Clarko and the wee and poos shpuld surprise everyone and jump in the race for Paps. I just vomited....

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Dal Santo is on Tom Browne's level of total nuff nuff, I wouldn't take heed anything he says, cause it's total pigeon doo doo.

The fact we're addressing the small forward/half forward issue so well makes me so happy. I don't think many supporters from opposition sides are going to understand how much its going to transform us. Add a potential surprise mid in the mix and we are well on the way.

Also, cant wait to see Eddie make a mess of opposition defences in navy blue again. The man's gonna be motivated.

BTW people, I might add that I think SOS would be extremely wary of giving pick 9 directly to Sydney for Papley because if Sydney then use that pick as part of the Daniher trade, then that gives * 3 top 10 picks.
2 of those picks could then be used to recruit an elite mid, making one of the mid tier competitors stronger.
I doubt SOS will allow that to happen, especially if an elite mid gets linked to * early on, such as Wines.

On the latest rumour from the non discussion thread, in regards to landing a big fish, that might mean we can’t/won’t land Martin and Papley.

Regardless of who the player is, if we already have Martin and Papley (contracted) nominating us, they are the priority. You can’t as an organisation, put in this effort and have these guys commit to you, only to pull the rug from underneath their feet, once a better offer comes along. It does not bode well for future recruits, club reputation and relationships with other clubs and managers.

If this guy is a big fish, bite the bullet and get all 3.

Agree mate.

While the Ellis story about us backflipping is a load of shit it paints a perception.

If we actually backflip on 1 of these guys we’ve been committing to then this reinforces the story and creates an public perception of how we operate.

That perception I imagine isn’t conducive to attracting or having players feel confident in taking sos at his word.

I’m sure sos is aware of this and thus I’m positive we aren’t pulling out of Martin and papley unless they instigate. Would be a bad look for sure.

Why try trading for Gaff when you can pinch him as F/A next year for free ?

Now if we're talking about Luke Shuey, yes please, come to Papa !!!

Awkward age bracket, we can probably get 2-3 years of good footy left in him based on midfielder's career.

Would be around pick 18 given his age (similar to Beam's). I reckon he will take his game to a whole new level when he isn't get tagged anymore.