News Adam Cerra nominates Carlton

We currently have the 13th youngest list, so there will be plenty of competition for spots when adding the likes of Cerra and Hewett

While I also want more speed, I will take footskills over a quick ball hacker

We do have speed/zip that can rotate through the middle and when you look at someone like Port or the Dogs, their starting mids arent blessed with speed
Austin can identify and draft talent
SOS is great at the trade table
Why wouldnt Sayers put SoS on a short term contract to run the trade negotiations.
I don't hire my solicitor to be my barrister

The freo board are reasonably convinced that cerra is worth 2 firsts. This year and next. They are clearly delusional. The other main theme is 6 and carroll who they clearly want back….

That would be a very tiny minority of posters.

6 is the cornerstone (or perhaps the only stone) …with the high end being suggested is and your 2nd rounder.

The Carroll talk is because he posted on Insta with a few of the Freo boys.

Deal will get done, I don’t think it will be just 6 but it’s more likely to be 6 and something tokenish. Yep you can threaten ND but I’m sure Adam wouldn’t like the stress of it all and the clubs are generally pretty good at getting deals done.

Cerra can hit targets ….a precious skill especially going forward.

Apologies for the intrusion.

The problem i see with getting Cerra for a realistic price is that we gave too much to get Saad last year. We paid overs last year and teams will expect that this year. Pick 6 is about right for Cerra. Nothing more

Whether Saad was worth 7 is very much still up for debate but regardless I feel some in the media deliberately set out to drive the price up last year with Saad and make us pay the maximum possible.

With Cerra I'm fully expecting the "He's worth two firsts" campaign from some of the more anti-Carlton parts of the media (e.g Cornes and Whately.) We need to manage expectations here better than we did last year, imo.

I think he's probably worth the straight swap for 6 and perhaps a little extra steak knives from us. Nothing more.

I wonder if those criticising Cerra have watched him play? Serious question.

Me, I’m a footy nut, I watch nearly every game. Saw a lot of Freo this year, Cerra is a a gun. The game against Richmond late in the season when a spot in the finals was up for grabs. He killed it, 33 possessions and two Brownlow votes. He’ll have what it takes to play finals. We’re getting a good player here and you should get excited!!!
You are spot on with that.....but!....I feel the Dees still fancy their chances, and I think it was on the Fox or SEN site where they asked Gary Pert about how they could get a Cerra deal done, and even though he didn`t exactly spell it out, he did cryptically say that because they have a great list now some of the players that didn`t make it to their G.F. team deserve to be playing regular senior football which reading between the lines sounded like Melbourne would offer up players to Freo to try and make a deal happen!!! He said that all clubs have their own way of trying to get new players through the door. I really don`t see that Melbourne have an excess of the type of player that Freo would want and those players would have to agree to a move, with Angus Brayshaw having already stated that he doesn`t want to move, and I think Freo have already stated that they want picks. I am just thinking out loud really.... :think:

I am literally confuzzled. I am not sure if you are or are not a footballers arseh*le is a good thing or bad thing? What happens if you have no arseh*le? That could be highly problematic ..

I thought confuzzled was going to be the shittest part of your post.

So, theoretically if we keep Dow and LOB that's 3 top ten picks from one draft on our list.

I suggest a particular coach and their idea of development may have been an albatross around two necks
Well technically it would be 3. But 1 of them was expected to be picked in the late 20s or early 30s

Very exciting news.

Third in the B&F last year. The boy can play and we are automatically better with him in our side.

And we are better with Hewett as well.

Congratulations Carlton. I think you're getting an absolute gun thats about to get even better at this stage of his career. You're getting a bargain, IMO. I think you'll find him one of the most reliable and consistent players year in year out, and will likely pick up a few more Brownlow votes this year and the years ahead. He'll likely poll top 4 at Freo club championships this year, but now, we're handing over a classy player that will absolutely be missed - specially for what he's about to do for you guys.

Good luck to Cez, and all the best to Carlton.

Haven’t seen many freo games, and not completely sold on player stats or highlights in isolation. Combined with our recent history of recruiting young mids I can understand some posters hesitancy in trading our first pick for Cerra.
But, finishing 3rd in their bnf as a 20 year old is a much more impressive achievement than any of our young mids (Walsh excluded).

Austin can identify and draft talent
SOS is great at the trade table
Why wouldnt Sayers put SoS on a short term contract to run the trade negotiations.
I don't hire my solicitor to be my barrister
I guess that we shouldn't be surprised that you need the services of both a solicitor and barrister on hold at all times. :D

I wonder if those criticising Cerra have watched him play? Serious question.

Me, I’m a footy nut, I watch nearly every game. Saw a lot of Freo this year, Cerra is a a gun. The game against Richmond late in the season when a spot in the finals was up for grabs. He killed it, 33 possessions and two Brownlow votes. He’ll have what it takes to play finals. We’re getting a good player here and you should get excited!!!

I am absolutely certain that the few vocal Cerra-detractors are going off a vague "outside mid" description and a two minute highlight video from a couple of seasons ago.

If Cerra was as good as they want him to be, he'd be costing us 2 first rounders and change. He's not that good, he may not ever be that good, but he is a durable and consistent midfield accumulator with very good skills by foot....which is why a top 10 pick and maybe a sweetener is a perfectly reasonable price.

The talk on this forum goes from insane to outright ludicrous.

Cerra hasn't done much - at all. He has been getting primarily lose outside receives - posters in here talking him up as though he were Judd.

He has UPSIDE which is great - but so far he hasn't done much - please don't post his "last 4 games".

Right now I would place Cuningham and Kemp ahead of him - he is an "upgrade" on Newnes.

Cool your jets - this trade reminds me very much of Setterfield.

Frustrating the way supporters get so carried away - Saad, Martin, Williams, McGovern, Kennedy - I really don't rate him higher as a prospect than any of these except maybe Kennedy. Who Cerra wouldn't replace.

Every season we absolutely lose our collective minds over some player - who comes in and deflates the entire supporter base.

If someone has some other highlights which show him being "best recruit since Judd" - then great.
There's no way that Cuningham (talk about someone who hasn't done anything yet!) and Kemp are ahead of Cerra.
I would say that Cerra has a higher ceiling than Cuningham and has definitely been more consistent.
An upgrade on Newnes? Great! So he instantly makes our best 22 better. That's the aim, isn't it?

I am absolutely certain that the few vocal Cerra-detractors are going off a vague "outside mid" description and a two minute highlight video from a couple of seasons ago.

If Cerra was as good as they want him to be, he'd be costing us 2 first rounders and change. He's not that good, he may not ever be that good, but he is a durable and consistent midfield accumulator with very good skills by foot....which is why a top 10 pick and maybe a sweetener is a perfectly reasonable price.
Well, I reckon he is worth two first-rounders myself and I don't think I'm the lone ranger. Not saying that as in that's what we'll get, but thats how high I rate his value as a player currently, combined with the brightness of his future. He's not an 'unknown'.

I'm someone who watches him every week and rate him highly. He'll imediately be one of your best ball users and decision makers. Avged 24 disposals this year - and they're quality and damaging disposals. But that said, I think what I'll miss most, is what he's about to blossom into for you guys, and he's already pretty good. You should be pumped about this get.

Anyhoo, I'll butt out. You've got a ripper - and a bargain, IMO. All the best.

Treloar and 28 did go for 7, 7, 62. So there is precedent, somewhat.

One of the pick 7s was a future first...at the time it was expected that Collingwood would be a top 6 team the year after, so they would have thought it'd be about pick 14.

Just shows the risks of trading future 1st rounders. There's been numerous examples.

The talk on this forum goes from insane to outright ludicrous.

Cerra hasn't done much - at all. He has been getting primarily lose outside receives - posters in here talking him up as though he were Judd.

He has UPSIDE which is great - but so far he hasn't done much - please don't post his "last 4 games".

Right now I would place Cuningham and Kemp ahead of him - he is an "upgrade" on Newnes.

Cool your jets - this trade reminds me very much of Setterfield.

Frustrating the way supporters get so carried away - Saad, Martin, Williams, McGovern, Kennedy - I really don't rate him higher as a prospect than any of these except maybe Kennedy. Who Cerra wouldn't replace.

Every season we absolutely lose our collective minds over some player - who comes in and deflates the entire supporter base.

If someone has some other highlights which show him being "best recruit since Judd" - then great.
Mate, I’ve watched every game he’s played You are getting an outright future Brownlow medallist. You need to remember he is 22 and still has huge improvement. Compare players at age 22. Mundy at that age was average and just polled 20 votes as a 36 year olds.
I hope Cerra reads all the crap on here, dumps his VIC girlfriend and stays at Freo.

Some of the crap... Yeah, we don't want a midfielder who gets the ball regularly 25 times a game and a large percentage of those disposals are inside 50. Nah, not at all. We can stick with 2 standout mids and other other midfielders around his age that we get so excited about when they have 20 disposals, "oh, this might be a breakout game!"

Not having a go at anyone but why wouldn't you want a 21 year old who is consistent? We only had 4 players average over 20 possessions a game this year, Walsh, Docherty, Cripps and Curnow. In our top ten disposal getters this year only 5 were mids.

Dow, who is from Cerra's draft averaged 15. Setterfield 15..we can go on.