Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion

North entered that arrangement themselves FFS.
Yes - Hawks, Richmond and Melbourne - decided to sell "home" games.

But this was after AFL House policy forced them to play "home games" at Docklands.

Are you WA wowsers too thick to realise that it was an AFL House decision to reduce the clubs home ground advantage.

The clubs then made a commercial decision, having already lost the on-field footy advantage.

It was AFL House policy that eroded home ground advantage for Melbourne based clubs.

The results are clear to see, ever since 21st century (when Docklands came in) H&A ladder, and premierships are dominated by teams who play predominantly outside of Melbourne.

Only 2019. The top 4 being evened out by only a game and the slight %, Richmond were given a cake walk home to the top 4. That being said, Eagles still choked at home v the Hawks and if they didn't do that Tigers wouldn't of even made the top 4.

That's a big reason why I think it was such a bundle of sticks you guys didn't play us twice. The 2 previous Premiers honestly should of played twice in the season.

So you believe Vic teams are at a disadvantage due to playing home finals against co tenants at the G because one time Richmond ran into a 7ft Yank having a day out.

Right, moving on then.

Yes, they are disadvantaged by not having a home ground advantage. Why is that so hard to understand.

Yes - Hawks, Richmond and Melbourne - decided to sell "home" games.

But this was after AFL House policy forced them to play "home games" at Docklands.

Are you WA wowsers too thick to realise that it was an AFL House decision to reduce the clubs home ground advantage.

The clubs then made a commercial decision, having already lost the on-field footy advantage.

It was AFL House policy that eroded home ground advantage for Melbourne based clubs.

The results are clear to see, ever since 21st century (when Docklands came in) H&A ladder, and premierships are dominated by teams who play predominantly outside of Melbourne.
Since 1997 the start of the AFL era:

17 Vic sides have won
8 Non vic sides have won

Premierships have not been dominated by non-vic teams, they generally come from the top 3 (average table position 2.3)

The best team normally wins regardless of what state they are from (except for the Bulldogs been gifted one by the umpires after finishing 7th)

Best way to achieve wats being said is to have 10 Victorian teams and 10 non Victorian teams in two conferences where eac conference has its top 4 teams guaranteed the top seedlings in the finals
But you’d still need to have the home team in each final the better record, and non vic teams would be doing even more travelling,

Top team gets Grand final
Increase NGA's, and Academies for non vic sides have access to more players, to increase percentage of local talent on list, to make it even with Vic Sides
Even out marquee, Thursday Night, Friday night, Saturday Night games, and nationally broadcast games.

Even out funding of juniors. Ideally, the VFL should be split off and get the same funding as the SANFL and WAFL get.

AFL should open an office in QLD, NSW, SA and WA and all positions should be available in all states. They should have a goal of no more than 50% of employees of every department, not based in Victoria.

Increase soft cap, based on days away from home and travel distance.(Max of 10%)
Travel allowance for players, based on days away from home.

Since 1997 the start of the AFL era:

17 Vic sides have won
8 Non vic sides have won

Premierships have not been dominated by non-vic teams, they generally come from the top 3 (average table position 2.3)

The best team normally wins regardless of what state they are from (except for the Bulldogs been gifted one by the umpires after finishing 7th)
AFL started in 1990

But back then Melbourne based clubs still had home grounds, Waverley, Vic Park, Windy Hill, Western Oval, Princes Park etc.

AFL House policy in the 90s was to rationalise suburban grounds, sell off Waverley and move to the Docklands.

So in 21st century, when Melbourne based clubs had home ground advantage removed, and some clubs then started selling Docklands games for commercial reasons, it is clear that if you want to finish top4 and win a flag, be a team plays outside of Melbourne.

21st century flags, has been 23 of them

Two Covid flags, where Melbourne based teams won when not based in Melbourne.

Pure Melbourne clubs, those who play 15+ games in Melbourne have won 5 of the 21 remaining flags.

Tassie Hawks, a team who travels 9-10 times a season, and gets just 9-10 games per year at the G have won 4 of the 21.

Non-Melbourne clubs, have won 12 of the 21 other flags.

The facts are clear that it is the Melbourne clubs - Carl, Ess, StK, WB, North, Melb - who are the battlers.

If you want to win a flag and finish top4, be based outside of Melbourne or do what Hawthorn did and find an advantage elsewhere.

See below.

Bit strange the AFL has not investigated why the 2 SA clubs haven't won a premiership in 20 years (not the same as the 7 yr Vic investigation you say because only 2 clubs... what's the bet this could go on for another 20 years and we will not have an AFL investigation?) or a QLD club in 21 years.

Odds of a AFL investigation into why Interstate clubs can't win a premiership if they interstaters don't win one by the end of 2025 (that will be 7 years without a win)?

View attachment 2018672
View attachment 2018671
This is not evidence of 'unbearable whining' as you put it.

It's s couple of comments from Adrian Anderson, who is not reflective of the fan base anyway.

So do you have evidence of your allusion that victorians in general are guilty of 'unbearable whining'

Hurry up & exist to win premierships again Port Adelaide, us non Vickers want to believe in you.

And this is what it comes down to , but no non vic fan wants to admit it.

Non vic fan interest: 'Beat the vics'

vic fan interest: 'My club to win flags'

This competition is not SOO, it's a club competition, an expanded vfl rebranded as a national competition.

Accept it or don't.

Ahh prictorians Richmond playing a prelim final at the mcg in 2018’ is not home ground advantage, even though it’s their home ground lol.
What exactly makes playing at home an advantage?

Is it reduced travel? Advantage in support from the stands? Familiarly with the ground? “Home” umpires?

Because in the 2018 prelim you are referencing none of those things apply since they are all equal to the same advantages Collingwood would of had for the same game

2017 v the cats I can understand some of the frustration from cats fans but not 2018 where no team had the advantage home or away

I think you hit the nail on the head with regards to West Coast Eagles bitterness about the so called Vic Bias myth. They feel that their club was entitled to the premierships Richmond won.

West Coast were deserving premiers in 2018, as Richmond were in 2017, 19 & 20.
I don't think you will find any Eagles fan saying we deserved any of the 2017, 19 and 20 flags. In 2017, we weren't ready, and from 2019-21, we underachieved through our own failings. Whether that was a premiership hangover or just bottling it, we weren't good enough. None of that is relevant to the discussion at hand though.

Carlton and Essendon aren't battlers. They are both massive clubs, who tried to rort the system and got punished by the AFL.
The respective punishments explain a few seasons when they were poor.

We have completed 23 seasons in the 21st century now, Carlton and Essendon have combined for just 1 top4 finish at H&A and 1 GF appearance. They may be big popular clubs, but on-field they aint performing.

Their decision to be "co-tenants" and not have a home ground, IMHO is a big part of their poor on-field performance.

Your club, Brisbane, have had 8 top4 finishes, played in 5 GFs and won 3 premierships in the same period.

But people think Melbourne based teams are advantaged??

It seems research confirms that WA teams, including teams in other codes based in WA, are being disadvantaged by the travel across time zones from WA.

The respective punishments explain a few seasons when they were poor.

We have completed 23 seasons in the 21st century now, Carlton and Essendon have combined for just 1 top4 finish at H&A and 1 GF appearance. They may be big popular clubs, but on-field they aint performing.

Their decision to be "co-tenants" and not have a home ground, IMHO is a big part of their poor on-field performance.

Your club, Brisbane, have had 8 top4 finishes, played in 5 GFs and won 3 premierships in the same period.

But people think Melbourne based teams are advantaged??
And your club (Collingwood) in the last 23 years

2 Premierships
6 Grand Final appearances
10 top 4 finishes

Claiming Melbourne teams are disadvantaged.

Isn't this sub Vic bias, not Melbourne bias?

It seems research confirms that WA teams, including teams in other codes based in WA, are being disadvantaged by the travel across time zones from WA.

Did you read this?
Hilarious, if you are trying to use as Vicbias.

What do you want to do, wake teams traveling west up every 4 hrs or something?

Making Vic teams travel more is still not going to fix sleep problems, it didn't even show the problem, just said there is one, just like most Western Australians do, go from one to another, get proved wrong, then come back and try again in a couple of months.

Did you read this?
Hilarious, if you are trying to use as Vicbias.

What do you want to do, wake teams traveling west up every 4 hrs or something?

Making Vic teams travel more is still not going to fix sleep problems, it didn't even show the problem, just said there is one, just like most Western Australians do, go from one to another, get proved wrong, then come back and try again in a couple of months.
Only real way to try and eliminate the issue is to have WA clubs spend time in hubs interstate so they could do all the away games in blocks of 2 - 4 weeks and do the same when they return home

But obviously extended stints away from home raises other issues as well

Unless we just get the afl to standardise the entire Timezone of Australia
I’m sure the AFL could pull in a few favours to make it happen

Kranky Al earlier in this thread posted some more detailed research on the effects of international long haul flights (10 time zones I think it was) for athletes. It can affect sleep and circadian rhythms. It also suggested the effects were less if you do the trip more.

The one you quoted was looking at super rugby travelling 4 hour time zones from Perth to NZ which I could understand might stuff up sleep patterns. Not so sure that 2 hour time zone travel from Perth to East Coast would be a huge factor though.