Preview 2024 Rd 21 Carlton vs Collingwood Saturday 3rd August 7:30PM AEST @ MCG

Team is in …

IMG_8144.jpeg

MILESTONE: Jack Martin 150 AFL Games

IMG_8145.jpeg

Will Binns get a game, a full game with us? Seems like his papers are stamped at Carlton, can't get a look in and we carry so many passengers.

This is quite glaring tbh... I knew it was bad... but only 0.1 better than WCE across the whole season??

What's going on here? Poor positioning, lack of leg speed, lack of discipline, lack of concentration... Not sure they can just "flick a switch" to fix this... the fact it hasn't improved as the season has gone on is worrying.

It wasn't only Daicos that got away from us last game... even that first gamer Sullivan scored a goal from a stoppage in d50...

It's more important to know where every side sits in terms of numbers

Confident other sides in the 8 don't have great numbers either

Rightly or wrongly, I think we both know that they're not going to select Binns over Ollie at this stage of the season...

If Binns wasn't picked last week, and with Acres back, he certainly isn't going to be picked this week.

The only POSSIBLE reason is he didn't play last week and would be very fresh. All I can think of

Well for a start there is no god, but on the pies captain. When asked if he felt sorry for Carlton after Collingwood eliminated them from a finals chance, Pendulbury smirked and said " no i don't feel sorry for them' just one of many tasteless comments from the flog

Tasteless?

Why would an opposition player from our biggest rival, give a toss about our club? Good on him.

Do you think people here would criticise Cripps on Saturday night if we smash them and he’s asked, do you feel sorry for wrecking Pendleburys 400th and he said no.

I have no idea how people can find that tasteless.

This is quite glaring tbh... I knew it was bad... but only 0.1 better than WCE across the whole season??

What's going on here? Poor positioning, lack of leg speed, lack of discipline, lack of concentration... Not sure they can just "flick a switch" to fix this... the fact it hasn't improved as the season has gone on is worrying.

It wasn't only Daicos that got away from us last game... even that first gamer Sullivan scored a goal from a stoppage in d50...

As this wasn’t an issue last year, i struggle to see how its lack of speed or discipline, the players are mostly the same as last year so it shouldn’t be concentration.

Then why would our mid coach, set up in a way that continues to leak scores?

Every team in the 8 has gone through a lean patch of form even the 3 outside the 8.

It’s now time to get on the run way and hit the finals red hot.

All this heavy loading crap and whatever needs to be put aside.

Just bring pressure and effort the rest will take care of itself.

As this wasn’t an issue last year, i struggle to see how its lack of speed or discipline, the players are mostly the same as last year so it shouldn’t be concentration.

Then why would our mid coach, set up in a way that continues to leak scores?
Is it a coincidence that Tim Clarke is coach? Guy isn't the absolute worst but he's been around forever generally achieving mediocre results. Need to move these types of guys on.

Patty Cripps lauds Clarke as the most influential coach he's had.

Outside of the last month our midifled has been largely dominant for the best part 18 months.

So yeah...'absolute worst' is a bit dramatic innit?

If there is one thing I can say for Cerra, he is an expert at neutralising centre clearances. He's good at stopping the handpass and pulling the ball under the opponent. The semi vs Melbourne and the bounce after the Acres game comes straight to mind. He's a defensive minded midfielder.

If we neutralise the centre bounces, we can get numbers around the ball for the follow up stoppage bounce.

If there is one thing I can say for Cerra, he is an expert at neutralising centre clearances.
Unfortunately not so much the last month since he came back into the side.
I know he's been shifted back, but it he was playing well in the middle I doubt they would have moved him.

We really need Cez and Walshy to get back into form.

Looking forward to our midfield stepping up...

Get Cerra back in there, play more disciplined, work on positioning and play team footy.

Cincotta to give Daicos a bath.

I hope we go back to Cripps Hewett Kennedy Cerra. Walsh HF/Wing with bursts on ball.

My concern is run from defence. I understand Cincotta going to Daicos but I'd love to see him back to a HBF and providing more run. He's also a tough bugger and helps out other defenders

Patty Cripps lauds Clarke as the most influential coach he's had.

Outside of the last month our midifled has been largely dominant for the best part 18 months.

So yeah...'absolute worst' is a bit dramatic innit?

I can tell you for a "Fact" that the players love him. Can he coach? I have no idea, but he's as popular a coach as I have seen

If there is one thing I can say for Cerra, he is an expert at neutralising centre clearances. He's good at stopping the handpass and pulling the ball under the opponent. The semi vs Melbourne and the bounce after the Acres game comes straight to mind. He's a defensive minded midfielder.

If we neutralise the centre bounces, we can get numbers around the ball for the follow up stoppage bounce.

I reckon Voss spat the dummy at him after that Bulldogs game... he was getting the ball ripped out of his hands and soft at the contest.

Need to persist with him in the middle though, only way he'll get his confidence back. He's not going to magically find it playing at hb.

Thing is, Voss knows he made a mistake when he dropped Hewett in favour of Cerra back in. Doesn't want to drop Cerra because he knows he's an A grade player when on, so just trying to slot him in.

He's struggling to find the right mix when all of Walsh, Cerra, Hewett and Kennedy are available.

I wouldn't mind trying a different mix. Cripps, Cerra and Hewett in the middle. Put Walsh on one wing and Acres on the other. Rotate Kennedy, Lij, Cincotta and even Cowan in there.

I hope we go back to Cripps Hewett Kennedy Cerra. Walsh HF/Wing with bursts on ball.

My concern is run from defence. I understand Cincotta going to Daicos but I'd love to see him back to a HBF and providing more run. He's also a tough bugger and helps out other defenders

re Cinc... maybe for some other game...

Seen enough of the Pies to know that culling Daicos' impact goes a very long way to stopping them creating anything. That's why they've been down on i50 entries when he gets tagged.

Get Cerra in the middle, get Boyd in the backline.

Play Martin (if fit). Forward line has looked shakey since Williams went down as the third ‘tall’.

Play one of Kennedy or Hewett as the sub.

Win