Game Day Changes & Pre-match Discussion - RD 4 vs. Carlton. Thur 03/04 @ 7:30pm (MCG)

In other words, on average our team is at the closest to peak performance than any other (given that 27 to 28 years of age are generally considered the prime years before the hill starts its descent).
Not to mention the previous holder of the record is a team that played in a grand final that it won by nearly 100 points. Not exactly bad company to be keeping.

Lipinski should be sub in my opinion.
Oldest team in AFL history? Get the Zimmer frames ready, the aged care assessments ready and speak up.

Lipinski should be sub in my opinion.
Not even in consideration given he's named on the field especially someone that had 9 score involvements last game. Our preferred wingers wont be the sub whether thats lippa. Crisp or sidey. Generally its your extra mid or forward who they have on the bench. Or a older player if they want to manage a player.

Sub will be one of:
Josh D, Pendles, Membrey, Beau or Long so take your pick.

Have to wonder if we're still going to go with Frampton with McKay not playing

Reckon everyone else in Carlton's forward line might be too mobile for him?

The rumour floating around is that he broke up with his girlfriend. Not joking.

Sylvester Stallone Facepalm GIF

Needing 3 weeks off work because u broke up with ur GF is extraordinary.

In my late 20s, I barely would have made it into work on that basis.

Id be okay with pendles as sub, I know he's not the prototype sub to provide run in the second half in an ideal world but with a older side that's questioned for pace I think our fastest players need to start on the field and pendles can come in late and pick them apart and control the tempo.

They’ve thrown him forward late in games when they didn’t have three talls (Curnow missing Rd 1 and McKay since Rd 1) and were against smaller opposition forward groups. He’ll go to Mihocek I suspect who’ll have his hands full with him based on how well Silvagni has started the season.
Checkers normally cops Weiters, so he'll be licking his lips at the prospect of lining up on JSOS.

Checkers for 4 goals tonight.

Id be okay with pendles as sub, I know he's not the prototype sub to provide run in the second half in an ideal world but with a older side that's questioned for pace I think our fastest players need to start on the field and pendles can come in late and pick them apart and control the tempo.

This. Pendles as sub. He can contribute while on the bench (as an extra assistant) then come on in the second half. While his legs may be old, his on field footy brain could be just what we need as the opposition tires.

Plus give Ned the whole game. Looking forward to his continued evolution.😊

Went past the MCG on the train this morning. The "Melbourne Spirit" sign thing was lit up above a main entrance. I made appropriate gestures of detestation etc.

I quickly moved on to making signs of genuflection and worship in honour of our boys.

Did quick goal umpire impersonation x number of goals to win by

Pies by 3 - 4 goals.

Bank it.

Will repeat performance this arvo.

Blues will come out firing given the flak they've copped and given that it's their biggest game of the year.

Hope we are ready for them and not be complacent. Going in as favourites always makes me nervous.

For the first time I’m going to have a go at Fly. Now he’s done this to two players, Fin and Ed. He says during a press conference when asked about these players, “ we want to get them into our side, they’re important to our team.” What happens they don’t get played.. he said it about ED this week and last and said it several times about Fin and we know how he’s been treated. A quarter here and there in the AFL when he gets picked. Now it looks like Ed is going to cop this treatment.
We have the oldest side ever to play an AFL match this week I hope both players are in touch with their management team. Yes Fin is injured but he should be desperately looking for other options and Ed well I hope he’s been tapped on the shoulder and been told that there will be changes at years end and the younger players will have more of a go next year as some list spots will be opened up.

Equation is simple. Play your role in the VFL that the AFL team requires and force your way into the team at the expense of a player who isn’t playing well. Then take your opportunity and cement your spot. This goes for any player. Age has nothing to do with it. The best team will be picked every week. I think the hyphen would be a great sub but he can’t get into the team either.

There is no doubt this will be a pivotal season for change over. Either during the season or at seasons end.

I am sure the players have bought into the squad mentality and not just a best 23.

Not even in consideration given he's named on the field especially someone that had 9 score involvements last game. Our preferred wingers wont be the sub whether thats lippa. Crisp or sidey. Generally its your extra mid or forward who they have on the bench. Or a older player if they want to manage a player.

Sub will be one of:
Josh D, Pendles, Membrey, Beau or Long so take your pick.
Their defence is slow. I'm betting on Membrey - I think there will be a fair bit of kicking to grass up forward for the smalls to go to town.