ANZAC Day vs Welcome to Country

Seriously how did Nazi’s end up in the crowd on Anzac Day? Did they want to get beaten again?

Far right influence in the Australian military is a real thing. Although maybe not direct endorsement of Nazism approval of white nationalist, white supremacist, far right and anti migrant sentiment is high in the military. A combat unit in the army isn’t going to be a greens voting hub.

It's up to companies to decide if they get any value from it. I don't think government departments should be spending taxpayer dollars on them. The ANZAC Day discussion is not about the money. But whether it is appropriate to have ceremonies that imply people need to be welcomed to somewhere they were born, lived all their lives, or in some cases risked their lives in military service.

Interesting to note from that video that the soldier appears to have attended the service possible with Hersant as they are close together in this pic.

He disagrees with the welcome to country at ANZAC Day so he must be a neo-nazi or far right? He happened to be in the vicinity of Hersant who was drawing attention from everyone around him by being interviewed by a news reporter so he possibly attended the service with Hersant???

The waiters' wage isn't the best comparison, it's the MC. And he was paid $2,500 and was on stage for about the same time as the elder.

The going rate for an MC is less than $50 an hour. A minor celebrity might attract $2,500 but if they only talk for 10 minutes they are not really an MC. A real MC conducts the evening's event over a 2 or 3 hour period. An Aboriginal elder or a young person he sends as his replacement, talking for 10 minutes, has neither the celebrity appeal or time spent during the event to justify such a large fee.

But as I said it's up to companies to decide if they get any value from it. I don't think government departments should be spending taxpayer dollars on them. The ANZAC Day discussion is not about the money. But about whether it is appropriate to have ceremonies that imply people need to be welcomed to somewhere they were born, lived all their lives, or in some cases risked their lives in military service.

The going rate for an MC is less than $50 an hour. A minor celebrity might attract $2,500 but if they only talk for 10 minutes they are not really an MC. A real MC conducts the evening's event over a 2 or 3 hour period. An Aboriginal elder or a young person he sends as his replacement, talking for 10 minutes, has neither the celebrity appeal or time spent during the event to justify such a large fee.

But as I said it's up to companies to decide if they get any value from it. I don't think government departments should be spending taxpayer dollars on them. The ANZAC Day discussion is not about the money. But about whether it is appropriate to have ceremonies that imply people need to be welcomed to somewhere they were born, lived all their lives, or in some cases risked their lives in military service.

You are just parroting Liberal/advance talking points. They spent more in one year on this nonsense you spout, than WTC cost over 3 years.

The ANZAC Day discussion is not about the money. But about whether it is appropriate to have ceremonies that imply people need to be welcomed to somewhere they were born, lived all their lives, or in some cases risked their lives in military service.
100%. The WTC supporters will claim that we're not being welcomed to country, we're just being welcomed to a certain place, which is essentially just a technical way of saying that we are still being welcomed to Australia. The WTC supporters also claim that it's done for reconciliation and respect. Yet the WTCs are always about aboriginals welcoming everyone onto their specific land, which is implying that we are guests. Ironically the whole purpose of reconciliation is not occurring as it's separating people into groups and causing hostility, which is completely counterproductive. We are all equal, but in Australia some groups appear to be more equal than others...

QUESTION. Is there any other country in the world who has to stick up with 3 flags and welcome to country week in week out.
The vote was no but the bullshit continues.
I'm not anti indigenous, I'm anti bullshit

You have a long list of infractions for racism. I suggest you sit this one out.

He disagrees with the welcome to country at ANZAC Day so he must be a neo-nazi or far right? He happened to be in the vicinity of Hersant who was drawing attention from everyone around him by being interviewed by a news reporter so he possibly attended the service with Hersant???

No, watch some of the footage from the event and that guy is with Hersant both in the ceremony crowd then after talking to the reporter, it is a strong possibly they are linked.

The second piece of interesting info is the footage was originally captured by “the Noticer” News which is a known neo Nazi propaganda site, and they just happened to be standing next to those two when the tirade was delivered?:

I'm also outraged about being welcomed to my own country all the time. How dare people think they can do this.

Nah, not the indigenous Welcome to Country at the footy (that was actually pretty cool). For me, its all the other 'welcomes' I have to deal with on a daily basis.

Take airline travel. Last week I flew to Sydney and back and you just wouldn't believe it. First of all the captain of the airplane welcomed me to Sydney. Then when I got off the plane there was a sign at the airport that said 'Welcome to Sydney'. There was even another one at the taxi rank too - someone had painted it on a wall. You can bet someone got paid to paint that sign - just pure grift if you ask me. All these people welcoming me, and yet its my own bloody country.

Got in a taxi, first question the bloke asked me was 'where you from, mate?'. I told him I was from Melbourne and he said 'welcome to Sydney' and said he hoped I had a good trip. Outrageously rude - I don't even think he was a real Australian, he had an accent. You better believe he didn't get a tip from me...

I arrived at my hotel and the bloody concierge had the nerve to 'Welcome' me to the hotel and then when I got up to the room there was a booklet of hotel information that said 'Welcome' on the front. Someone had even put a bloody 'welcome' mint on my pillow. How dare these people repeatedly welcome me to my own country!

I then went to the conference. Host gets up at the start of the meeting - bet you know what they did. "Welcome ladies and gentlemen...". How dare they! Then the keynote speaker started, and they also welcomed us all over again. It just never ends some times.

Got home (had to ENDURE it all again on the way back - the taxi, the 'welcome to Melbourne signs' at our airport - just so idistressing) and even now even my wife is in on the grift. She'd bought a new mat for the front door and guess what it says on it... sheesh , I can't even walk in the front door without someone 'welcoming' me to my own home.

So yeah, I'm not that fussed about the aboriginal people welcoming me at the footy or as part of an ANZAC day ceremony. I'm a proud Australian and I'm proud of our history, and its great to link current and everyday life to the thousands of years of history and culture our great country has.

But geez... if one more person stops me on the way into Bunnings to 'Welcome' me, or I have to see one more 'Welcome to the Zoo' sign, I might just flip...

No, watch some of the footage from the event and that guy is with Hersant both in the ceremony crowd then after talking to the reporter, it is a strong possibly they are linked.

The second piece of interesting info is the footage was originally captured by “the Noticer” News which is a known neo Nazi propaganda site, and they just happened to be standing next to those two when the tirade was delivered?:

Do you have any links to this alleged footage?

He didn't thank the ANZACs once and did not even mention them. Here is the speech:

Please tell me at what time in that speech he ever mentioned, let alone thanked the ANZACs!?

What would he be thanking them for?
“I thank you for letting me welcome you”

100%. The WTC supporters will claim that we're not being welcomed to country, we're just being welcomed to a certain place, which is essentially just a technical way of saying that we are still being welcomed to Australia. The WTC supporters also claim that it's done for reconciliation and respect. Yet the WTCs are always about aboriginals welcoming everyone onto their specific land, which is implying that we are guests. Ironically the whole purpose of reconciliation is not occurring as it's separating people into groups and causing hostility, which is completely counterproductive. We are all equal, but in Australia some groups appear to be more equal than others...
Yep those elite indigenous Australians in their ivory towers are certainly treated as more equal than everyone else 🙄

A couple of years ago the Australian government held a referendum to give indigenous Australians their own voice. No other ethnic group in Australia was afforded that. No other ethnic group in Australia has jobs reserved specifically for their ethnic group either apart from indigenous Australians. Indigenous Australians also receive twice the amount of public funding as non-indigenous Australians. It's almost as though indigenous Australians are more Australian than other Australians, which is exactly what the Welcome to Country suggests.

Yeah sure that's why I posted who gives a **** about anyone's colour skin it's about the Anzac's. But like always this welcome to country is shoved down our throats even when its not appropriate
the kid mero crying GIF by Desus & Mero

What I’m totally against is the enforced nationalism on the day.
Link?
Shops and venues being forced to close by law, schools forcing mandatory Anzac events, mandatory minute’s silence before matches (what happened to the “keep politics out of sports” mob?).
Link?
There’s a lot of people in this society who just don’t want to observe the day but can’t escape it.
Link?

Poor persecuted Mikey

ANZAC Day vs Welcome to Country