Preview 2025 Rd 8 Carlton vs Adelaide Saturday 3rd May 4:15PM AEST @ Adelaide Oval

IN: Young, Doch, Boyd (sub)
OUT: JSOS, Williams, Cerra

Play Doch on the wing and put Walsh back in the midfield.

Not necessarily an advocate for Doch returning but don't see anyone else stepping up sadly.

I'll alter this to:
IN: Young, Doch (sub)
OUT: JSOS, Williams

Besides the Kangaroos game, Williams hasn't really contributed a lot this year in terms of scoreboard impact so I don't think we miss anything by not bringing in an exact like-for-like player.

I have faith in Youngy to fill a void. He has been fantastic when asked to do a role this year and I have full faith he can do it again - give the bloke credit where credit is due.

Crows are the number 1 team for points for but we are the number 1 team without ball in hand. If we bring that and can cut off their avenues to goal, which has been blistering ball movement at times, then we take away their main weaponry.

Theyre 4-4 for winning the clearances in matches this year. When they've won the count, twice they've conceded their fair share as well . The other two times they won the clearance count convincingly and they produced great performances against the Suns and Giants.

Gain forward territory from the clearance, quickly set up the team defence further up the field and disallow them to run and carry.

If we can do that, we win.

Walsh 35 disposals
Curnow 5 goals
Baggers by 31 points
Go blues 👍

When Moir can properly run out a few VFL games in a row he should be considered. Right now he's a moments player in the VFL and has a terrible tank for the role he'd be playing at AFL level. Can't have a genuine liability on the field in the 3rd and 4th quarters because they're gassed by half time.
I keep hearing from people on here about Moir supposedly not having match fitness, can't see out a game, terrible tank, blah blah blah....but by memory haven't seen anything from the club.

From what I've seen of him at VFL level, he seems to be able to run out games ok. He obviously had a stinker vs the Filth, but so did about 20 of his team mates....and the way the ball was being delivered up forward after quarter time, even Lockett or Dunstall would have struggled to get a kick. And it was only his 3rd or 4th game at senior level.

Are you able to provide some type of evidence to support your premise....or is it just posters jumping on the wagon? For mine, he's still young and developing, but no different to many others at his age.

It seems most of their forwards Fog, Tex and Thilthorpe play with a bit of aggression/ presence. Whilst Young would be the logical next cab off the rank due to his form in the forward line I think he could get exposed down back this week.

Someone like Cow would be a good person to bring in for Fog, assuming he plays. May not be as good aerially but I think he can go with him in all other facets to be enough of a headache. Get the feeling Young would just get a little exposed with their movement.

same height, not same size!

Big difference.
Strength Speed Power

Anyone thinking Carroll is a chance to be dropped should look at this:

No, kids going well, first half kicking was a bit down made up for it in the second half…

Carroll was good in the second half. But terrible in the first.

No evidence, geez we have short memories. Please check the objective statistical evidence from last year.

Also, remind me how he played in his only final appearance in a PF against Brisbane?

Not saying Carroll is bad, he's a prospect for the future that's for sure. But suggesting he's on the same level as Boyd at this current stage is objectively false.
Boyd’s level in the final last year was bloody good, this year he has been nowhere near that game level or close to being worthy of selection, his form has been ordinary..

I keep hearing from people on here about Moir supposedly not having match fitness, can't see out a game, terrible tank, blah blah blah....but by memory haven't seen anything from the club.

From what I've seen of him at VFL level, he seems to be able to run out games ok. He obviously had a stinker vs the Filth, but so did about 20 of his team mates....and the way the ball was being delivered up forward after quarter time, even Lockett or Dunstall would have struggled to get a kick. And it was only his 3rd or 4th game at senior level.

Are you able to provide some type of evidence to support your premise....or is it just posters jumping on the wagon? For mine, he's still young and developing, but no different to many others at his age.
He cramped up in the reserves game last week.

I watch every VFL game I can. Normally that's close to all of them each year.

Moir struggled early last year with the same thing and was only really able to hit his straps in the 2nd half of the season where he was moving far better than previous weeks and looked fantastic. It's not a matter of talent with him as what he does with ball in hand is quality. It's about working hard around the ground on both sides of the ball.

So far this year Moir has been really poor again defensively and his energy during games has been subpar up until last week where he once again seemed to turn a corner a bit. I like Moir's talent, but imo he is just not ready for a full game of AFL footy up forward atm.

Silvagni out is a big blow.
He was the man for Fogarty.
Weitering for Thilthorpe.
Haynes for Walker.

Can’t trust McGovern in any of these roles, his only value is an occasional intercept and then setting up attacking forays with his well weighted, penetrating kicking.

Hoping one of Thilthorpe or Fogarty doesn’t come up but sounding as though they both play.
That said, we probably have to bring in Young … has he got it in him to target Thilthorpe’s finger whilst spoiling in marking contests ?
Give him the job with Weitering taking Fogarty unless a swap is needed at some stage.

I’ve had enough of Keays showboating against us up forward in recent times.
Bring in Cowan with the job of taking the smartarse out of the game.

Out : Silvagni Williams
In : Young Cowan

Saad Young Weitering
McGovern Haynes Cowan
Walsh Cripps Acres
Hollands McKay Durdin
Motlop Curnow White

TDK Hewett Cerra

Hollands Carroll Lord Cottrell

SUB : Fogarty

Hollands = wing rotations
Carroll = defensive rotations
Lord = midfield rotations
Cottrell = forward rotations

We look dangerous and sharper with the 3 small forwards … let them work as a pack both offensively and defensively with an eye to hurting the opposition where it matters most … on the scoreboard …

It’s about time we start beating teams with their best available talent, stuff the mindset of hoping good opposition players are unavailable so we can win, play them at their best..
We need to test ourselves, it’s part of becoming a contender, anytime anywhere, home or interstate…

It’s about time we start beating teams with their best available talent, stuff the mindset of hoping good opposition players are unavailable so we can win, play them at their best..
We need to test ourselves, it’s part of becoming a contender, anytime anywhere, home or interstate…

It’s an admirable call FBB but the reality is it never works both ways.
Wouldn’t it be nice to have Silvagni Williams Smith Kemp and Newman available this week …

We are Adelaide’s bunnies. We get overawed when playing them over their at Adelaide oval. If they get their running game going we are screwed. I don’t think we will get without 5 goals

It’s time for the players to get over it then!!! If these players want to be a serious team then they won’t want to be anybody’s bunnies. The key players are grown men now. I think it’s an extra important game to win for this reason.

Moir struggled early last year with the same thing and was only really able to hit his straps in the 2nd half of the season where he was moving far better than previous weeks and looked fantastic. It's not a matter of talent with him as what he does with ball in hand is quality. It's about working hard around the ground on both sides of the ball.

So far this year Moir has been really poor again defensively and his energy during games has been subpar up until last week where he once again seemed to turn a corner a bit. I like Moir's talent, but imo he is just not ready for a full game of AFL footy up forward atm.
100%. Unless he gets it together soon it’s not looking good for him.

It’s an admirable call FBB but the reality is it never works both ways.
Wouldn’t it be nice to have Silvagni Williams Smith Kemp and Newman available this week …
No doubt, it mostly doesn’t RB
Just would like to see us develop a substainable system that provides us with a competitive chance each week, no matter who we or they may be missing…

Fair enough.

He struggled last year to gain full fitness coming off a limited preseason because of the pre-existing condition he had the previous season, and it showed on the field. He looked 'lazy' a lot of the time, but I agree now that was more with fitness - ie getting his body right - as opposed to being fully invested in the game.

Entirely different story this year imo. This year was his first full preseason, and I reckon he's coming on nicely. Sometimes we expect too much from younger players - he only turned 20yo a few weeks ago - and the VFL games I've watched this year, I've seen nothing to question his fitness or commitment.

Anyway, this isn't an Ashton Moir thread, so I'm happy to move on.....although I'd like to see him get a call up this week to replace Zaccy. As another poster said, it'd be good to see how he goes alongside the big boppers and a functioning small forward group.

Theyre 4-4 for winning the clearances in matches this year. When they've won the count, twice they've conceded their fair share as well . The other two times they won the clearance count convincingly and they produced great performances against the Suns and Giants.

They were far from great against the Giants mate... was a shocking game of football...