Review R19: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Gold Coast SUNS

This!
I'm getting worried --- we're starting to agree more ....:sneaky:
If we can't agree on a 10 goal win being good, we may as well block each other :D

Finally, something to disagree with! :laughv1:
We're stronger and solidly-built on every line.
I have noticed that Jones, Cook, Berry, Soligo and Rankine amongst others thicker around the hips this year. Possibly some extra weight work to help break and lay tackles. Our ability to push off players is noticeable.
I like the stand rule. Standing the mark or free kick means "Stand". Not "roam around" (think: Netball, which removes the offending player from play momentarily). Marks and free kicks are meant to give an advantage for good play and punish rule infringements, which the stand rule does.

Ticky-touchwood 50's suck, especially when the offending player is running past and not affecting the ball-carrier. In that case a 50m Penalty that can gift a goal is far too harsh relative to the 'infringement'.

I like dissent rules. Players should show some self-discipline, keep their mouths shut and get on with the game. I have never seen an Umpire reverse a decision after being abused or dissented by a player. Never, at any level. Dissent is a waste of time and energy.
Players who do that are losing their focus (the game, their opponent) and not working for the team. Umpires have long memories.
I remember when you couldn't even throw your arms out in exasperation, that was insane. Its okay now but some players will scream their head off at the umpire and get nothing, while another will just argue normally and get done.

We should have a 25M penalty for minor infractions.

AFL clubs have made a mockery of the stand rule (especially us) by just running back off the mark and forcing a long dump kick anyway. Oh well.

I don't know who was behind recruiting Jack Hombsch as our defence coach after moving him up from an AFLW role but it's looking like a genius move. I know some including myself were sceptical at the time but now I'm hoping we've got him locked away before other clubs come calling?

Over the last couple of years, we have had some posters complaining about the defense, but I can't think of a player there who has let us down. Good coaching and good teamwork.

The goal review, number of 50s, waiting for attending ruckmen and stopping play for injuries not requiring a stretcher (the only one I agree with) is leading to extended game times.

The answer? Some people saying we should reduce the length of quarters.

Just stop the unnecessary time offs.

Mac Andrew apparently never gives frees away.

There was one on Fogarty late when he infringed over the shoulder, Fogarty still marked it and Andrew complained to the umpire.

Not sure what his case was.

Imagine the head explosion if he had to stand his team mate Walter.

The raw numbers certainly weren't reflected by the scoreboard

Suns were good around stoppage and had more inside 50s. We absorbed their F50 entries well, were better in transition and looked more dangerous up forward.

They can't say they played badly. Just are a bit talent heavy in the centre and light on at each end. Feels like we have a better balance across the ground
The Suns lost the same way they have all season though, they didn’t play well at all as we didn’t allow it. Suns aren’t winning the flag because they can’t stop the elite turnover to score teams and get cut up on transition.

Which is a big win for us

Suns need Witts to be dominant. He's one of their trump cards

We just need ROB to stay out of the forward line, not get involved in handball chains, and not kick
ROB’s link up play has been very important the last month, especially in the Melbourne and Bulldogs wins

It's a big reason why we lost so many games in the past couple years that we had a real shot of winning. We'd let them either get a headstart, or just go on 5 goal runs within 10-15 minutes that we seemed powerless to stop. Quite often we'd "win" games outside of those periods but lose the game.

This year we seem so much better at not letting those runs happen. Or stopping it before it becomes a thing. Admittedly we let 4 in a row go yesterday but the game was toast, and after the 4th we went back to quickly replying with a goal.
That's what maturity and experience brings. We aren't a team of babies any more. We've got an adolescent... not quite sure what to do with itself at times, but you can't fault it's exuberance!

Its amazing, I haven't seen the weekly cry of '' Tex is a Liability "
Bigger issue was just us playing 3 talls in wet/slippery style conditions that aren't conducive to that I'd say. Tex has been a bit all or nothing in his matches this year, some really good moments & some shockers. I still think the 3 talls is very viable though I think if we get wet finals a hard call has to be made for those.

Ugly is the the AFL. Can’t believe they have put Essendon and Carlton on Thursdays and fridays!! While we are a top 4 team and get Sunday arvo game.

They should be better than that!
They do it because they know Adelaide will still get 42,000+ to the game DESPITE the shit timing.

We didn’t turn up for the first three quarters against Fremantle, or the last 2-and-a-bit quarters against Geelong.

We played terrible in the 1st and 3rd quarters against Freo. The Cats it was only the last quarter that we got pantsed.

Those 3 quarters and the 2nd quarter against Melbourne were the only really bad quarters we have had this year.

He obviously sent his team out to complain in the second half, Anderson spent more time complaining than playing football.
It kinda worked though? The Q3 umpire love for GC came out of nowhere. But good god he was talking to the umpires constantly. Jesus, what a shit look.
There were definitely a couple of howlers in the umpiring and yes some went our way. It always seem that they look at the numbers and even it up after half time. What about the touched goal and Rankine’s travel?
I'm still mad about it. 8 steps since his bounce he took. That's a few times this year now he's been called and it was clearly wrong. Umpires have Rankine blinkers on.
And that 50m penalty against Murray, for their first goal. What the hell was that. The most atrocious umpiring incorrect decision for a while.
Ugly
10 mins in the third q we looked absolutely terrible
We took the foot of the pedal way too much, and then it turns out even GC can football without any pressure.
God thing we sorted it out.
Whats his perceived value if Dimma moves him on?
Still huge.

Thilthorpe spent a long time off at the end of the game. Were we just putting him on ice or was there something to be concerned about?

Was pretty crook apparently nearly didn't play

I was also surprised at the Mac Andrew double goal - until you see the replay and it's a real proper jumper punch to the face.

Not much impact, so nothing tribunaly to see, but clearly a free kick.

Nice.

We played terrible in the 1st and 3rd quarters against Freo. The Cats it was only the last quarter that we got pantsed.

Those 3 quarters and the 2nd quarter against Melbourne were the only really bad quarters we have had this year.

Winning games hides alot so these don't count but I think if you remove the scoreboard we were poor at times in both the Showdown and the first half of the Brsbane game. It was just good that our opponents were more off than us.

Thilthorpe spent a long time off at the end of the game. Were we just putting him on ice or was there something to be concerned about?
He was so ill the decision to play only came 5 minutes before the game started.

He did look white as a ghost and no like himself