MRP / Trib. Rd 21 - Ginnivan's middle finger.

Show me where I've said he shouldn't be doing it.

He could have eaten at the same restaurant inside - as I happened to be at the time - and maybe five people would have recognised him. He chose to sit at a table on the side of the road where I reckon 150-200 people would have walked past him in the space of an hour. Not a right or a wrong decision, just an interesting one, in my opinion.
Yeah I mean if he was trying to avoid any attention he wouldn't have been doing it. But I dont see it as seeking it either. Like the whole beat up when he was at Collingwood where he went for a pub meal before or after a final (forgot which). I thought it was ridiculous. I never had any strong opinions about him myself, but he was entertaining, but the media circus around him from the get go was excessive. So what if players like celebrating, or act like a nonce at times, judge them as players (not directed at you just the media in general).

I think what was being implied is that they weren't exactly dining low key.
How they carry on during the game could be also how they do things out in public.
Most players would like to keep it low key in public, I would presume, but some love the attention.
It's who they are,young men enjoying themselves, nothing more nothing less.
Yep, I think just let them live their lives and stop hounding them like paparazzi. But he seems to mostly like the attention and does seek it in other ways, social media etc, so its what he's chosen. Of course in this day and age where everyone has a phone and is online, nothing will escape scrutiny.

Not to excuse real bad behaviour, but I'm sure past players got away with far worse than modern players are pulled up for and it didn't make the news.

Its only entertaining when its from a Vic player, when directed at one its 'unedifying for a senior coach'.
Just ask whateley
Maybe it was a little childish for a 60 year old man...I understand it was sort of provoked though. But I like the theatre of it, there was no malice in it...unlike Willie Rioli making threats. And then the likes of Moore and Maynard repeatedly kneeing players in the back or getting them high don't get anything.

Ginnis alright, he's a cheeky boy. It'll be annoying when he's 50+ and still a pork chop like his dad, but no malice in the kid.

Pies love/hate him, very annoying how he scores all those goals but the opposite of a Milne or a Toby Greene.

Most of the hate stems from him copying Selwood. If there's a problem here The Geelong should be punished.

As for Crows fans, they do seem to need a time out. The ones i meet in Victoria are quite unhinged when it comes to footy. Must be the algae in the water both Crows and Port cant stop gabbling about how their coaches are trash and they should've won 19 flags.

Selwood went hard at the footy and earned his free kicks, Ginnivan looks to duck before he even has the ball.
Not remotely the same
Same rules should apply to all players the same.

Selwood ducked and was endlessly rewarded.

When Ginnivan ducks, pearls get clutched. He no longer gets real frees.

If someone has to ask "who broke the rule?" before determining the outcome then they have no moral integrity.

Ginnivan and Watson (with someone else I didn't recognise, may have been a teammate) were eating al fresco at Hecho en Mexico on Swan Street on Sunday night after they'd returned from Adelaide.

Not a crime by any stretch, but fair to suggest that low-key isn't part of their make-up and they'll draw (and mainly relish) the spotlight for as long as their careers go.
Poor Al! We should ban these cannibals!

Selwood went hard at the footy and earned his free kicks, Ginnivan looks to duck before he even has the ball.
Not remotely the same
Because Ginnivan went hard at the footy in the 2023 finals series Collingwood won a flag.

In 2023 Bobby Hill took Ginnis forward spot plus Ginni was nearly run out of the game when the umps stopped paying him high frees, oppo players were ripping his head off for fun. Apparently if Joel Selwood ducks its "leadership" and when Jack did it it was "open season".

To his credit he worked his way back in as a midfielder and took Lipinskis spot: Lippa was sub because Adams got injured. Premiership player in a dominant side.

Slightly naughty boy off field but on it he plays with skill and imagination. He gets hate because he's happy and hes still a bit of a clown and he showed up Selwoods disgusting hypocrisy.

Opposition player gets it by the crowd at an AFL game after giving it to the same crowd during the game.

Never has happened before apparently. Not even at Hawthorn home games.

Film at 11.00

Ginnivan showboats all game, gestures to the crowd after each of his goals but it's unacceptable for the crowd to give it back to him as he's walking off? Sounds fair.

Lol Hok.
Nah, not the case at all and missing the point. I just think personally, and maybe you guys personally should think to how you would act after beating a team - particularly when it's a team you were red hot favourites to easily beat. Is that not a bit odd? If the Hawks won the game the last thing I would care about is the opposition, I would be a little more keen to celebrate the win with fellow fans rather than mocking and abusing. It's more of an Adelaide issue - both teams, but particularly the Crows as it's the second time this year a player has reacted, hardly a coincidence! The Crows fans reputation precedes itself.

Yeah man, no other clubs supporters shout at opposition players throughout the game or as they leave the field. Doesn't happen anywhere but Adelaide oval. Spot on. Couldn't have said it better myself.

Vic side supporters don't give it to the opposition players

FMD, I've heard it all now.

In 2023 Bobby Hill took Ginnis forward spot plus Ginni was nearly run out of the game when the umps stopped paying him high frees, oppo players were ripping his head off for fun. Apparently if Joel Selwood ducks its "leadership" and when Jack did it it was "open season".

To his credit he worked his way back in as a midfielder and took Lipinskis spot: Lippa was sub because Adams got injured. Premiership player in a dominant side.

Slightly naughty boy off field but on it he plays with skill and imagination. He gets hate because he's happy and hes still a bit of a clown and he showed up Selwoods disgusting hypocrisy.
Dunno about the bold but agree with the rest.

Yeah man, no other clubs supporters shout at opposition players throughout the game or as they leave the field. Doesn't happen anywhere but Adelaide oval. Spot on. Couldn't have said it better myself.

Vic side supporters don't give it to the opposition players

FMD, I've heard it all now.
I've attended many neutral games in Adelaide and Melbourne and I'm not the only one that knows South Australian crowds are much more abrasive and abusive towards opposition fans and players plus umpires too. That's fine if you don't think that but it's pretty commonly known around the league circles.

And as I said, it's classless to mock and abuse opposition after winning a home game when you were $1.30 favourites, it reeks of insecurity.

I've attended many neutral games in Adelaide and Melbourne and I'm not the only one that knows South Australian crowds are much more abrasive and abusive towards opposition fans and players plus umpires too. That's fine if you don't think that but it's pretty commonly known around the league circles.

And as I said, it's classless to mock and abuse opposition after winning a home game when you were $1.30 favourites, it reeks of insecurity.
Pies abuse the umps, the oppo players, we are pretty vocal. It's rhetorical sometimes, we pressure the umps almost scientifically, we jeer ironically when a decision goes differently than expected.

However I find the Adelaide crowd the most bafflingly enraged. They have a strong footy culture of their own and different to VIC and WA which seem more similar eg on handballing/flicking/throwing interpretation.

I imagine those differences lead to the anger?

Pies abuse the umps, the oppo players, we are pretty vocal. It's rhetorical sometimes, we pressure the umps almost scientifically, we jeer ironically when a decision goes differently than expected.

However I find the Adelaide crowd the most bafflingly enraged. They have a strong footy culture of their own and different to VIC and WA which seem more similar eg on handballing/flicking/throwing interpretation.

Oh please.

There are no supporters more angry, more abusive and more painful than Collingwood supporters.

Oh please.

There are no supporters more angry, more abusive and more painful than Collingwood supporters.
Probably true. I'm one of the worst. But for sheer incomprehension your Crows crowd take the cake.

I recall the 2002 prelim, Cloke knocked out Tyson Edwards. After the game a Criw mate went into paroxysms about how "all the Collingwood people" jeered and laughed as he was carried off. I was there, I clapped Edwards off respectfully, as did most.

Several other examples, but "roight in frunna moi" sums it up.

Yep, I told them as much on Saturday, but was howled down by a bunch of very offended Crom fans. I don't think it's rocket science to understand why it happens: boring city where everything is about football, only two teams, both of whom hate each other with a passion, making incivility the norm, and having > 90% of each home game crowd (other than Showdowns), means they have zero feedback to keep their obnoxious interpretations in check, they're socially incapable of being able to share a game with opposition fans, and see every team win as a personal vindication of themselves (and hence a reason to vilify opposition players and fans).

I'm not sure really. There are a lot of possible reasons. The Crows fans have this crazy entitlement that is unbearable. Older fans but the fans who are younger are just as bad because they've been raised thinking it's okay to act the way they do.
Yep, I told them as much on Saturday, but was howled down by a bunch of very offended Crom fans. I don't think it's rocket science to understand why it happens: boring city where everything is about football, only two teams, both of whom hate each other with a passion, making incivility the norm, and having > 90% of each home game crowd (other than Showdowns), means they have zero feedback to keep their obnoxious interpretations in check, they're socially incapable of being able to share a game with opposition fans, and see every team win as a personal vindication of themselves (and hence a reason to vilify opposition players and fans).

Yeah you have that worked out pretty well actually, but I think footy is bigger in Melbourne for sure.

Port fans are different, and annoying in their own way, but Crows fans in my opinion are 10x worse. I guess there are a lot more Crows fans and you're right, they're incapable of being told that they're wrong, and anything suggesting they're ever wrong is the Vics being bias.

MRP / Trib. Rd 21 - Ginnivan's middle finger.