Autopsy GWS, Umpires conspire against heaven

Trav has plenty of time. I think the effort they highlighted in the broadcast wasn't as bad as they were making out. Lyon has said he doesn't want players to concuss themselves for the sake of a courageous effort.

Tobie looks like he's still getting used to the pace. I'm confident at worst he'll be a good B grade player.

I'm not worried about a one-off poor contest, you'll get those from younger players sometimes. What I do find worrying is that Trav hasn't shown anything to suggest that any of his attributes are going to be strengths at AFL level. His kicking is too loopy and will be intercepted because of too much air time, he's not particularly quick, doesn't have much of an overhead game and doesn't find a lot of the footy.

Box has shown that he'll be a contested beast with a POD being contested marking. Tauru reads the ball incredibly well in the air and uses his freakish leap to spoil or take intercept marks. Dodson is racking up ridiculous numbers for a teenage ruck in the VFL and moves like a mid. Tobie?...I dunno... certainly doesn't look like a top 10 pick to me. And he was the one who was apparently the most AFL ready. Maybe we try to turn him into a lockdown small defender to take Webster's spot? Jimmy was a far better kick though.

I'm not worried about a one-off poor contest, you'll get those from younger players sometimes. What I do find worrying is that Trav hasn't shown anything to suggest that any of his attributes are going to be strengths at AFL level. His kicking is too loopy and will be intercepted because of too much air time, he's not particularly quick, doesn't have much of an overhead game and doesn't find a lot of the footy.

Box has shown that he'll be a contested beast with a POD being contested marking. Tauru reads the ball incredibly well in the air and uses his freakish leap to spoil or take intercept marks. Dodson is racking up ridiculous numbers for a teenage ruck in the VFL and moves like a mid. Tobie?...I dunno... certainly doesn't look like a top 10 pick to me. And he was the one who was apparently the most AFL ready. Maybe we try to turn him into a lockdown small defender to take Webster's spot? Jimmy was a far better kick though.

No idea whether he becomes an A-grader but I think he's got easily enough solid attributes to be AFL quality. He doesn't turn 19 for another couple of months so he'll be a very different player in a few years. Personally I see him as a good size with a solid mark and a really good workrate. Obviously needs to do heaps of work to develop a tank but but the will is there, and stamina is relatively easy to build.

I don't see any reason to worry about Trav at this point.

I found the length of Wood's contact extension (to end of 2027) bizarre at the time.

Taking him to 34 years old and it's not like he was a risk to go to another club with a 1 or 2 year extension

He'll be on below average wage and fills a bunch of gaps. He'll play a fair bit of twos across the final couple of years of his career but given how good a clubman he is, it's a no-brainer to just sign him up I reckon.

Jesus. Give him a minute. I also suggest you’re wrong regarding him not having elite attributes.

His hands in tight , marking and run are elite. It seems obvious to me that he definitely can rack up the ball in the bfl but is filling a defensive role atm and is focusing on defence first.

Jesus. Give him a minute. I also suggest you’re wrong regarding him not having elite attributes.

His hands in tight , marking and run are elite. It seems obvious to me that he definitely can rack up the ball in the bfl but is filling a defensive role atm and is focusing on defence first.

I remember thinking that Goddard was a bust, a tall gangly looking kid that made mistakes under pressure and turned it over.

A couple of years later he started to find his feet at AFL level and then he became a gun for us, you need to give the kids time.

Is it possible that we can play Marshall and TDK at the same time with one patrolling the back half and helping build the wall acting as that roadblock a kick behind the play and Marshall playing and rucking primarily in the forward half?

Having a ruckman that can take a grab up forward or take a contested mark off the long bomb down the line is so important (look at Max Gawn) We're now going to have two of them
I think it works because of how mobile they both are. Marshall could surprise a few, maybe even himself. He will play forward, drop behind the ball, backup ruck. Marshall/TDK, King, Sharman will be so difficult to handle aerially, throw Liam Ryan in there too. Our biggest weakness could well become our biggest strength very quickly.

I’d like to see Marshall play a midfield role like Luke Jackson.

If it doesn’t work plonk him in the forwardline.

Really don’t want to lose Marshall.

He’s heart and soul.

Kind of feel you are both right. I haven't seen much from Travaglia that has inspired yet, but what I think this club seems to be getting very good at of late, which is good because we refuse to bottom out and get higher picks, is identifying slider kids in the draft that still seem half cooked physically but with attributes that will develop with a bit of time.

Guys like Harley Reid, McCartin when we took him and a host of others taken at the pointy end of the draft all looked like man children when they were taken. This is an advantage at that level. Some continue to develop, others don't. Nas has done a lot of physical growing since we took him, feel like Max Hall has as well. Travaglia still looks like he just got pubes. Im happy to trust the decision makers, let him develop first and then make the call.

Kind of feel you are both right. I haven't seen much from Travaglia that has inspired yet, but what I think this club seems to be getting very good at of late, which is good because we refuse to bottom out and get higher picks, is identifying slider kids in the draft that still seem half cooked physically but with attributes that will develop with a bit of time.

Guys like Harley Reid, McCartin when we took him and a host of others taken at the pointy end of the draft all looked like man children when they were taken. This is an advantage at that level. Some continue to develop, others don't. Nas has done a lot of physical growing since we took him, feel like Max Hall has as well. Travaglia still looks like he just got pubes. Im happy to trust the decision makers, let him develop first and then make the call.
Back in Dalrympal. Tobes has the most important trait of all , character and determination.

I think strangely enough Trav is playing a position he isn’t 100% suited to ATM playing half back but they obviously rate him highly enough to keep playing him. He looks like a midfielder but it’s going to take time to get in there. Not even 19 years old yet.

I haven’t been the biggest Windhager fan but we have to keep him. Now isn’t the time to be losing young players.

I said towards the end of last year that I hope we have our sights set higher than just the wing for Wilson, either a midfielder or match winning HF and that was why. He got a bit scared of contact again this year but if he can sort that out he’s got literally every tool.

Boxshall - beast.

I think I like that game from Nas more than any of his free-wheeling half back games. He’s earning everything and getting more shots on goal. Sounds weird but I think we’ve just scratched the surface of what he could be.

Thanks Foxtel producers for showing all angles of that magnificent mark on the boundary by Toby. He's a star and as a Saints supporter, I love him. Showing off all angles was magnificent.....oh one angle that showed his ankles in and the ball out so you decided just to show the one?

Thanks Foxtel commentators for your wonderful insightful commentary today. It such a shame that your mic's all went off at the same time after seeing vision of RoMa being thrown out of the ruck contest. It must have been so frustrating for you wanting to commentate on that but couldn't....oh your mic's all magically turned back on but you had nothing to say.

It's the whole AFL ecosystem that makes me join in the Nepo Baby shtick. Why do Foxtel feel the need? Treats us like we are idiots.
They did actually highlight that gws had something like 8 holding the ball frees and we had 0 at one point, which was interesting.

I said towards the end of last year that I hope we have our sights set higher than just the wing for Wilson, either a midfielder or match winning HF and that was why. He got a bit scared of contact again this year but if he can sort that out he’s got literally every tool.

He knows how to find the big sticks. Kicked 15 goals last year, kicked 15 goals this year.

30 goals across two seasons for a second year player that no one really considers a forward is very promising imo, and a good trait to have for a player who’s endurance means he should get in the right positions often.

Very bullish on Darcy, Trav, Windy as these gut running outside/inside types.

Is it possible that we can play Marshall and TDK at the same time with one patrolling the back half and helping build the wall acting as that roadblock a kick behind the play and Marshall playing and rucking primarily in the forward half?

Having a ruckman that can take a grab up forward or take a contested mark off the long bomb down the line is so important (look at Max Gawn) We're now going to have two of them
I think this would work very well. Marshall's strength as a ruckman is his around the ground work and his weakness is his ruck work. I think playing him at chf and let him basically play exactly as normal in the ruck, but forward of centre. Tdk rucks and the sits behind the ball. can rotate them as needed, but this should be the main setup

Roma had an incredible game. He won his fair share of ruck and his follow up work and around the ground was superb for a ruckman. He was the reason we got back in the contest.
I would be very sad if we loose him and would rather see how we can make the 2 rucks work.

He's a very impressive mark.

He did another Dusty style don't argue on maybe Callaghan. He's a strong kid. Preseason he did it to Cripps and you could see he was going to be something. Think him and LOC were multiple goal kickers in that match too.

Meaning the recent 4 wins. Of our last 10 games, I think we played better in the losses
Yesterday was the best 4 quarter effort and skills we have shown for weeks even though it was a loss , scrapping home against the bottom 3 or 4 teams was not pretty to watch except for one quarter

Haven’t been this excited about the saints for sometime!

We have a great young list with some potential ‘A’ grade talent.

Get first rounder and Fincher, a fit king and Pou and think we are pushing finals next year.

Need our young players to have a big pre season and keep improving!

Get excited ladies and gents!

I agree 100%. I’ve been saying for years that he has an axe to grind with the saints since we axed him.
I doubt it , only someone on here would hold a grudge that long , not talking about you specifically

We struggled at the start because Marshall was being completely rag dolled. We all love Marshall but I’m really looking forward to seeing what we can do with a more combative ruckman.

I think we struggled early because they were converting really low percentage shots into absolute arse goals. Marshall was physically beaten by Briggs but I don't think Briggs gave them a massive advantage for his size dominance.

A more dominant ruck would make life easier but we set up to minimise clearance damage.

Autopsy GWS, Umpires conspire against heaven