RDFNL 2025 Season discussion

Why can’t Nolan stay on, has done a terrific job. Maybe just change the vision and go again

* change the list over play the kids

* develop within

He’s the perfect person to do this
Name a coach outside the AFL/VFL who has coached for 10 years plus without a premiership? A change was needed a few years ago and then maybe would of kept a lot of talented local kids at the club. If he keeps the job again I wouldn't be surprised if more kids leave. On a lighter note I heard they're having their Mad Monday at the local bowls club.

Wallan need to get some home grown men back to the club who have went to play at a higher level in Metro comps and some who have been playing senior footy in country leagues to help with the aging list. The club as a whole is a fantastic place with abundance of talented juniors coming through. If they could bring home a few players and top up like every club does yearly they will be around the mark again. Disappointing end to the seniors campaign for Nugget and his coaching team. Is Nugget going around again?
If Nugget stays you won't get the kids back. Not surprised if more leave.

Craigieburn gig was given to their current coaches.

I don’t think Wallan would have any better candidates than Nolan. Stick with what they have maybe just need a change of direction as a club.
If you don't advertise/ask the question how would you know who is available?

Amused see a lot of fake praise both here and online re Wallan.Amazed this is the case.Tractors are tired and a new fleet is needed.Surely upping the spend isn’t the answer.
Interested to see the next strategy cos current model is totally broken.
Unfortunately the model will probably stay broken. Too many people involved in the club who like the easy option and don't want to work a bit harder to strive for success. Just think buying players will fix it.

For what it’s worth. Really enjoyed the competition but haven’t yet travelled out to the beautiful scenery of Macedon 😛 or the hostility of Riddell 😳 but enjoyed the countryside grounds and community spirit. Footy is of a good standard on good playing surfaces.
Think Kyneton & Melton South only improved the competition.

Yes Ballarat league 15 goals better the Riddell and haven’t seen Bendigo league to comment there.
im sure you'll find the hospitality at Riddells Creek good.

Maybe to keep he’s job 🤷‍♂️
He will mostly likely keep his job and nothing will change. He has built a team that would win an abundance of flags in the 90's when grounds would turn in to mud pits and the slow, unfit players could out muscle the young fast running teams. Unfortenelty for Wallan the grounds are kept in top knick and those wet slog games are few and far between.

What’s your thoughts Aucklander time for change ?

I think we will see change, I just don't know what sort.

Players will retire for sure. They just finished the home and away season in 3rd place when most thought they'd be too old and slow. Came home with a wet sail too against a much younger side and with limited interchange.

What I really hate is cowards who come on here and bag players like we've just seen above. If you have the guts put your name to it instead of hiding behind a user name.

Players will retire for sure. They just finished the home and away season in 3rd place when most thought they'd be too old and slow. Came home with a wet sail too against a much younger side and with limited interchange.

What I really hate is cowards who come on here and bag players like we've just seen above. If you have the guts put your name to it instead of hiding behind a user name.

Spot on

Anyone who puts 10 years into the same program at local level deserves praise not a forum smashing.

What players were bagged? It's a forum, just making an opinion with a user name like everyone else. Don't be so precious.

Spot on

Anyone who puts 10 years into the same program at local level deserves praise not a forum smashing.

Whatever happens, Is the Wallan FNC a better place for having Daniel Nolan as head coach? It's an unequivocal yes from me. Maybe a few of the other locals who post here might be better placed to say.

Finals every year except 2017 when they missed by 3%. Twos and 19.5 Flags. Supporting the League when it came to Interleague. Club of the year. You be the judge.

What players were bagged? It's a forum, just making an opinion with a user name like everyone else. Don't be so precious.

He will mostly likely keep his job and nothing will change. He has built a team that would win an abundance of flags in the 90's when grounds would turn in to mud pits and the slow, unfit players could out muscle the young fast running teams. Unfortenelty for Wallan the grounds are kept in top knick and those wet slog games are few and far between.

Haven’t had an opinion on here for 6 years but full of them today which your entitled to.

Sounds like someone who maybe a parent of one of the young kids who left at some stage in the last 10 years.

Whatever happens, Is the Wallan FNC a better place for having Daniel Nolan as head coach? It's an unequivocal yes from me. Maybe a few of the other locals who post here might be better placed to say.

Finals every year except 2017 when they missed by 3%. Twos and 19.5 Flags. Supporting the League when it came to Interleague. Club of the year. You be the judge.
The club is definitely a better place for having Nolan apart of it.

In my time, I don’t reckon anyone coached us for longer then 2 years.

Recruits would roll in, roll out year after year and we were never going to go anywhere.

Nolan came and turned the place around from year one.

Bought a culture & standard that we never had.

Not only bought some great players in but even better people who many have played close to 100-150 games for us and now live in wallan.

Yes, we haven’t won the flag but the place is definitely a far better place under his tenure.

People are entitled to have there opinions of him but I’ll support him all the way as he has been one of if not the most influential person in my playing/coaching journey.

Who knows what happens for next season but lets all let everyone breathe and I’m sure both the committee & Nolan will make the right decision for the club moving forward.

The club is definitely a better place for having Nolan apart of it.

In my time, I don’t reckon anyone coached us for longer then 2 years.

Recruits would roll in, roll out year after year and we were never going to go anywhere.

Nolan came and turned the place around from year one.

Bought a culture & standard that we never had.

Not only bought some great players in but even better people who many have played close to 100-150 games for us and now live in wallan.

Yes, we haven’t won the flag but the place is definitely a far better place under his tenure.

People are entitled to have there opinions of him but I’ll support him all the way as he has been one of if not the most influential person in my playing/coaching journey.

Who knows what happens for next season but lets all let everyone breathe and I’m sure both the committee & Nolan will make the right decision for the club moving forward.
Well I think your dismissing a lot of pretty good past history of the footy club to say the culture & standard has been never been this good. In my time the place was always thriving and enjoyable to be around. We have had some fantastic coaches over the journey, locals and people from other places. All my point is if the club doesn't strive for the ultimate success than what's the point. Football clubs over the journey are judged by how many premierships they win, this is in all levels. I don't dislike Nugget but he has had a crack and unfortunately for all involved I believe it is time to try something new or to at least see what options are out there. The committee is doing a disservice to everyone involved if they don't. Not to mention it would go against the club constitution which I'm sure has in it the position is to be advertised every year.

Absolute BS but I guess you were out on the ground playing..

No6 is still eligible for 19s so calling him out is a bit poor from you. Played more premier senior footy to the age of 19 that you ever did. I thought he played pretty well and won his match up. Been a great pick up for South from Bacchus Marsh.
Maybe he had a bit to say when he got a high tackle just prior to 1/2 time right in front of umpire and no free given.

The game was played in great spirits with only a bit of niggle in the last quarter down in the Macedon forward line. Umpiring was reasonable I thought.

Diggers burger was pretty tasty and overall enjoyable day other than South losing.
Maybe if you stopped drinking piss and actually paid attention you’ll notice more what happens on the ground. Remember, I’m a neutral supporter so I don’t give a shit about either side, I’m just telling it how I saw and heard it. No.6 was pushing his forehead into his opponent’s face like a numbskull because it wasn’t going his way. He was then throttled by a more senior player for it and told to just play the game.

You can stick up for them all you want but you’re a fool for thinking the south boys can do no wrong.

You wouldn’t even know what I’ve played and who for in my career so try again mate. Hope you enjoyed mad Monday and the hungover that’s clearly come with it 😂👍🏻

At the end of the day it's on the club administrators who decides where and to whom the community money goes, not the coach, and then it's about the entire football program holistically utilising the skillsets available.

Nugget's had Wallan in and around the mark for quite a while, and it's bloody hard to win flags as a lot has to go right at the opportune times across 5-6months of games, including the management of bodies etc.
Perhaps no one within yanked on his jacket with a subtle question "you sure about this" and/or genuinely profiled the list beyond a year to year approach - again coach throws up names, footy ops and/or committee's own the yes/no part.

And as Aucklander has stated recently, there are plenty of good kids coming through at Greenhill Reserve, so perhaps their time to shine, after that development phase now presents.

Whatever happens, I just hope if not at Wallan, that Nugget remains a footy person as we need all the passionate and willing folk coaching our game, whilst the many who've never had a go can continue to take pot shots from the gallery.