Days until the Proper Season starts

• Thread starter Thread starter Dinsdale

we are just a Jim Jess away from the opening of the 2019 season. I liked watching this guy play as I was growing up. 223 games and a flag for Richmond.

View attachment 627411
Premiership CHF (Cloke played forward pocket that day).

Spent most of his final year in the reserves. Turned down a last round farewell game in the ones to play with the blokes he'd spent all year with. Kicked 9.

Played country footy until he was 50. Legend.

Jason Dunstall wore jumper #19, signifying that many days to go until the proper season starts. 269 games, 1254 goals! 4 flags, 3 Colemans, and maybe the best leading forward ever. Remember that game when he kicked 17 goals against Richmond? I do.

View attachment 627890
When I was a skinny 17-year-old I was having a shower in the Glenferrie sheds. There were 3 other people also showering: Dipper, Piggy and The Rat. For whatever reason, the old Sesame Street song came into my head: "One of these things is not like the others/One of these things just don't belong".

18 days to go. A player who wore #18 from the good old days of punch ups and sometimes footy was Kevin 'Cowboy' Neale. 256 games and member of the single solitary Saint Kilda premiership side.
images (2).jpeg

From the little guy who’s endured so much - racism from port flogs and having had to play for Carlton !

What a player !!!!

EEEEEEEDDDDDDDDDDEEEEEEEE

17 days to go! Hawthorn legend Michael Tuck wore the #17 jumper through 426 games, SEVEN premierships (76, 78, 83, 86, 88, 89, 91). He made his Senior debut against Richmond in the round 8, 1972 and kicked goals with his first three kicks in senior football.

1551651310262.png

Premiership CHF (Cloke played forward pocket that day).

Spent most of his final year in the reserves. Turned down a last round farewell game in the ones to play with the blokes he'd spent all year with. Kicked 9.

Played country footy until he was 50. Legend.
As you said, his last game was in the magoos. It was a night game at the G.
I went early so l could watch his last game and went down into the rooms at the end. Had a nice chat with him and told him how much l enjoyed his career.
My all time favourite footballer and a good fella to boot.

Jason Dunstall wore jumper #19, signifying that many days to go until the proper season starts. 269 games, 1254 goals! 4 flags, 3 Colemans, and maybe the best leading forward ever. Remember that game when he kicked 17 goals against Richmond? I do.

View attachment 627890
I was there he should have had more too... wasnt greedy enough

17 days to go! Hawthorn legend Michael Tuck wore the #17 jumper through 426 games, SEVEN premierships (76, 78, 83, 86, 88, 89, 91). He made his Senior debut against Richmond in the round 8, 1972 and kicked goals with his first three kicks in senior football.

View attachment 628881
iu

The reason I first logged into this site

Scott Welsh - probably the best looking footballer getting around back then

A great kick for goal

IIRC
And I admit I have tried to wipe this game from my memory - he kicked a huge goal against Hawks in a semi (?) Final only for Scott Thompson to kick it OOF giving Buddy “mental health issues” the chance to kick the winning goal

Scotland was still better looking !
Not super tall or big but had to play CHF a lot because we never drafted ****ing Pavlich 0CD961A4-0E38-40D1-AE66-EB98EC3E40CB.jpeg

Came to us from North after playing in the premiership side of 1999 -

Interesting stat - ended up playing in 5 losing prelims with us and the Bulldogs!

A number made famous by this flog - his 119 and 2007 exploits warm the cockles of Crows fans hearts still
6A61B261-266B-44D8-97E9-43CDE3002B3E.jpeg 56001F2A-ADD3-4EEC-8523-06E471454972.jpeg

The official #16 dedication representing 16 days to go is given to Jonathan Brown, Brisvegas Lions box-headed forward. Most goals in the jumper number, and 2nd most games. Featured in the first threepeat of the AFL era in 2001, 02, 03, and 1 Coleman.

1551737302290.png

Beau Dowler the only draftee to be recruited while in a wheelchair
Wore the number 16 and played 16 games
iu

and proved high draft pick are over rated

Special mention to the Plough
DgCX6CSUwAAkmuh.jpg

Today marks 15 days to go until the season starts, so today we honour Lite N Easy ambassador, current Brions player, and former Hawks player Luke Hodge. 324 games, 4 Premierships, Captain of the Threapeat, 2 Normies. Great Bloke who pretended to retire once.

1551821903083.png

Today marks 15 days to go until the season starts, so today we honour Lite N Easy ambassador, current Brions player, and former Hawks player Luke Hodge. 324 games, 4 Premierships, Captain of the Threapeat, 2 Normies. Great Bloke who pretended to retire once.

View attachment 630112

Not fit to lace Peter Riccardi's boots

2 weeks to go, thats 14 days, and although there are a few great Hawks players wearing #14, I'm giving todays to Paul Kelly - of the Colas, not the singer. Brownlow in 95, no flags despite a generous living in $hitney allowance, but a great player just the same. Here he is using a thug for a ladder:
1551912054087.png

lucky 13 (days to go), and who better than to represent this by wearing number 13? The remarkable* Tex Walker. Special picture from his drawing book courtesy of MAXIMUM GAWNAGE

1551994617865.png

*how can somone so dumb play footy?

You all know this countdown is pointless as the season officially starts when kreuze_missile creates his annual thread about Carlton being a lock for the flag, right?
calling the best thread of the off-season 'pointless' is very contrite of you :p look at all the fun the contributors have had.