Player Watch #18: Alex Rance

must do lars only has a year on his contract anyway and hes giving it away after that

Clubs don't seem to be as convinced about LARS as they once were.

Regardless of his age or contract, I think if they believe a full reco would be the best thing long-term they will opt to go down that path instead more often than not.

Rance is 29, which isn't as old in footy as it used to be with how professionally they are managed these days. The traditional reconstruction means he misses a season, but also misses a season of all the bash and crash and knocks he would suffer every week. But it might allow him to come back and play for another 3-5 years.
LARS might get him back on the park sooner but it could shave years off his career at the end.

Clubs don't seem to be as convinced about LARS as they once were.

Regardless of his age or contract, I think if they believe a full reco would be the best thing long-term they will opt to go down that path instead more often than not.

Rance is 29, which isn't as old in footy as it used to be with how professionally they are managed these days. The traditional reconstruction means he misses a season, but also misses a season of all the bash and crash and knocks he would suffer every week. But it might allow him to come back and play for another 3-5 years.
LARS might get him back on the park sooner but it could shave years off his career at the end.
yeah but rance is going to retire when his current contract expires anyway

wants to retire early

This is the biggest myth ever and its the Media's fault.

Goldsack was a PARTIAL ACL.

But of course the AFL spin machine always called it an ACL to make AFL players seem superhuman.o.
Goldsack ruptured his ACL mate, full reco.

Most of the (if not all of) quick recovery times seem to come from lean players.

I reckon we are a decent chance for scans to come back not as bad as most of us suspect. Looked pretty innocuous. 22 weeks til finals.

Anyway if it is a full blown ACL we have more options in the backs department that just about any other line. Good opportunity to see who wants to step up.

The last thing I will say on Alex Rance's injury, its better to have happened now than a week before finals.

This at least gives the team time to gel and work on finding a solution throughout the season.
Yep a little bit like Nic Nat missing all of 2017. The eagles knew what they were up against when he went down late last year and they covered him perfectly

It's a total effin disaster! Collingwood are now flag favourites, then us then Coll, Melb just behind.We could be screwed.
Wut

As bad as it is we can cover the position, if not what Rance does.

It didn't look like a complete rupture to me. He was walking and seemed capable of moving around. But then we'll find out soon.

Such a pity. A wonderful player, man, and vital part of the team

This is the biggest myth ever and its the Media's fault.

Goldsack was a PARTIAL ACL.

But of course the AFL spin machine always called it an ACL to make AFL players seem superhuman.o.
I came in here to offer condolences but I have to pull you up on this - Goldsack himself confirmed the ACL was fully ruptured but was a "clean" rupture, as in there was no surrounding damage to other parts of the knee.

To the rest of you - it's tough to take, but Richmond are a quality side so I think you guys will be completely fine. Good luck for the rest of the season.

If we can take anything from clubs like Collingwood and West coast is that they don’t let the injury’s define their seasons

Massive loss for us but it gives us a chance to explore new options with young guns who have quite frankly would Of been playing sr’s in other teams