Autopsy 2019 Rd 1 vs Richmond - Improved Blues go down by 33 points

Which players did you like the look of in Round 1?

He was terrible in JLT2, and didn't make much of an impact in JLT1 either. So there's a bit of a pattern forming.

Corresponding fixture last year he kicked 5 goals, and got 3 votes in a team that was for all intents and purposes, comprehensively beaten.

We're allowed to speculate, you know.

JLT? Like dancing with your sister.

When Charlie had some poor games last year, was that due to the booze as well?

Last night reassured me that it’s not the ball winning ability that we need to worry about, it’s eradicating the lack of ball handling in a stoppage and improve our ability to be clean with it. We had our hands on the ball a lot at centre bounces last night but either chose the wrong option/overused the ball or fumbled the opportunity to go forward with it. We get that sorted and we will damage teams much more than we showcased last night.
Absolutely correct. Skill deficiency is still an issue.

I not sure where to put this and i might get a ban but the Blues fans that were booing Rance as he got carried off should be embarrased.

You have it wrong my friend. No one was booing Rance, they were booing because the replay of H McKays tackle was on the screen. They were booing the umpiring call. As much as I don't like Rance's tactics of scragging, holding, and getting away with it, and his histionics, he is a very good player, and I too send my best wishes for his recovery.

Still haven't been able to watch the replay, but I'm very pleased to hear some of the positives.

Weitering in particular is pleasing to hear, I was very worried that he was an intercept 3rd tall being forced to play kpd, and that because of this he has gained a lot of mass which in turn made him lose a yard of pace that he definitely could not afford to lose.

Cuningham showed that he can find the ball, now he just needs to work on moving it on to our advantage.
Even in the highlights reel, he gets the ball but then was not sure what to do with it. I believe that will work itself out over the next couple of games. I much prefer him in the forward line as he showed in the JLT series a good sense of where the goals were.

Ed should be just played as a tagger and stationed where ever his opponent is.
If that is in the forward line then I think he will naturally (when opportunity comes) have a ping at goals.

Any supporter booing any player for being injured is just plain disgusting.

I do not disagree.

But while on the topic of Rance, the way he dives for free kicks is also plain disgusting.

Too much noise to notice the booing of Rance. I hope the Tiger supporters get on our threads and apologise for their inappropriate behaviour in the future.

I messaged a Richmond mate this morning offering support for Rance. It’s a huge loss similar to Docherty.

I offer Rance my best wishes for a speedy recovery.

Just some stats to consider;
2018 round 1 we had 6 players with more than 20 possessions, 2019 we had 11
2018 we conceded 71 inside 50's, 2019 it was 59
2018 we laid 49 tackles, 2019 it was 63
In 2018 we had 7 players with 3 or more clearances (Cripps 9, E Curnow 7, Marc Murphy 6, Matthew Kreuzer 4, Dale Thomas, Casboult & Fisher 3)
In 2019 we had 6 players with 3 or more clearances (Fisher 8, Cripps 7, Walsh 4, Setterfield, Cuningham and Phillips 3) - note the significant drop in the age of those players.
(N.B. Total clearances were 42 in 2018 and 41 in 2019)

The improvement is there.

He had a horrific first quarter. Bad turnover cost a goal, and got caught out of position badly for another. He knew it too... you could see he wanted to make a good start

Was brilliant after that. His kicking is immaculate - that pinpoint bomb to a running (Murphy?) in between 3 opponents in the third quarter was possibly the best skill execution I’ve seen by a Carlton player in years. Same with his goal. Just so nice to half a tough running defender who can nail big kicks out of the backline...
Spoke to his girlfriend's parents while waiting in the security line to get in. They said he was really happy at Carlton.

They also said he was bouncing from foot to foot in the morning, couldn't wait to play for us.

I reckon he did us proud.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Disagree, Reiwoldt marks it if Lynch doesn't. Cant help it if a teammate gets in front of him
Wasn't even close to marking it.

Also he attempted it on multiple occasions throughout the match.

I think it's something they have come up with to game the system and 'legally' clear out space for Lynch to mark almost uncontested.

I think you will see this happen a couple of times per match and Lynch will kick over 10 goals this season just from this tactic alone.

You know what I hated?

BT asking Dimma while he was roaming, "How would you rate that out of ten?"

Dimma snorted and said 4, and then 'nah 3'.

Disrespect for the Blues, I got super angry. Tosser.
He did a similar thing in 2016(?) when he rated their win as a loss in real terms. A shit season followed. One can only hope karma strikes again.

Certainly has been known to show a lack of respect over the years. 1999 Preliminary Final. YOU KNOW WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT DIMMA.

Wasn't even close to marking it.

Also he attempted it on multiple occasions throughout the match.

I think it's something they have come up with to game the system and 'legally' clear out space for Lynch to mark almost uncontested.

I think you will see this happen a couple of times per match and Lynch will kick over 10 goals this season just from this tactic alone.

Correctomundo.

Lost this in the coaches box IMO. Q1 - Far too much room in the oppositions forward 50. No runners excuse is BS, Simpson has more than enough experience to sort that out as has the rest of the leadeship group. Out numbered in the forward 50 is NOT ON.

Untrue. If the opposition want to play an extra man back there is nothing you can do about it. Trying to even up is exactly what they would want to see.

Send another Carlton player in to even up the numbers, the opposition is more than happy to drop another man in there. As many times as they can. End result is by trying to even up the numbers all we achieve is a permanently congested forward line, and gift the opposition a paddock to work in through the rest of the ground, all one on one contests. They'll score a goal every time they get their hands on the pill.

The answer is to utilise the spare we have further up the ground to create uncontested possession building the attack. Which is the adjustment the coaching staff made at 1/4 time, by creating a man in space on the wing. And it worked. Not as well as we would hope to in future, but it did work.

You know what I hated?

BT asking Dimma while he was roaming, "How would you rate that out of ten?"

Dimma snorted and said 4, and then 'nah 3'.

Disrespect for the Blues, I got super angry. Tosser.

You're only as good as what your opposition allows you to be, Dimmer may be a premiership coach, but he is no smarter than he was before he was a premiership coach, he's just got better people around him.
Can't wait until we meet again, because we only played at a 2 out 10 level.o_O

Not sure about Ed up forward.

A few times when he's taken the mark we had open men as an option but instead he was slow to get back and turn around which let Richmond man up.

If he's going to play that role he needs to react quicker and not slow the forward momentum down
Yeah on one occasion had Charlie one out and just waited till the cavalry arrived then just bombed it long.

Cripps is a gun, is ELITE.

Walsh wow just wow.

Big H future star, so agile for a big man.

Setters looked rusty, but there is definitely something there.

C Curnow, hmmm not sure what happened to him hardly sighted.

We were just too rusty, we couldn't pick the ball up on the first attempt, fumbled too much some easy marks were dropped, but plenty there to give us hope. We didn't use it well either.

Richmond were just too polished and classy for us, don't think they were at their best either.

But we did well after the first quarter, was having nightmares of a 100 point smashing.

LOVED the dumping of Martin both times, had a nice giggle when that happened.

And have I said Cripps is a GOD? Still young and already a GOD.

Little bit crestfallen from goalless quarters, but that's footy.

Starting to believe that it's not really an ideal start to the season by playing a strong opponent in every season opener.

I get annoyed that St Kilda (a similar battler to us) are having a cake start to the season.

No point crying over spilt milk, and really, the stunning, swashbuckling debut of Sam Walsh overrides any negatives I feel right now, That Three Musketeer Trio of Cripps, Paddy Wow and Walsh are seriously gonna wreck havoc on this league.

Finally my deepest empathy and positive/healing thoughts to Alex Rance. My perspective is this if you booed/jeered or mocked Rance after he did his knee, you are pretty much spitting in the face of Sam Docherty, and all his pain and hardships over the past 18 months (and onwards)

Anyhow Tally Ho onto Port next week (and I am feeling rather confident we can get the chocolates over there, would be extremely satisfying to show up Kane Cornes too :) )

Little bit crestfallen from goalless quarters, but that's footy.

Starting to believe that it's not really an ideal start to the season by playing a strong opponent in every season opener.

I get annoyed that St Kilda (a similar battler to us) are having a cake start to the season.

No point crying over spilt milk, and really, the stunning, swashbuckling debut of Sam Walsh overrides any negatives I feel right now, That Three Musketeer Trio of Cripps, Paddy Wow and Walsh are seriously gonna wreck havoc on this league.

Finally my deepest empathy and positive/healing thoughts to Alex Rance. My perspective is this if you booed/jeered or mocked Rance after he did his knee, you are pretty much spitting in the face of Sam Docherty, and all his pain and hardships over the past 18 months (and onwards)

Anyhow Tally Ho onto Port next week (and I am feeling rather confident we can get the chocolates over there, would be extremely satisfying to show up Kane Cornes too :) )

If you are going to have a game where you could possibly be a bit rusty and players have to re-adjust to the tempo you may as well do it against a top side you would lose to anyway rather than a bottom side who you would normally beat.

Yeah on one occasion had Charlie one out and just waited till the cavalry arrived then just bombed it long.

Coaching staff need to sort that out quickly. Our whole forward entry strategy seemed to be bomb it long and high.

You'd hope that's not what they are being instructed to do else the coaching team needs to be looked at.